Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Get Qt Extensions
  • Unsolved
Collapse
Brand Logo
  1. Home
  2. Qt Development
  3. General and Desktop
  4. how to setAlignment of QGroupBox

how to setAlignment of QGroupBox

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Unsolved General and Desktop
31 Posts 4 Posters 15.8k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • R Ratzz
    15 Oct 2016, 04:58

    @cerr
    can you show me what u get using image ?

    C Offline
    C Offline
    cerr
    wrote on 15 Oct 2016, 05:24 last edited by
    #4

    @Ratzz said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

    @cerr
    can you show me what u get using image ?

    https://postimg.org/image/dc7rd4ub9/

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
    • P Offline
      P Offline
      p3c0
      Moderators
      wrote on 15 Oct 2016, 05:38 last edited by
      #5

      @cerr Looks like you have added the groupbox in a layout?
      Can you post the relevant code ?

      157

      C 1 Reply Last reply 15 Oct 2016, 20:16
      1
      • P p3c0
        15 Oct 2016, 05:38

        @cerr Looks like you have added the groupbox in a layout?
        Can you post the relevant code ?

        C Offline
        C Offline
        cerr
        wrote on 15 Oct 2016, 20:16 last edited by
        #6

        @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

        @cerr Looks like you have added the groupbox in a layout?
        Can you post the relevant code ?

        Correct,

        Okay, so let's see:
        My groupBox is here, in addTerminal() which gets called with a QSplitter as parent... - not sure if that's enough...

        
        Terminal* Session::addTerminal(QWidget* parent)
        {
            Terminal* terminal = new Terminal(parent);
            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(activated(int)), this, SLOT(setActiveTerminal(int)));
            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(manuallyActivated(Terminal*)), this, SIGNAL(terminalManuallyActivated(Terminal*)));
            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(titleChanged(int,QString)), this, SLOT(setTitle(int,QString)));
            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(keyboardInputBlocked(Terminal*)), this, SIGNAL(keyboardInputBlocked(Terminal*)));
            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(silenceDetected(Terminal*)), this, SIGNAL(silenceDetected(Terminal*)));
            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(destroyed(int)), this, SLOT(cleanup(int)));
        
            m_terminals.insert(terminal->id(), terminal);    
            
            QGroupBox *groupBox = new QGroupBox(tr("Test"), parent);
            groupBox->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
            QWidget* terminalWidget = terminal->terminalWidget();
            QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
            vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
            groupBox->setLayout(vbox);
            terminalWidget ->show();
            if (/*terminalWidget*/groupBox) /*terminalWidget*/groupBox->setFocus();
            groupBox->show();
        
            return terminal;
        }
        

        and then, the constructor for Terminal() looks like this:

        Terminal::Terminal(QWidget* parent) : QObject(parent)
        {
            m_terminalId = m_availableTerminalId;
            m_availableTerminalId++;
        
            m_keyboardInputEnabled = true;
        
            m_monitorActivityEnabled = false;
            m_monitorSilenceEnabled = false;
        
            m_part = NULL;
            m_terminalInterface = NULL;
            m_partWidget = NULL;
            m_terminalWidget = NULL;
            m_parentSplitter = parent;
        
            KPluginFactory* factory = 0;
            KService::Ptr service = KService::serviceByDesktopName("konsolepart");
            if( service )
            {
                factory = KPluginLoader(service->library()).factory();
        
            m_part = factory ? (factory->create<KParts::Part>(parent)) : 0;
        
            if (m_part)
            {
                connect(m_part, SIGNAL(setWindowCaption(QString)), this, SLOT(setTitle(QString)));
                connect(m_part, SIGNAL(overrideShortcut(QKeyEvent*,bool&)), this, SLOT(overrideShortcut(QKeyEvent*,bool&)));
                connect(m_part, SIGNAL(destroyed()), this, SLOT(deleteLater()));
        
                m_partWidget = m_part->widget();
        
                m_terminalWidget = m_part->widget()->focusWidget();
        
                if (m_terminalWidget)
                {
                    m_terminalWidget->setFocusPolicy(Qt::WheelFocus);
                    m_terminalWidget->installEventFilter(this);
                }
        
                disableOffendingPartActions();
        
                m_terminalInterface = qobject_cast<TerminalInterface*>(m_part);
                if (m_terminalInterface) m_terminalInterface->showShellInDir(QDir::homePath());
            }
            else
                displayKPartLoadError();
            }
        }
        
        1 Reply Last reply
        0
        • P Offline
          P Offline
          p3c0
          Moderators
          wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 04:35 last edited by
          #7

          @cerr This part looks odd:

          QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
          vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
          groupBox->setLayout(vbox);
          

          You should set layout (vbox) to your main widget and in this layout add widgets groupBox and terminalWidget.

