Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Get Qt Extensions
  • Unsolved
Collapse
Brand Logo
  1. Home
  2. Qt Development
  3. QML and Qt Quick
  4. how to run exe file
QtWS25 Last Chance

how to run exe file

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Solved QML and Qt Quick
26 Posts 3 Posters 3.1k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • A Offline
    A Offline
    ali-aydin
    wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 10:04 last edited by
    #1

    I released my project now I want to run it in another system
    by double click it does nothing .why?
    I put the essential dll files in same directory

    J J 2 Replies Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 10:05
    0
    • J J.Hilk
      16 Aug 2022, 11:11

      @ali-aydin ok, you should use it. it is, like the name suggested for deploying your executable.

      https://doc.qt.io/qt-6/windows-deployment.html

      General steps on how to use it:

      • Open command line prompt
      • execute the qtenv2.bat inside the bin folder of the Qt kit, you used to compile your application
      • in the same folder you will also now find the windeployqt.exe
      • so execute that program, give it the fill path to your own binary, and since its a qml application, also give the --qmldir option the full path to the folder containing your main.qml (the actual source file)

      90% of the time, if done properly, this should be everything you need to do

      J Offline
      J Offline
      J.Hilk
      Moderators
      wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 10:03 last edited by
      #23

      @ali-aydin and where in that command is the requested --qmldir option ? 😉

      @J-Hilk said in how to run exe file:

      • so execute that program, give it the full path to your own binary, and since its a qml application, also give the --qmldir option the full path to the folder containing your main.qml (the actual source file)

      Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


      Q: What's that?
      A: It's blue light.
      Q: What does it do?
      A: It turns blue.

      A 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 10:10
      2
      • A ali-aydin
        16 Aug 2022, 10:04

        I released my project now I want to run it in another system
        by double click it does nothing .why?
        I put the essential dll files in same directory

        J Offline
        J Offline
        JonB
        wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 10:05 last edited by JonB
        #2

        @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

        by double click it does nothing .why?

        Nobody knows. Maybe it's missing something it needs to start, and your "I put the essential dll files in same directory" is not good enough. Try opening a Command Prompt and running the EXE from there, just maybe you might get some message. Or even possibly it is running but not producing anything visual for some reason --- run Task Manager to verify the EXE is not running.

        A 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 10:17
        0
        • J JonB
          16 Aug 2022, 10:05

          @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

          by double click it does nothing .why?

          Nobody knows. Maybe it's missing something it needs to start, and your "I put the essential dll files in same directory" is not good enough. Try opening a Command Prompt and running the EXE from there, just maybe you might get some message. Or even possibly it is running but not producing anything visual for some reason --- run Task Manager to verify the EXE is not running.

          A Offline
          A Offline
          ali-aydin
          wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 10:17 last edited by
          #3

          @JonB
          In the task manager there is not same thing,
          and tried to run it from cmd but does nothing again
          there is no error or other thing

          1 Reply Last reply
          0
          • A ali-aydin
            16 Aug 2022, 10:04

            I released my project now I want to run it in another system
            by double click it does nothing .why?
            I put the essential dll files in same directory

            J Offline
            J Offline
            J.Hilk
            Moderators
            wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 10:33 last edited by
            #4

            @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

            I released my project now I want to run it in another system
            by double click it does nothing .why?
            I put the essential dll files in same directory

            what exactly did you do?


            Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


            Q: What's that?
            A: It's blue light.
            Q: What does it do?
            A: It turns blue.

            A 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 10:39
            0
            • J J.Hilk
              16 Aug 2022, 10:33

              @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

              I released my project now I want to run it in another system
              by double click it does nothing .why?
              I put the essential dll files in same directory

              what exactly did you do?

              A Offline
              A Offline
              ali-aydin
              wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 10:39 last edited by
              #5

              @J-Hilk
              I released my QtQuick based project and movrd executable file to other system
              but it does nothing

              J 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 10:46
              0
              • A ali-aydin
                16 Aug 2022, 10:39

                @J-Hilk
                I released my QtQuick based project and movrd executable file to other system
                but it does nothing

                J Offline
                J Offline
                J.Hilk
                Moderators
                wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 10:46 last edited by J.Hilk
                #6

                @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

                @J-Hilk
                I released my QtQuick based project and movrd executable file to other system
                but it does nothing

                thats like saying I ate breakfast and went to work. Doesn't tell us anything on how you got that food poisoning.

                So, lets pull some teeth:
                I assume this is on windows(?), did you use the windeployqt tool ?


                Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                Q: What's that?
                A: It's blue light.
                Q: What does it do?
                A: It turns blue.

                A 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 10:58
                3
                • J J.Hilk
                  16 Aug 2022, 10:46

                  @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

                  @J-Hilk
                  I released my QtQuick based project and movrd executable file to other system
                  but it does nothing

                  thats like saying I ate breakfast and went to work. Doesn't tell us anything on how you got that food poisoning.

