Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Get Qt Extensions
  • Unsolved
Collapse
Brand Logo
  1. Home
  2. Qt Development
  3. QML and Qt Quick
  4. how to run exe file

how to run exe file

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Solved QML and Qt Quick
26 Posts 3 Posters 3.1k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • A ali-aydin
    16 Aug 2022, 10:04

    I released my project now I want to run it in another system
    by double click it does nothing .why?
    I put the essential dll files in same directory

    J Online
    J Online
    J.Hilk
    Moderators
    wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 10:33 last edited by
    #4

    @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

    I released my project now I want to run it in another system
    by double click it does nothing .why?
    I put the essential dll files in same directory

    what exactly did you do?


    Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


    Q: What's that?
    A: It's blue light.
    Q: What does it do?
    A: It turns blue.

    A 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 10:39
    0
    • J J.Hilk
      16 Aug 2022, 10:33

      @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

      I released my project now I want to run it in another system
      by double click it does nothing .why?
      I put the essential dll files in same directory

      what exactly did you do?

      A Offline
      A Offline
      ali-aydin
      wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 10:39 last edited by
      #5

      @J-Hilk
      I released my QtQuick based project and movrd executable file to other system
      but it does nothing

      J 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 10:46
      0
      • A ali-aydin
        16 Aug 2022, 10:39

        @J-Hilk
        I released my QtQuick based project and movrd executable file to other system
        but it does nothing

        J Online
        J Online
        J.Hilk
        Moderators
        wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 10:46 last edited by J.Hilk
        #6

        @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

        @J-Hilk
        I released my QtQuick based project and movrd executable file to other system
        but it does nothing

        thats like saying I ate breakfast and went to work. Doesn't tell us anything on how you got that food poisoning.

        So, lets pull some teeth:
        I assume this is on windows(?), did you use the windeployqt tool ?


        Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


        Q: What's that?
        A: It's blue light.
        Q: What does it do?
        A: It turns blue.

        A 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 10:58
        3
        • J J.Hilk
          16 Aug 2022, 10:46

          @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

          @J-Hilk
          I released my QtQuick based project and movrd executable file to other system
          but it does nothing

          thats like saying I ate breakfast and went to work. Doesn't tell us anything on how you got that food poisoning.

          So, lets pull some teeth:
          I assume this is on windows(?), did you use the windeployqt tool ?

          A Offline
          A Offline
          ali-aydin
          wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 10:58 last edited by
          #7

          @J-Hilk
          Yes, OS is win 10
          no I did not use windeployqt I used only QtCreator
          I tested this by QtWidget is ok but QtQuick has some problems

          J 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 11:11
          0
          • A ali-aydin
            16 Aug 2022, 10:58

            @J-Hilk
            Yes, OS is win 10
            no I did not use windeployqt I used only QtCreator
            I tested this by QtWidget is ok but QtQuick has some problems

            J Online
            J Online
            J.Hilk
            Moderators
            wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 11:11 last edited by
            #8

            @ali-aydin ok, you should use it. it is, like the name suggested for deploying your executable.

            https://doc.qt.io/qt-6/windows-deployment.html

            General steps on how to use it:

            • Open command line prompt
            • execute the qtenv2.bat inside the bin folder of the Qt kit, you used to compile your application
            • in the same folder you will also now find the windeployqt.exe
            • so execute that program, give it the fill path to your own binary, and since its a qml application, also give the --qmldir option the full path to the folder containing your main.qml (the actual source file)

            90% of the time, if done properly, this should be everything you need to do


            Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


            Q: What's that?
            A: It's blue light.
            Q: What does it do?
            A: It turns blue.

            A J 3 Replies Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 11:20
            2
            • J J.Hilk
              16 Aug 2022, 11:11

              @ali-aydin ok, you should use it. it is, like the name suggested for deploying your executable.

              https://doc.qt.io/qt-6/windows-deployment.html

              General steps on how to use it:

              • Open command line prompt
              • execute the qtenv2.bat inside the bin folder of the Qt kit, you used to compile your application
              • in the same folder you will also now find the windeployqt.exe
              • so execute that program, give it the fill path to your own binary, and since its a qml application, also give the --qmldir option the full path to the folder containing your main.qml (the actual source file)

              90% of the time, if done properly, this should be everything you need to do

              A Offline
              A Offline
              ali-aydin
              wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 11:20 last edited by
              #9

              @J-Hilk
              Thank you so much I will test it

              1 Reply Last reply
              0
              • J J.Hilk
                16 Aug 2022, 11:11

                @ali-aydin ok, you should use it. it is, like the name suggested for deploying your executable.

                https://doc.qt.io/qt-6/windows-deployment.html

                General steps on how to use it:

                • Open command line prompt
                • execute the qtenv2.bat inside the bin folder of the Qt kit, you used to compile your application
                • in the same folder you will also now find the windeployqt.exe
                • so execute that program, give it the fill path to your own binary, and since its a qml application, also give the --qmldir option the full path to the folder containing your main.qml (the actual source file)

                90% of the time, if done properly, this should be everything you need to do

                A Offline
                A Offline
                ali-aydin
                wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:38 last edited by
                #10

                @J-Hilk
                I used windeployqt it worked for me on my laptop
                but on the pc it does not work

                J 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:39
                0
                • A ali-aydin
                  16 Aug 2022, 12:38

                  @J-Hilk
                  I used windeployqt it worked for me on my laptop
                  but on the pc it does not work

                  J Online
                  J Online
                  J.Hilk
                  Moderators
                  wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:39 last edited by
                  #11

                  @ali-aydin alright, alright alright,

                  one step forwards

                  do you use MSVC or MinGW as compiler/QtVersion


                  Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                  Q: What's that?
                  A: It's blue light.
                  Q: What does it do?
                  A: It turns blue.

                  A 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:48
                  0
                  • J J.Hilk
                    16 Aug 2022, 12:39

                    @ali-aydin alright, alright alright,

                    one step forwards

                    do you use MSVC or MinGW as compiler/QtVersion

                    A Offline
                    A Offline
                    ali-aydin
                    wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:48 last edited by
                    #12

                    @J-Hilk
                    I'm using MinGW

                    J 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:50
                    0
                    • A ali-aydin
                      16 Aug 2022, 12:48

                      @J-Hilk
                      I'm using MinGW

                      J Online
                      J Online
                      J.Hilk
                      Moderators
                      wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:50 last edited by
                      #13

                      @ali-aydin ok, should rule out msc++ distributable.

                      °but on the pc it does not work

                      what exactly is happening, do you get an error message/prompt or other kind of popup,

                      the the process running, but nothing is shown.
                      What kind of windows is the pc running


                      Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                      Q: What's that?
                      A: It's blue light.
                      Q: What does it do?
                      A: It turns blue.

                      A 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:52
                      1
                      • J J.Hilk
                        16 Aug 2022, 12:50

                        @ali-aydin ok, should rule out msc++ distributable.

                        °but on the pc it does not work

                        what exactly is happening, do you get an error message/prompt or other kind of popup,

                        the the process running, but nothing is shown.
                        What kind of windows is the pc running

                        A Offline
                        A Offline
                        ali-aydin
                        wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:52 last edited by
                        #14

                        @J-Hilk
                        no there is no error or popup
                        Pc running with win 10

                        J 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:54
                        0
                        • A ali-aydin
                          16 Aug 2022, 12:52

                          @J-Hilk
                          no there is no error or popup
                          Pc running with win 10

                          J Online
                          J Online
                          J.Hilk
                          Moderators
                          wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:54 last edited by
                          #15

                          @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

                          o there is no error or popup
                          Pc running with win 10

                          • same bit system(32/64) ?
                          • do you have Qt Libraries in your system path, on the laptop
                          • do you have your qml files in a qt resource file

                          Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                          Q: What's that?
                          A: It's blue light.
                          Q: What does it do?
                          A: It turns blue.

                          A 1 Reply Last reply 16 Aug 2022, 12:59
                          1
                          • J J.Hilk
                            16 Aug 2022, 12:54

                            @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

                            o there is no error or popup
                            Pc running with win 10

                            • same bit system(32/64) ?
                            • do you have Qt Libraries in your system path, on the laptop
                            • do you have your qml files in a qt resource file
                            A Offline
                            A Offline
                            ali-aydin
                            wrote on 16 Aug 2022, 12:59 last edited by
                            #16

                            @J-Hilk
                            I got new problem
                            when I changing the directory on laptop it is not working anymore
                            yes all the qml files in one resource file
                            bit system is x64
                            Qt Libraries is in the same directory with exe file

                            J 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 05:21
                            0
                            • A ali-aydin
                              16 Aug 2022, 12:59

                              @J-Hilk
                              I got new problem
                              when I changing the directory on laptop it is not working anymore
                              yes all the qml files in one resource file
                              bit system is x64
                              Qt Libraries is in the same directory with exe file

                              J Online
                              J Online
                              J.Hilk
                              Moderators
                              wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 05:21 last edited by
                              #17

                              @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

                              when I changing the directory on laptop it is not working anymore

                              I find that very hard to believe, if you copy the exe and all files and folders that windeployqt deployed then it should work anywhere on your pc.