          157

          C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 05:03
          2
          • P p3c0
            16 Oct 2016, 04:35

            @cerr This part looks odd:

            QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
            vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
            groupBox->setLayout(vbox);
            

            You should set layout (vbox) to your main widget and in this layout add widgets groupBox and terminalWidget.

            C Offline
            C Offline
            cerr
            wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:03 last edited by
            #8

            @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

            @cerr This part looks odd:

            QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
            vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
            groupBox->setLayout(vbox);
            

            You should set layout (vbox) to your main widget and in this layout add widgets groupBox and terminalWidget.

            Hmm, I don't get this, so are you saying this should look something like:

                QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
                vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                vbox->addWidget(groupBox);
                parent->setTerminalLayout(vbox); // vbox->setLayout() would be called within this method
                terminalWidget ->show();
                if (groupBox) groupBox->setFocus();
            

            but I don't see what a differnce it'll make to call setLayout from within another wrapper , I must not understand you properly - can you clarify, please?

            Thanks!

            1 Reply Last reply
            0
            • P Offline
              P Offline
              p3c0
              Moderators
              wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:11 last edited by
              #9

              @cerr What I imagined was that you are trying to create a main widget and in that you want to add a groupbox and terminalwidget so I suggested to add this layout(vbox) to the main widget and in that you add these 2 widgets so that they are arranged vertically. Is this the requirement ?

              157

              C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 05:17
              0
              • P p3c0
                16 Oct 2016, 05:11

                @cerr What I imagined was that you are trying to create a main widget and in that you want to add a groupbox and terminalwidget so I suggested to add this layout(vbox) to the main widget and in that you add these 2 widgets so that they are arranged vertically. Is this the requirement ?

                C Offline
                C Offline
                cerr
                wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:17 last edited by
                #10

                @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                @cerr What I imagined was that you are trying to create a main widget and in that you want to add a groupbox and terminalwidget so I suggested to add this layout(vbox) to the main widget and in that you add these 2 widgets so that they are arranged vertically. Is this the requirement ?

                By main widget you understand a "mother widget" that would contain the groupbox & the terminal widget, right? What I want to do is, to nest the terminalwidget within a groupbox so that there is an ability to assign the terminalwidget some kind of membership (that makes visually sense, too). If you have a better idea on how to solve this, please don't be shy to let me know! Thanks!

                1 Reply Last reply
                0
                • P Offline
                  P Offline
                  p3c0
                  Moderators
                  wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:24 last edited by
                  #11

                  @cerr

                  By main widget you understand a "mother widget" that would contain the groupbox & the terminal widget, right?

                  Yes.

                  So now where do you add this groupbox ? You should add this groupbox inside another layout so that it is laid properly.

                  157

                  C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 05:33
                  1
                  • P p3c0
                    16 Oct 2016, 05:24

                    @cerr

                    By main widget you understand a "mother widget" that would contain the groupbox & the terminal widget, right?

                    Yes.

                    So now where do you add this groupbox ? You should add this groupbox inside another layout so that it is laid properly.

                    C Offline
                    C Offline
                    cerr
                    wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:33 last edited by
                    #12

                    @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                    Yes.

                    So now where do you add this groupbox ? You should add this groupbox inside another layout so that it is laid properly.

                    So I currently have something lke groupBox(vbox(terminalWidget())) and I think from what you're saying, I should have something like ContainerWidget(vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget))), is that correct? Any idea what kind of container widget I can use for this? Or better, vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget)) should do as well, shouldn't it?

                    C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 05:42
                    0
                    • P Offline
                      P Offline
                      p3c0
                      Moderators
                      wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:38 last edited by
                      #13

                      @cerr

                      ContainerWidget(vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget))), is that correct?

                      Yes. You can use QDialog as the container widget.

                      157

                      1 Reply Last reply
                      0
                      • C cerr
                        16 Oct 2016, 05:33

                        @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                        Yes.

                        So now where do you add this groupbox ? You should add this groupbox inside another layout so that it is laid properly.

                        So I currently have something lke groupBox(vbox(terminalWidget())) and I think from what you're saying, I should have something like ContainerWidget(vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget))), is that correct? Any idea what kind of container widget I can use for this? Or better, vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget)) should do as well, shouldn't it?

                        C Offline
                        C Offline
                        cerr
                        wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:42 last edited by cerr
                        #14

                        @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                        @cerr

                        ContainerWidget(vbox(groupBox(terminalWidget))), is that correct?

                        Yes. You can use QDialog as the container widget.

                        But I don't want it to be in abother dialog and it already is in a QTabWidget....I should use that as the outer most layer probably...

                        1 Reply Last reply
                        0
                        • P Offline
                          P Offline
                          p3c0
                          Moderators
                          wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:50 last edited by
                          #15

                          @cerr Ok. But remember to add that groupbox inside a layout.

