PyQt On A Windows CE Computer Possible?

• I am researching whether or not to use Python and PyQt to make an application for a low powered computer that has Windows CE installed and I was wondering if it is even possible.
    I was told by someone that I was better off using C++ and regular Qt and that even Java can't run reliably on a Windows CE OS.
    I have more experience in Python and Java than in C++ which is why and wanted to avoid C++.
    I also hear C# with Microsoft's Visual Studio is a good choice for Windows CE development, but I have zero experience in C#.

So, would your advice be to stick with Python and PyQt, switch to C++ because PyQt won't work, or learn C# to use Visual Studio tools made by Microsoft themselves?

Thank you for any help and advice you can give.

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Hi and welcome to devnet,

AFAIK, there's no official port of Python for that platform. Since you also mention low powered, it's definitely a vote for C++.

• @SGaist Thank you for your reply. I wasn't sure before if there was PyQt support or not. Now I know. I will look into brushing up on my C++ then.

• Lifetime Qt Champion

PyQt has nothing to do with that. Python itself is not there.

• Qt Champions 2016

Hi
    if you are used to Python + PyQt then c++ wont look that different as im no
    python user at all, but i can still read most PYQt code directly so i think its a
    huge plus compared to learning c# and its GUI framework.

• @mrjj said in PyQt On A Windows CE Computer Possible?:

if you are used to Python + PyQt then c++ wont look that different as im no
    python user at all, but i can still read most PYQt code directly

The problem isn't reading Python/PyQt code correctly, it's writing it correctly!

@paulgc
    Are you saying you do or do not have experience with Qt versus Microsoft frameworks?

• Qt Champions 2016

@JonB
    Hi
    My point was that the opposite should also apply. Seeing c++