[SOLVED] Qt SDK for Linux

• Hello,

I've been using Qt for almost a year now, on Windows. I really like it, signals and slots give so much and the ease of creating UI is wonderful.

But, as a next step for my project, I need to create a client / server connection using sockets. Client is a Windows machine, no problems there, but the server is a Linux. Now, I'm fairly new to Linux all together. But, all I need to get started, is to install the Qt SDK to my Linux machine!

Now, the server is an virtual Linux machine, running Debian. X -server is not in use, I purely use it from the terminal via SSH. I know Qt isn't the best library to use here, because most of Qt's advantages lie in the UI department - but as I said, I've grown to use signals and slots, and I want them for my server app aswell! :)

I've tried every guide I've found, but every Qt SDK install attempt fails on "X -server cannot be reached" or something like that. The thing is, all I want is the core of Qt, I've no intent to create any graphical UI for my server app. Can anyone provide my with a step by step guide, how can I use the Qt library on Linux, so I can compile something as simple as:

@#include <iostream>
    #include <string>
    #include <QStringList>

int main (int argc, char *argv[])
    {
    QStringList list;
    list.append("Line 1");
    list.append("Line 2");
    list.append("Line 3");

for (int i = 0; i < list.size(); i++)
    {
    std::cout << list.at(i).toStdString() << std::endl;
    }

return 0;

}@

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Hi,

Qt's also strong for command line application/server etc… GUI might be one of the main feature but that's certainly not the only one :)

Since you're on Debian you can simply install the Qt dev packages using apt-get and select only the modules you need (core/network/sql etc…).

• Ah, of course! I actually have qt4 library installed from my previous attempts. But, I don't really know how to use it (as I said, I'm new to Linux ;))