Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Get Qt Extensions
  • Unsolved
Collapse
Brand Logo
  1. Home
  2. Qt Development
  3. General and Desktop
  4. how to setAlignment of QGroupBox

how to setAlignment of QGroupBox

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Unsolved General and Desktop
31 Posts 4 Posters 15.8k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • P Offline
    P Offline
    p3c0
    Moderators
    wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 04:35 last edited by
    #7

    @cerr This part looks odd:

    QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
    vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
    groupBox->setLayout(vbox);
    

    You should set layout (vbox) to your main widget and in this layout add widgets groupBox and terminalWidget.

    157

    C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 05:03
    2
    • P p3c0
      16 Oct 2016, 04:35

      @cerr This part looks odd:

      QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
      vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
      groupBox->setLayout(vbox);
      

      You should set layout (vbox) to your main widget and in this layout add widgets groupBox and terminalWidget.

      C Offline
      C Offline
      cerr
      wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:03 last edited by
      #8

      @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

      @cerr This part looks odd:

      QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
      vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
      groupBox->setLayout(vbox);
      

      You should set layout (vbox) to your main widget and in this layout add widgets groupBox and terminalWidget.

      Hmm, I don't get this, so are you saying this should look something like:

          QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
          vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
          vbox->addWidget(groupBox);
          parent->setTerminalLayout(vbox); // vbox->setLayout() would be called within this method
          terminalWidget ->show();
          if (groupBox) groupBox->setFocus();
      

      but I don't see what a differnce it'll make to call setLayout from within another wrapper , I must not understand you properly - can you clarify, please?

      Thanks!

      1 Reply Last reply
      0
      • P Offline
        P Offline
        p3c0
        Moderators
        wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:11 last edited by
        #9

        @cerr What I imagined was that you are trying to create a main widget and in that you want to add a groupbox and terminalwidget so I suggested to add this layout(vbox) to the main widget and in that you add these 2 widgets so that they are arranged vertically. Is this the requirement ?

        157

        C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 05:17
        0
        • P p3c0
          16 Oct 2016, 05:11

          @cerr What I imagined was that you are trying to create a main widget and in that you want to add a groupbox and terminalwidget so I suggested to add this layout(vbox) to the main widget and in that you add these 2 widgets so that they are arranged vertically. Is this the requirement ?

          C Offline
          C Offline
          cerr
          wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:17 last edited by
          #10

          @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

          @cerr What I imagined was that you are trying to create a main widget and in that you want to add a groupbox and terminalwidget so I suggested to add this layout(vbox) to the main widget and in that you add these 2 widgets so that they are arranged vertically. Is this the requirement ?

          By main widget you understand a "mother widget" that would contain the groupbox & the terminal widget, right? What I want to do is, to nest the terminalwidget within a groupbox so that there is an ability to assign the terminalwidget some kind of membership (that makes visually sense, too). If you have a better idea on how to solve this, please don't be shy to let me know! Thanks!

          1 Reply Last reply
          0
          • P Offline
            P Offline
            p3c0
            Moderators
            wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:24 last edited by
            #11

            @cerr

            By main widget you understand a "mother widget" that would contain the groupbox & the terminal widget, right?

            Yes.

            So now where do you add this groupbox ? You should add this groupbox inside another layout so that it is laid properly.

            157

            C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 05:33
            1
            • P p3c0
              16 Oct 2016, 05:24

              @cerr

              By main widget you understand a "mother widget" that would contain the groupbox & the terminal widget, right?

              Yes.

              So now where do you add this groupbox ? You should add this groupbox inside another layout so that it is laid properly.

              C Offline
              C Offline
              cerr
              wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:33 last edited by
              #12

              @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

              Yes.

              So now where do you add this groupbox ? You should add this groupbox inside another layout so that it is laid properly.

              So I currently have something lke groupBox(vbox(terminalWidget())) and I think from what you're saying, I should have something like ContainerWidget(vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget))), is that correct? Any idea what kind of container widget I can use for this? Or better, vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget)) should do as well, shouldn't it?

              C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 05:42
              0
              • P Offline
                P Offline
                p3c0
                Moderators
                wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:38 last edited by
                #13

                @cerr

                ContainerWidget(vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget))), is that correct?

                Yes. You can use QDialog as the container widget.