                  So, lets pull some teeth:
                  I assume this is on windows(?), did you use the windeployqt tool ?

                  A Offline
                  A Offline
                  ali-aydin
                  wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 10:58 last edited by
                  #7

                  @J-Hilk
                  Yes, OS is win 10
                  no I did not use windeployqt I used only QtCreator
                  I tested this by QtWidget is ok but QtQuick has some problems

                  J 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 11:11
                  0
                  • A ali-aydin
                    16 Aug 2022, 10:58

                    @J-Hilk
                    Yes, OS is win 10
                    no I did not use windeployqt I used only QtCreator
                    I tested this by QtWidget is ok but QtQuick has some problems

                    J Offline
                    J Offline
                    J.Hilk
                    Moderators
                    wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 11:11 last edited by
                    #8

                    @ali-aydin ok, you should use it. it is, like the name suggested for deploying your executable.

                    https://doc.qt.io/qt-6/windows-deployment.html

                    General steps on how to use it:

                    • Open command line prompt
                    • execute the qtenv2.bat inside the bin folder of the Qt kit, you used to compile your application
                    • in the same folder you will also now find the windeployqt.exe
                    • so execute that program, give it the fill path to your own binary, and since its a qml application, also give the --qmldir option the full path to the folder containing your main.qml (the actual source file)

                    90% of the time, if done properly, this should be everything you need to do


                    Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                    Q: What's that?
                    A: It's blue light.
                    Q: What does it do?
                    A: It turns blue.

                    A J 3 Replies Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 11:20
                    2
                    • J J.Hilk
                      16 Aug 2022, 11:11

                      @ali-aydin ok, you should use it. it is, like the name suggested for deploying your executable.

                      https://doc.qt.io/qt-6/windows-deployment.html

                      General steps on how to use it:

                      • Open command line prompt
                      • execute the qtenv2.bat inside the bin folder of the Qt kit, you used to compile your application
                      • in the same folder you will also now find the windeployqt.exe
                      • so execute that program, give it the fill path to your own binary, and since its a qml application, also give the --qmldir option the full path to the folder containing your main.qml (the actual source file)

                      90% of the time, if done properly, this should be everything you need to do

                      A Offline
                      A Offline
                      ali-aydin
                      wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 11:20 last edited by
                      #9

                      @J-Hilk
                      Thank you so much I will test it

                      1 Reply Last reply
                      0
                      • J J.Hilk
                        16 Aug 2022, 11:11

                        @ali-aydin ok, you should use it. it is, like the name suggested for deploying your executable.

                        https://doc.qt.io/qt-6/windows-deployment.html

                        General steps on how to use it:

                        • Open command line prompt
                        • execute the qtenv2.bat inside the bin folder of the Qt kit, you used to compile your application
                        • in the same folder you will also now find the windeployqt.exe
                        • so execute that program, give it the fill path to your own binary, and since its a qml application, also give the --qmldir option the full path to the folder containing your main.qml (the actual source file)

                        90% of the time, if done properly, this should be everything you need to do

                        A Offline
                        A Offline
                        ali-aydin
                        wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:38 last edited by
                        #10

                        @J-Hilk
                        I used windeployqt it worked for me on my laptop
                        but on the pc it does not work

                        J 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:39
                        0
                        • A ali-aydin
                          16 Aug 2022, 12:38

                          @J-Hilk
                          I used windeployqt it worked for me on my laptop
                          but on the pc it does not work

                          J Offline
                          J Offline
                          J.Hilk
                          Moderators
                          wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:39 last edited by
                          #11

                          @ali-aydin alright, alright alright,

                          one step forwards

                          do you use MSVC or MinGW as compiler/QtVersion


                          Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                          Q: What's that?
                          A: It's blue light.
                          Q: What does it do?
                          A: It turns blue.

                          A 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:48
                          0
                          • J J.Hilk
                            16 Aug 2022, 12:39

                            @ali-aydin alright, alright alright,

                            one step forwards

                            do you use MSVC or MinGW as compiler/QtVersion

                            A Offline
                            A Offline
                            ali-aydin
                            wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:48 last edited by
                            #12

                            @J-Hilk
                            I'm using MinGW

                            J 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:50
                            0
                            • A ali-aydin
                              16 Aug 2022, 12:48

                              @J-Hilk
                              I'm using MinGW

                              J Offline
                              J Offline
                              J.Hilk
                              Moderators
                              wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:50 last edited by
                              #13

                              @ali-aydin ok, should rule out msc++ distributable.

                              °but on the pc it does not work

                              what exactly is happening, do you get an error message/prompt or other kind of popup,

                              the the process running, but nothing is shown.
                              What kind of windows is the pc running


                              Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                              Q: What's that?
                              A: It's blue light.
                              Q: What does it do?
                              A: It turns blue.

