Problem with configuration



  • I cannot find qmake. What does it mean? Incomplete installation?


  • Moderators

    @Andrew_M

    Hi and welcome to devnet forum

    qmake can befound in the bin folder of your Qt installation.

    However, probably you should describe a couple of more details on your setup and what you are trying to do.

    What is your OS?
    How did you install Qt?
    Did you install Qt creator?



  • Thank you for a quick reaction. I ran the installer from Qt site. But there is no bin directory in Qt directory- only Qt/Tools/QtCreator/bin and there is no qmake at all. This is why I suspect incomplete installation due to possible problems with the Net


  • Moderators

    @Andrew_M

    You have installed Qt creator where you have no choice to get around anyway.
    In addition you need to have a Qt library version (5.10.something shall be the newest version) for development.

    You are apparently on a linux type OS conclusing from your posted Qt path. I am not exactly sure, how the different versions and tools are installed there. I am on win10.
    There is e.g.

    • c:\Qt\5.10.0<pre-compiler version>\bin
    • c:\Qt\Tools\QtCreator\bin

    The <pre-compiler version> is naming the actual compiler used during pre-compilation. The qmake is dependent on the pre-compiler used and the Qt lib sourceversion. Therefore, you will find it under the first folder in the list above.



  • Sorry, I forgot to tell you- I use Win7, no Linux. And how could it be? The installator doesn't perform all necessary installations? And one more question, what is qtcdebbugger.exe for? I cannot use it when I'm configuring QtCreator- it wants cdb or gdb but not its own debugger.


  • Moderators

    @Andrew_M said in Problem with configuration:

    Sorry, I forgot to tell you- I use Win7, no Linux. And how could it be? The installator doesn't perform all necessary installations? And one more question, what is qtcdebbugger.exe for? I cannot use it when I'm configuring QtCreator- it wants cdb or gdb but not its own debugger.

    I do not know what qtcdebugger is used for. However, it is not a debugger you can use for debugging your applications AFAIK.

    Note: Qt creator is simply an IDE for editing and support of development. You need a separate compiler for working with qt creator. The debugger has toknow the internals of your compiled code and therefore it is part of the compiler installation.

    Which Qt version have you installed?
    And what compiler has been used for this pre-build?



  • It was 4.5.1. If I'm correct, the last stable version. I didn't use compilers- it was not Linux to compile packages. installer made its job and that's all. I do not know, what flies must be there. maybe, reinstall?


  • Moderators

    @Andrew_M

    Well, Qt creator is only an IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for building applications. It uses Qt libraries as well and installs, but those shall be used only by Qt creator.

    For building your own application you need to install a pre-compiled version of Qt libraries as in
    0_1520864404540_acec1b43-51e3-477b-81d2-abe8e72935ac-image.png

    That the part of the maintenance tool on my machine indicating the components installed. Since I have a German windows installed the text is in German, but it should look the same in other languages.

    As you see I have installed parts of Qt 5.4.2, Qt 5.9.1 and Qt 5.9.2. Those are the Qt libraries.
    Further down you have the tools. There is always fixed the latest version of Qt creator and a couple of compilers. You need to check which compilers are correlating to your pre-compiled Qt lib versions.

    Also it is not recommended to install a complete Qt versions. Better check in there for your preferred compiler and your prefered target OS. It can become quite bulky, when you install everything.



  • There are such file: vcredist_msvc2015_x64.exe (and corresponding 32 bit version) What they are for? Should I run it? And I have to say, that it is not the good way to install soft, at least for Win. the installator must be complete and perform all necessary ops itself and doesn't push me to install some additional items to make the installed prog functional


  • Moderators

    @Andrew_M The installer is complete and works. You simply need to know what you want to install as the installer can install many Qt versions for many different compilers. It can't decide for you what to install, you as developer need to know that.
    If you don't care about compiler simply install the MinGW Qt - in usually installs and works without any problems and additional configuration (it uses GCC as compiler). If you want to use Visual C++ compiler from Microsoft instead you need to install Visual Studio first and then Qt for that compiler.



  • But that's what I did! I choose the last stable version for Win64. But I wanted to make prog with the aid of Qt for another OSes- MacOs, for example. What I missed during installation, if I have no qmake, without which Qt cannot work at all?


  • Moderators

    @Andrew_M But you only installed QtCreator, right? You need to install at least one version of Qt itself to use Qt, then you will have qmake. You need to understand the difference between an IDE like QtCreator and a framework like Qt. You can use many different Qt versions in QtCreator.
    If you want to support MacOS then you need to build your app on MacOS, there is no other way (there is no cross compilation possible).
    With frameworks like Qt what you usually do is: you develop on one OS (lets say Windows) and then build your app for all other environments you want to support. For MacOS you need to do this on a Mac, for Linux you can do it on Windows (cross compile) but it is much much easier to build your app directly on Linux (you can use a virtual machine with Linux).



  • No! I installed Qt- and QtCeator was there only in one of its subfolders. What I have now in Qt folder: folder dist, Licenses, Tools and vcredist And exe file MaintenanceTool. Inside dist only log file, inside Tools QtCreatof (folder), inside vcredist two exe files: vcredist_msvc2015_x64.exe and similar 32 bit one. That's all.


  • Moderators

    @Andrew_M

    What is the Qt version you have installed?
    Which compiler is this version for?



  • 4.5.1.0 And I do not see, what you mean about the version of a compiler. I didn't use compilers during installation. A compiler can be chosen later when you are configuring the project. At that very time, when you choose debugger, target OS and so on.


  • Moderators

    @Andrew_M

    So you basically installed only a tool. This tool is the Qt creator, which allows toedit some files. That's it. Nothing more is possible.

    Did you read this reply

    @koahnig said in Problem with configuration:

    @Andrew_M

    Well, Qt creator is only an IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for building applications. It uses Qt libraries as well and installs, but those shall be used only by Qt creator.

    For building your own application you need to install a pre-compiled version of Qt libraries as in
    0_1520864404540_acec1b43-51e3-477b-81d2-abe8e72935ac-image.png

    That the part of the maintenance tool on my machine indicating the components installed. Since I have a German windows installed the text is in German, but it should look the same in other languages.

    As you see I have installed parts of Qt 5.4.2, Qt 5.9.1 and Qt 5.9.2. Those are the Qt libraries.
    Further down you have the tools. There is always fixed the latest version of Qt creator and a couple of compilers. You need to check which compilers are correlating to your pre-compiled Qt lib versions.

    Also it is not recommended to install a complete Qt versions. Better check in there for your preferred compiler and your prefered target OS. It can become quite bulky, when you install everything.

    or any of the other replies?

    Here is an example of chosen pre-builds for Qt version 5.9.2

    0_1520969920438_05a58112-d895-496a-8836-8563af920afa-image.png

    This setup allows to build applications for windows desktop and two variants of Android. All choices you have there are so-called pre-builds for the most common setups. More setups are possible, but you have to compile on your own.

    Even when installing some of the pre-builds you need to make sure that you are getting also the correct compiler installed.

    When you like to use Qt libraries and Qt creator on Mac-OS or different Linux variants, it is typically easier to usea Virtual machine with the installed operation system and install Qt and its components there as well. Cross-compilation from Windows to Linux and vice versa is possible, but typically not straight forward. I am not sure if you actually can do a cross-compilation for Mac-OS.

    Qt creator is an IDE which is visually the same on Windows and linux. Therefore, it helps to recompile on another OS.



  • Well, I'll try to reinstall Qt using the installer which I already downloaded. My OS is Win64 and what I need is to create the executable file for MacOS here, at my own comp. Course, I won't be able to test it without virtual OS.


  • Moderators

    @Andrew_M I already told you that you cannot create executables for MacOS on Windows/Linux, you need a Mac with MacOS for that. Do you actually read what others are writing?
    And please think about difference between QtCreator (IDE) and Qt (framework). You claim you installed Qt, but you only installed QtCreator.
    There is no need to reinstall anything. Simply use c:\MaintenanceTool.exe and select a Qt version for the compiler you want to use.


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Qt Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.