Automotive Instrument Cluster

• Season's Greetings to everyone

I've just got introduced to Qt, yesterday actually. And the possibilities are endless if I can say so.
    As a fast learner I'm already starting to find my way around the basics knowledges to be able to
    build my first embedded prototype . An automotive Instrument cluster for my Mercedes Benz W124 CE 230

But please keep in mind I'm a Newb so please bare patience with me :), all would need is a guide line.
    With all those tiny computer boards out there e.g Raspberry, Udoo etc... I work on Mac but what choice of the
    interface Os should be the most effective.

Now I have swapped my Mercedes Benz W124 AT injection system to full EFI, so much more readings from the engin are available.
    So appart from the lcd screen, what do I really need
    a general IO converter board with digital and Analog inputs
    on of those tiny computers running Android Linux or Windows

I'm kind of familiar with photoshop so was guessing that I could use some png's for the frame by exemple.

P.S.: I am French so please excuse my English.

I will be updating this thread continually so you can see The evolution of the project.

Thank you in advance.....

• Qt Champions 2016

Hi and welcome
    Sounds like a cool project for a cool car :)

Have you any experience in cross compiling for ARM ?
    I am asking this as that can also be a factor in which board to get.
    The UDOO X86 ( soon coming) will run
    Windows 10, 8.1, 7
    Any Linux Distribution for X86 platform
    but cost more than a PI board.

If cross compiling is no issue then Pi3 seems super nice.

• Thank you for interacting.
    No cross compiling experience as yet, still learning.
    So you mean I will need board running Linux.
    Then what platform would be less of a trouble?

I have already found my lcd and I'm currently drawing some frames on photoshop

• Qt Champions 2016