                157

                1 Reply Last reply
                0
                • C cerr
                  16 Oct 2016, 05:33

                  @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                  Yes.

                  So now where do you add this groupbox ? You should add this groupbox inside another layout so that it is laid properly.

                  So I currently have something lke groupBox(vbox(terminalWidget())) and I think from what you're saying, I should have something like ContainerWidget(vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget))), is that correct? Any idea what kind of container widget I can use for this? Or better, vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget)) should do as well, shouldn't it?

                  C Offline
                  C Offline
                  cerr
                  wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:42 last edited by cerr
                  #14

                  @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                  @cerr

                  ContainerWidget(vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget))), is that correct?

                  Yes. You can use QDialog as the container widget.

                  But I don't want it to be in abother dialog and it already is in a QTabWidget....I should use that as the outer most layer probably...

                  1 Reply Last reply
                  0
                  • P Offline
                    P Offline
                    p3c0
                    Moderators
                    wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:50 last edited by
                    #15

                    @cerr Ok. But remember to add that groupbox inside a layout.

                    157

                    C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 05:52
                    0
                    • P p3c0
                      16 Oct 2016, 05:50

                      @cerr Ok. But remember to add that groupbox inside a layout.

                      C Offline
                      C Offline
                      cerr
                      wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:52 last edited by
                      #16

                      @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                      @cerr Ok. But remember to add that groupbox inside a layout.

                      So what actually happens in my application is:
                      MainWindow->QTabWidget->session->setupSession->addTerminal->QVBoxWidget(QGroupBox->terminalWidget) and you suggest i'd better be like mainwindow->QVBoxWidget(QTabWidget->session->setupSession->addTerminal->QGroupBox->terminalWidget) ?
                      Will that change things?

                      1 Reply Last reply
                      0
                      • P Offline
                        P Offline
                        p3c0
                        Moderators
                        wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:58 last edited by p3c0
                        #17

                        @cerr No. The earlier one.
                        MainWindow->QTabWidget->session->setupSession->addTerminal->QVBoxWidget(QGroupBox->terminalWidget)

                        But I dont see that happening in your original code.

                        QGroupBox *groupBox = new QGroupBox(tr("Test"), parent); //<--- This should be added in a layout too.
                        groupBox->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
                        
                        QWidget* terminalWidget = terminal->terminalWidget();
                        
                        QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
                        vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                        groupBox->setLayout(vbox); // <--- This sets layout inside it
                        
                        terminalWidget ->show();
                        if (/*terminalWidget*/groupBox) /*terminalWidget*/groupBox->setFocus();
                           groupBox->show();
                        

                        157

                        C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 06:01
                        0
                        • P p3c0
                          16 Oct 2016, 05:58

                          @cerr No. The earlier one.
                          MainWindow->QTabWidget->session->setupSession->addTerminal->QVBoxWidget(QGroupBox->terminalWidget)

                          But I dont see that happening in your original code.

                          QGroupBox *groupBox = new QGroupBox(tr("Test"), parent); //<--- This should be added in a layout too.
                          groupBox->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
                          
                          QWidget* terminalWidget = terminal->terminalWidget();
                          
                          QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
                          vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                          groupBox->setLayout(vbox); // <--- This sets layout inside it
                          
                          terminalWidget ->show();
                          if (/*terminalWidget*/groupBox) /*terminalWidget*/groupBox->setFocus();
                             groupBox->show();
                          
                          C Offline
                          C Offline
                          cerr
                          wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 06:01 last edited by
                          #18

                          @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                          @cerr No. The earlier one.
                          MainWindow->QTabWidget->session->setupSession->addTerminal->QVBoxWidget(QGroupBox->terminalWidget)

                          But I dont see that happening in your original code.

