Kick start suggestions for Development of editor tool like MS Visio

• Hello friends, I am new to QT development, my task is to develop an editor just like Microsoft Visio where I can create diagrams like circle, ellipse and rectangular shapes. Also i need to connect these shapes using a line which I can call them relation between shapes. Apart from that I also want to drag and drop shapes inside another shape and let say when I drag a circle inside a rectangular shape, the circle should be locked inside the rectangular shape as circle become the child of rectangular shape and I should not be able to move circle out of rectangle, while allowing rectangle to resize. This application should work with touch, like I want to enable pinching and rotating of shapes being drawn on editor. I am developing this for Desktop Linux computer which also has a nice touch screen. I want you guys to share your experience and some kick of open source project with same functionalities mentioned above. Thanks in advance

• Qt Champions 2017

hi and welcome
    could be a starting point?
    or Kivio from kde project.

• @mrjj thanks, I will check this project, Also I forgot to mention I have to develop this specifically in QT widget as half of the work has been done by another guy, so I have carry on until project completion, I will post more details about the project as I will go through the previour work done. But all in all I have to develop a complete editor which support security models specification in the form of GUI and later I will have to export the structure of diagram being created in the form of XML file.

• Qt Champions 2017

also check out Kivio as its a visio clone or very alike.
    Also written in Qt.

with a project of such size,
    the internal data structures are the most important.
    The actual gui and such is the easy part.

Good luck!

• @mrjj said:

Can you please give link to Kivio source code qt project. Thanks

• Qt Champions 2017

@Emysa341 said: