Problem with data read from USB port

• Hello All,

I am new to Qt and I need your suggestions for my problem. I have a sensor connected to USB port and I want to read the data from the sensor. I tried with QSerialPort and I am getting some random values. Could anyone please advice me where I am going wrong. Below is my source code

#include "dialog.h"
    #include "ui_dialog.h"
    #include <QtSerialPort/QSerialPort>
    #include <QtSerialPort/QSerialPortInfo>
    #include <QDebug>
    #include <QString>
    #include <QMessageBox>

Dialog::Dialog(QWidget *parent) :
        QDialog(parent),
        ui(new Ui::Dialog)
    {
        ui->setupUi(this);

sensor = new QSerialPort(this); //sensor is included in header file as QSerialPort
        serialBuffer = ""; // included in header file as QString

qDebug() << "Number of ports: " << QSerialPortInfo::availablePorts().length() << "\n";
        foreach(const QSerialPortInfo &serialportinfo, QSerialPortInfo::availablePorts())
        {
            qDebug() << "Description: " <<serialportinfo.description() << "\n";
            qDebug() << "Has vendor id: " <<serialportinfo.hasVendorIdentifier() << "\n";
            qDebug() << "vendor id: " <<serialportinfo.vendorIdentifier() << "\n";
            qDebug() << "Has product id: " <<serialportinfo.hasProductIdentifier() << "\n";
            qDebug() << "prodcut id: " <<serialportinfo.productIdentifier() << "\n";
        }

bool sensor_is_available = false;
        QString sensor_port_name;

foreach(const QSerialPortInfo &serialportinfo, QSerialPortInfo::availablePorts())
        {
            if(serialportinfo.hasProductIdentifier() && serialportinfo.hasVendorIdentifier())
            {
                if((serialportinfo.productIdentifier() == sensor_product_id) && (serialportinfo.vendorIdentifier() == sensor_vendor_id))
                {
                    sensor_is_available = true;
                    sensor_port_name = serialportinfo.portName();
                }