                              Does your program do anything path specific, do you read a file that is required or something along that line


                              Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                              Q: What's that?
                              A: It's blue light.
                              Q: What does it do?
                              A: It turns blue.

                              A 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 06:10
                              0
                              • J J.Hilk
                                17 Aug 2022, 05:21

                                @ali-aydin said in how to run exe file:

                                when I changing the directory on laptop it is not working anymore

                                I find that very hard to believe, if you copy the exe and all files and folders that windeployqt deployed then it should work anywhere on your pc.

                                Does your program do anything path specific, do you read a file that is required or something along that line

                                A Offline
                                A Offline
                                ali-aydin
                                wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 06:10 last edited by
                                #18

                                @J-Hilk
                                I'm coping entire folder to other directory
                                and then it's not working

                                J 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 06:39
                                0
                                • A ali-aydin
                                  17 Aug 2022, 06:10

                                  @J-Hilk
                                  I'm coping entire folder to other directory
                                  and then it's not working

                                  J Online
                                  J Online
                                  J.Hilk
                                  Moderators
                                  wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 06:39 last edited by
                                  #19

                                  @ali-aydin very strange
                                  can you post a screenshot of that folder ?

                                  and are you sure your app/code doesn't require files to read or something similar on start up?
                                  any error messages?


                                  Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                                  Q: What's that?
                                  A: It's blue light.
                                  Q: What does it do?
                                  A: It turns blue.

                                  A 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 09:35
                                  1
                                  • J J.Hilk
                                    17 Aug 2022, 06:39

                                    @ali-aydin very strange
                                    can you post a screenshot of that folder ?

                                    and are you sure your app/code doesn't require files to read or something similar on start up?
                                    any error messages?

                                    A Offline
                                    A Offline
                                    ali-aydin
                                    wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 09:35 last edited by
                                    #20

                                    @J-Hilk
                                    yes sure, I can send you my test code too.

                                    Untitled12.png

                                    J 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 09:39
                                    0
                                    • A ali-aydin
                                      17 Aug 2022, 09:35

                                      @J-Hilk
                                      yes sure, I can send you my test code too.

                                      Untitled12.png

                                      J Online
                                      J Online
                                      J.Hilk
                                      Moderators
                                      wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 09:39 last edited by
                                      #21

                                      @ali-aydin ok, the deployment folder seems to be missing tons of qml related plugins.

                                      What was the actual call to windeployqt ?


                                      Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                                      Q: What's that?
                                      A: It's blue light.
                                      Q: What does it do?
                                      A: It turns blue.

                                      A 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 09:56
                                      1
                                      • J J.Hilk
                                        17 Aug 2022, 09:39

                                        @ali-aydin ok, the deployment folder seems to be missing tons of qml related plugins.

                                        What was the actual call to windeployqt ?

                                        A Offline
                                        A Offline
                                        ali-aydin
                                        wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 09:56 last edited by
                                        #22

                                        @J-Hilk
                                        if your mean is command
                                        command : windeployqt MarketTest.exe
                                        just this

                                        1 Reply Last reply
                                        0
                                        • J J.Hilk
                                          16 Aug 2022, 11:11

                                          @ali-aydin ok, you should use it. it is, like the name suggested for deploying your executable.

                                          https://doc.qt.io/qt-6/windows-deployment.html

                                          General steps on how to use it:

                                          • Open command line prompt
                                          • execute the qtenv2.bat inside the bin folder of the Qt kit, you used to compile your application
                                          • in the same folder you will also now find the windeployqt.exe
                                          • so execute that program, give it the fill path to your own binary, and since its a qml application, also give the --qmldir option the full path to the folder containing your main.qml (the actual source file)

                                          90% of the time, if done properly, this should be everything you need to do

                                          J Online
                                          J Online
                                          J.Hilk
                                          Moderators
                                          wrote on 17 Aug 2022, 10:03 last edited by
                                          #23

                                          @ali-aydin and where in that command is the requested --qmldir option ? 😉

                                          @J-Hilk said in how to run exe file:

                                          • so execute that program, give it the full path to your own binary, and since its a qml application, also give the --qmldir option the full path to the folder containing your main.qml (the actual source file)

                                          Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                                          Q: What's that?
                                          A: It's blue light.
                                          Q: What does it do?
                                          A: It turns blue.

                                          A 1 Reply Last reply 17 Aug 2022, 10:10
                                          2

                                          13/26

                                          16 Aug 2022, 12:50

                                          • Login

                                          • Login or register to search.
                                          13 out of 26
                                          • First post
                                            13/26
                                            Last post
                                          0
                                          • Categories
                                          • Recent
                                          • Tags
                                          • Popular
                                          • Users
                                          • Groups
                                          • Search
                                          • Get Qt Extensions
                                          • Unsolved