                          QGroupBox *groupBox = new QGroupBox(tr("Test"), parent); //<--- This should be added in a layout too.
                          groupBox->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
                          
                          QWidget* terminalWidget = terminal->terminalWidget();
                          
                          QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
                          vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                          groupBox->setLayout(vbox); // <--- This sets layout inside it
                          
                          terminalWidget ->show();
                          if (/*terminalWidget*/groupBox) /*terminalWidget*/groupBox->setFocus();
                             groupBox->show();
                          

                          Sorry,

                          Yeah, I had changed it in the meantime to:

                              QGroupBox *groupBox = new QGroupBox(tr("Test"), parent);
                              groupBox->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
                              QWidget* terminalWidget = terminal->terminalWidget();
                              QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
                              vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                              vbox->addWidget(groupBox);
                              //groupBox->setLayout(vbox);  <- if i remove the comment, it won't start my application at all...
                              terminalWidget ->show();
                              if (/*terminalWidget*/groupBox) /*terminalWidget*/groupBox->setFocus();
                          
                          1 Reply Last reply
                          0
                          • P Offline
                            P Offline
                            p3c0
                            Moderators
                            wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 06:21 last edited by
                            #19

                            @cerr So now set vbox as a layout to its parent widget.

                            157

                            C 1 Reply Last reply 18 Oct 2016, 01:54
                            0
                            • P p3c0
                              16 Oct 2016, 06:21

                              @cerr So now set vbox as a layout to its parent widget.

                              C Offline
                              C Offline
                              cerr
                              wrote on 18 Oct 2016, 01:54 last edited by
                              #20

                              @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                              @cerr So now set vbox as a layout to its parent widget.

                              Did you mean like?

                              QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
                                  vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                                  vbox->addWidget(groupBox);
                                  vbox->addWidget(parent);
                                  groupBox->setLayout(vbox);
                                  terminalWidget ->show();
                              ``` - that doesn't let me open my application...
                              1 Reply Last reply
                              0
                              • P Offline
                                P Offline
                                p3c0
                                Moderators
                                wrote on 18 Oct 2016, 05:10 last edited by
                                #21

                                @cerr Probably something like this. Assuming QDialog is my main widget which contains groupbox.

                                QVBoxLayout *mainLayout = new QVBoxLayout;
                                myDialog->setLayout(mainLayout);
                                
                                //Now add widgets into this layout
                                
                                mainLayout->addWidget(groupBox);// groupbox first
                                mainLayout->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                                

                                Now in your case if you want to add terminalWidget inside a groupbox's layout you can create new one and add into it keeping mainLayout as it is.

                                157

                                C 1 Reply Last reply 19 Oct 2016, 03:32
                                1
                                • P p3c0
                                  18 Oct 2016, 05:10

                                  @cerr Probably something like this. Assuming QDialog is my main widget which contains groupbox.

                                  QVBoxLayout *mainLayout = new QVBoxLayout;
                                  myDialog->setLayout(mainLayout);
                                  
                                  //Now add widgets into this layout
                                  
                                  mainLayout->addWidget(groupBox);// groupbox first
                                  mainLayout->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                                  

                                  Now in your case if you want to add terminalWidget inside a groupbox's layout you can create new one and add into it keeping mainLayout as it is.

                                  C Offline
                                  C Offline
                                  cerr
                                  wrote on 19 Oct 2016, 03:32 last edited by cerr
                                  #22

                                  @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                                  Thanks for pitching in, I guess this is what I was missing. I now have this (which I can work with going forward):

                                  Terminal* Session::addTerminal(QWidget* parent)
                                  {    
                                    
                                      QGroupBox *groupBox = new QGroupBox(tr("Test"), parent);    
                                      groupBox->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
                                      QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;    
                                      groupBox->setLayout(vbox);    
                                      vbox->addWidget(groupBox);
                                      
                                      Terminal* terminal = new Terminal(parent);
                                      connect(terminal, SIGNAL(activated(int)), this, SLOT(setActiveTerminal(int)));
                                      connect(terminal, SIGNAL(manuallyActivated(Terminal*)), this, SIGNAL(terminalManuallyActivated(Terminal*)));
                                      connect(terminal, SIGNAL(titleChanged(int,QString)), this, SLOT(setTitle(int,QString)));
                                      connect(terminal, SIGNAL(keyboardInputBlocked(Terminal*)), this, SIGNAL(keyboardInputBlocked(Terminal*)));
                                      connect(terminal, SIGNAL(silenceDetected(Terminal*)), this, SIGNAL(silenceDetected(Terminal*)));
                                      connect(terminal, SIGNAL(destroyed(int)), this, SLOT(cleanup(int)));
                                      m_terminals.insert(terminal->id(), terminal);    
                                      QWidget* terminalWidget = terminal->terminalWidget();
                                      
                                      vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                                      
                                      terminalWidget->show();
                                      if (groupBox) groupBox->setFocus();
                                      return terminal;
                                  }
                                  

                                  But now back to the top, while it looks like this now: https://postimg.org/image/viahdjbwp/ how do I get the GroupBox label aligned to the left?