                          157

                          C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 05:52
                          0
                          • P p3c0
                            16 Oct 2016, 05:50

                            @cerr Ok. But remember to add that groupbox inside a layout.

                            C Offline
                            C Offline
                            cerr
                            wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:52 last edited by
                            #16

                            @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                            @cerr Ok. But remember to add that groupbox inside a layout.

                            So what actually happens in my application is:
                            MainWindow->QTabWidget->session->setupSession->addTerminal->QVBoxWidget(QGroupBox->terminalWidget) and you suggest i'd better be like mainwindow->QVBoxWidget(QTabWidget->session->setupSession->addTerminal->QGroupBox->terminalWidget) ?
                            Will that change things?

                            1 Reply Last reply
                            0
                            • P Offline
                              P Offline
                              p3c0
                              Moderators
                              wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 05:58 last edited by p3c0
                              #17

                              @cerr No. The earlier one.
                              MainWindow->QTabWidget->session->setupSession->addTerminal->QVBoxWidget(QGroupBox->terminalWidget)

                              But I dont see that happening in your original code.

                              QGroupBox *groupBox = new QGroupBox(tr("Test"), parent); //<--- This should be added in a layout too.
                              groupBox->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
                              
                              QWidget* terminalWidget = terminal->terminalWidget();
                              
                              QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
                              vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                              groupBox->setLayout(vbox); // <--- This sets layout inside it
                              
                              terminalWidget ->show();
                              if (/*terminalWidget*/groupBox) /*terminalWidget*/groupBox->setFocus();
                                 groupBox->show();
                              

                              157

                              C 1 Reply Last reply 16 Oct 2016, 06:01
                              0
                              • P p3c0
                                16 Oct 2016, 05:58

                                @cerr No. The earlier one.
                                MainWindow->QTabWidget->session->setupSession->addTerminal->QVBoxWidget(QGroupBox->terminalWidget)

                                But I dont see that happening in your original code.

                                QGroupBox *groupBox = new QGroupBox(tr("Test"), parent); //<--- This should be added in a layout too.
                                groupBox->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
                                
                                QWidget* terminalWidget = terminal->terminalWidget();
                                
                                QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
                                vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                                groupBox->setLayout(vbox); // <--- This sets layout inside it
                                
                                terminalWidget ->show();
                                if (/*terminalWidget*/groupBox) /*terminalWidget*/groupBox->setFocus();
                                   groupBox->show();
                                
                                C Offline
                                C Offline
                                cerr
                                wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 06:01 last edited by
                                #18

                                @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                                @cerr No. The earlier one.
                                MainWindow->QTabWidget->session->setupSession->addTerminal->QVBoxWidget(QGroupBox->terminalWidget)

                                But I dont see that happening in your original code.

                                QGroupBox *groupBox = new QGroupBox(tr("Test"), parent); //<--- This should be added in a layout too.
                                groupBox->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
                                
                                QWidget* terminalWidget = terminal->terminalWidget();
                                
                                QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
                                vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                                groupBox->setLayout(vbox); // <--- This sets layout inside it
                                
                                terminalWidget ->show();
                                if (/*terminalWidget*/groupBox) /*terminalWidget*/groupBox->setFocus();
                                   groupBox->show();
                                

                                Sorry,

                                Yeah, I had changed it in the meantime to:

                                    QGroupBox *groupBox = new QGroupBox(tr("Test"), parent);
                                    groupBox->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
                                    QWidget* terminalWidget = terminal->terminalWidget();
                                    QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
                                    vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                                    vbox->addWidget(groupBox);
                                    //groupBox->setLayout(vbox);  <- if i remove the comment, it won't start my application at all...
                                    terminalWidget ->show();
                                    if (/*terminalWidget*/groupBox) /*terminalWidget*/groupBox->setFocus();
                                
                                1 Reply Last reply
                                0
                                • P Offline
                                  P Offline
                                  p3c0
                                  Moderators
                                  wrote on 16 Oct 2016, 06:21 last edited by
                                  #19

                                  @cerr So now set vbox as a layout to its parent widget.

                                  157

                                  C 1 Reply Last reply 18 Oct 2016, 01:54
                                  0
                                  • P p3c0
                                    16 Oct 2016, 06:21

                                    @cerr So now set vbox as a layout to its parent widget.

                                    C Offline
                                    C Offline
                                    cerr
                                    wrote on 18 Oct 2016, 01:54 last edited by
                                    #20

                                    @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                                    @cerr So now set vbox as a layout to its parent widget.

                                    Did you mean like?