                              A 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:52
                              1
                              • J J.Hilk
                                16 Aug 2022, 12:50

                                @ali-aydin ok, should rule out msc++ distributable.

                                °but on the pc it does not work

                                what exactly is happening, do you get an error message/prompt or other kind of popup,

                                the the process running, but nothing is shown.
                                What kind of windows is the pc running

                                A Offline
                                A Offline
                                ali-aydin
                                wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:52 last edited by
                                #14

                                @J-Hilk
                                no there is no error or popup
                                Pc running with win 10

                                J 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:54
                                0
                                • A ali-aydin
                                  16 Aug 2022, 12:52

                                  @J-Hilk
                                  no there is no error or popup
                                  Pc running with win 10

                                  J Offline
                                  J Offline
                                  J.Hilk
                                  Moderators
                                  wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:54 last edited by
                                  #15

                                  @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

                                  o there is no error or popup
                                  Pc running with win 10

                                  • same bit system(32/64) ?
                                  • do you have Qt Libraries in your system path, on the laptop
                                  • do you have your qml files in a qt resource file

                                  Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                                  Q: What's that?
                                  A: It's blue light.
                                  Q: What does it do?
                                  A: It turns blue.

                                  A 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:59
                                  1
                                  • J J.Hilk
                                    16 Aug 2022, 12:54

                                    @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

                                    o there is no error or popup
                                    Pc running with win 10

                                    • same bit system(32/64) ?
                                    • do you have Qt Libraries in your system path, on the laptop
                                    • do you have your qml files in a qt resource file
                                    A Offline
                                    A Offline
                                    ali-aydin
                                    wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:59 last edited by
                                    #16

                                    @J-Hilk
                                    I got new problem
                                    when I changing the directory on laptop it is not working anymore
                                    yes all the qml files in one resource file
                                    bit system is x64
                                    Qt Libraries is in the same directory with exe file

                                    J 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 05:21
                                    0
                                    • A ali-aydin
                                      16 Aug 2022, 12:59

                                      @J-Hilk
                                      I got new problem
                                      when I changing the directory on laptop it is not working anymore
                                      yes all the qml files in one resource file
                                      bit system is x64
                                      Qt Libraries is in the same directory with exe file

                                      J Offline
                                      J Offline
                                      J.Hilk
                                      Moderators
                                      wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 05:21 last edited by
                                      #17

                                      @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

                                      when I changing the directory on laptop it is not working anymore

                                      I find that very hard to believe, if you copy the exe and all files and folders that windeployqt deployed then it should work anywhere on your pc.

                                      Does your program do anything path specific, do you read a file that is required or something along that line


                                      Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                                      Q: What's that?
                                      A: It's blue light.
                                      Q: What does it do?
                                      A: It turns blue.

                                      A 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 06:10
                                      0
                                      • J J.Hilk
                                        17 Aug 2022, 05:21

                                        @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

                                        when I changing the directory on laptop it is not working anymore

                                        I find that very hard to believe, if you copy the exe and all files and folders that windeployqt deployed then it should work anywhere on your pc.

                                        Does your program do anything path specific, do you read a file that is required or something along that line

                                        A Offline
                                        A Offline
                                        ali-aydin
                                        wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 06:10 last edited by
                                        #18

                                        @J-Hilk
                                        I'm coping entire folder to other directory
                                        and then it's not working

                                        J 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 06:39
                                        0
                                        • A ali-aydin
                                          17 Aug 2022, 06:10

                                          @J-Hilk
                                          I'm coping entire folder to other directory
                                          and then it's not working

                                          J Offline
                                          J Offline
                                          J.Hilk
                                          Moderators
                                          wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 06:39 last edited by
                                          #19

                                          @ali-aydin very strange
                                          can you post a screenshot of that folder ?

                                          and are you sure your app/code doesn't require files to read or something similar on start up?
                                          any error messages?


                                          Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                                          Q: What's that?
                                          A: It's blue light.
                                          Q: What does it do?
                                          A: It turns blue.

                                          A 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 09:35
                                          1
                                          • J J.Hilk
                                            17 Aug 2022, 06:39

                                            @ali-aydin very strange
                                            can you post a screenshot of that folder ?

                                            and are you sure your app/code doesn't require files to read or something similar on start up?
                                            any error messages?

                                            A Offline
                                            A Offline
                                            ali-aydin
                                            wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 09:35 last edited by
                                            #20

                                            @J-Hilk
                                            yes sure, I can send you my test code too.

                                            Untitled12.png

                                            J 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 09:39
                                            0

                                            5/26

                                            16 Aug 2022, 10:39

                                            topic:navigator.unread, 21
                                            • Login

                                            • Login or register to search.
                                            5 out of 26
                                            • First post
                                              5/26
                                              Last post
                                            0
                                            • Categories
                                            • Recent
                                            • Tags
                                            • Popular
                                            • Users
                                            • Groups
                                            • Search
                                            • Get Qt Extensions
                                            • Unsolved