                                  1 Reply Last reply
                                  0
                                  • P Offline
                                    P Offline
                                    p3c0
                                    Moderators
                                    wrote on 19 Oct 2016, 06:08 last edited by p3c0
                                    #23

                                    @cerr Here is a small example that demonstrates it:

                                    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
                                    {
                                        QApplication app(argc, argv);
                                    
                                        QDialog d;
                                        d.resize(400, 400);
                                        d.show();
                                    
                                        QVBoxLayout mainLayout;
                                        d.setLayout(&mainLayout);
                                    
                                        QGroupBox box;
                                        box.setTitle("MyGroupBox");
                                        mainLayout.addWidget(&box);
                                    
                                        QLabel label("MyLabel");
                                        mainLayout.addWidget(&label);
                                      
                                        return app.exec();
                                    }
                                    

                                    You can see the QGroupBox properly aligned to the left. Here the Groupbox is added into the main widget's layout. Try to do in the similar way.

                                    157

                                    C 1 Reply Last reply 20 Oct 2016, 12:42
                                    1
                                    • P p3c0
                                      19 Oct 2016, 06:08

                                      @cerr Here is a small example that demonstrates it:

                                      int main(int argc, char *argv[])
                                      {
                                          QApplication app(argc, argv);
                                      
                                          QDialog d;
                                          d.resize(400, 400);
                                          d.show();
                                      
                                          QVBoxLayout mainLayout;
                                          d.setLayout(&mainLayout);
                                      
                                          QGroupBox box;
                                          box.setTitle("MyGroupBox");
                                          mainLayout.addWidget(&box);
                                      
                                          QLabel label("MyLabel");
                                          mainLayout.addWidget(&label);
                                        
                                          return app.exec();
                                      }
                                      

                                      You can see the QGroupBox properly aligned to the left. Here the Groupbox is added into the main widget's layout. Try to do in the similar way.

                                      C Offline
                                      C Offline
                                      cerr
                                      wrote on 20 Oct 2016, 12:42 last edited by
                                      #24

                                      @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                                      Thanks but I want the
                                      box.setTitle("MyGroupBox"); title to be left aligned, so I altered your example code to:

                                          QGroupBox box;
                                          box.setTitle("MyGroupBox");
                                          box.setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
                                          mainLayout.addWidget(&box);
                                      

                                      but like in my application above, the title stays centered, can it be left aligned at all?
                                      This is from http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qgroupbox.html#alignment-prop:

                                      alignment : Qt::Alignment

                                      This property holds the alignment of the group box title.

                                      1 Reply Last reply
                                      0
                                      • SGaistS Offline
                                        SGaistS Offline
                                        SGaist
                                        Lifetime Qt Champion
                                        wrote on 20 Oct 2016, 21:12 last edited by
                                        #25

                                        Hi,

                                        Which window manager are you using ?

                                        I just tested on macOS and the alignment is working properly (self built 5.7)

                                        Interested in AI ? www.idiap.ch
                                        Please read the Qt Code of Conduct - https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct

                                        C 1 Reply Last reply 21 Oct 2016, 04:01
                                        0
                                        • SGaistS SGaist
                                          20 Oct 2016, 21:12

                                          Hi,

                                          Which window manager are you using ?

                                          I just tested on macOS and the alignment is working properly (self built 5.7)

                                          C Offline
                                          C Offline
                                          cerr
                                          wrote on 21 Oct 2016, 04:01 last edited by
                                          #26

                                          @SGaist said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                                          Hi,

                                          Which window manager are you using ?

                                          I just tested on macOS and the alignment is working properly (self built 5.7)

                                          KDE 5.5.5 with Qt 5.5.1 (Kubuntu 16.04)

                                          1 Reply Last reply
                                          0

                                          16/31

                                          16 Oct 2016, 05:52

                                          • Login

                                          • Login or register to search.
                                          16 out of 31
                                          • First post
                                            16/31
                                            Last post
                                          0
                                          • Categories
                                          • Recent
                                          • Tags
                                          • Popular
                                          • Users
                                          • Groups
                                          • Search
                                          • Get Qt Extensions
                                          • Unsolved