                                    QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;
                                        vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                                        vbox->addWidget(groupBox);
                                        vbox->addWidget(parent);
                                        groupBox->setLayout(vbox);
                                        terminalWidget ->show();
                                    ``` - that doesn't let me open my application...
                                    1 Reply Last reply
                                    0
                                    • P Offline
                                      P Offline
                                      p3c0
                                      Moderators
                                      wrote on 18 Oct 2016, 05:10 last edited by
                                      #21

                                      @cerr Probably something like this. Assuming QDialog is my main widget which contains groupbox.

                                      QVBoxLayout *mainLayout = new QVBoxLayout;
                                      myDialog->setLayout(mainLayout);
                                      
                                      //Now add widgets into this layout
                                      
                                      mainLayout->addWidget(groupBox);// groupbox first
                                      mainLayout->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                                      

                                      Now in your case if you want to add terminalWidget inside a groupbox's layout you can create new one and add into it keeping mainLayout as it is.

                                      157

                                      C 1 Reply Last reply 19 Oct 2016, 03:32
                                      1
                                      • P p3c0
                                        18 Oct 2016, 05:10

                                        @cerr Probably something like this. Assuming QDialog is my main widget which contains groupbox.

                                        QVBoxLayout *mainLayout = new QVBoxLayout;
                                        myDialog->setLayout(mainLayout);
                                        
                                        //Now add widgets into this layout
                                        
                                        mainLayout->addWidget(groupBox);// groupbox first
                                        mainLayout->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                                        

                                        Now in your case if you want to add terminalWidget inside a groupbox's layout you can create new one and add into it keeping mainLayout as it is.

                                        C Offline
                                        C Offline
                                        cerr
                                        wrote on 19 Oct 2016, 03:32 last edited by cerr
                                        #22

                                        @p3c0 said in how to setAlignment of QGroupBox:

                                        Thanks for pitching in, I guess this is what I was missing. I now have this (which I can work with going forward):

                                        Terminal* Session::addTerminal(QWidget* parent)
                                        {    
                                          
                                            QGroupBox *groupBox = new QGroupBox(tr("Test"), parent);    
                                            groupBox->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft);
                                            QVBoxLayout *vbox = new QVBoxLayout;    
                                            groupBox->setLayout(vbox);    
                                            vbox->addWidget(groupBox);
                                            
                                            Terminal* terminal = new Terminal(parent);
                                            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(activated(int)), this, SLOT(setActiveTerminal(int)));
                                            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(manuallyActivated(Terminal*)), this, SIGNAL(terminalManuallyActivated(Terminal*)));
                                            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(titleChanged(int,QString)), this, SLOT(setTitle(int,QString)));
                                            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(keyboardInputBlocked(Terminal*)), this, SIGNAL(keyboardInputBlocked(Terminal*)));
                                            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(silenceDetected(Terminal*)), this, SIGNAL(silenceDetected(Terminal*)));
                                            connect(terminal, SIGNAL(destroyed(int)), this, SLOT(cleanup(int)));
                                            m_terminals.insert(terminal->id(), terminal);    
                                            QWidget* terminalWidget = terminal->terminalWidget();
                                            
                                            vbox->addWidget(terminalWidget);
                                            
                                            terminalWidget->show();
                                            if (groupBox) groupBox->setFocus();
                                            return terminal;
                                        }
                                        

                                        But now back to the top, while it looks like this now: https://postimg.org/image/viahdjbwp/ how do I get the GroupBox label aligned to the left?

                                        1 Reply Last reply
                                        0
                                        • P Offline
                                          P Offline
                                          p3c0
                                          Moderators
                                          wrote on 19 Oct 2016, 06:08 last edited by p3c0
                                          #23

                                          @cerr Here is a small example that demonstrates it:

                                          int main(int argc, char *argv[])
                                          {
                                              QApplication app(argc, argv);
                                          
                                              QDialog d;
                                              d.resize(400, 400);
                                              d.show();
                                          
                                              QVBoxLayout mainLayout;
                                              d.setLayout(&mainLayout);
                                          
                                              QGroupBox box;
                                              box.setTitle("MyGroupBox");
                                              mainLayout.addWidget(&box);
                                          
                                              QLabel label("MyLabel");
                                              mainLayout.addWidget(&label);
                                            
                                              return app.exec();
                                          }
                                          

                                          You can see the QGroupBox properly aligned to the left. Here the Groupbox is added into the main widget's layout. Try to do in the similar way.

                                          157

                                          C 1 Reply Last reply 20 Oct 2016, 12:42
                                          1

                                          13/31

                                          16 Oct 2016, 05:38

                                          • Login

                                          • Login or register to search.
                                          13 out of 31
                                          • First post
                                            13/31
                                            Last post
                                          0
                                          • Categories
                                          • Recent
                                          • Tags
                                          • Popular
                                          • Users
                                          • Groups
                                          • Search
                                          • Get Qt Extensions
                                          • Unsolved