[SOLVED] Installation issues may have caused problems with kits

• Hello, I've just stepped on QML, and need to make a hello world and some practices via QT Creator. Yesterday I downloaded the "QT Online Installer for Windows (14Mb)":http://download.qt-project.org/official_releases/online_installers/qt-opensource-windows-x86-1.6.0-5-online.exe, and when finishing installation I had to "Ignore" some errors in order the installation to be finished. Unfortunatelly I didn't write them down.

When I open the program and start a new project everything looks normal and working, but when I try to run a hello world example, I got this message: QT Creator needs a compiler set up to build. Configure compiler in the kit options.

When I go there, I can see some errors (screenshot attached), problems with Auto-detected kits. I guess the installation issues are related to these errors.

I'm totally new to QT, compilers, etc, and I'm really lost. I guess I should reinstall the kits, but I would appreciate a little help to find the way.

Thank you all!

!http://imageshack.com/a/img537/1447/OYnOKW.png(QT KIT PROBLEMS)!

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Hi and welcome to devnet,

Silly question but since you installed the VS2010 version, did you first install Visual Studio 2010 ?

Also note that you are using an outdated version of Qt, currently 5.4 is in beta stage

• Ouch. I just downloaded what I thought was the last version, through the site: http://qt-project.org/downloads

I haven't Visual Studio 2010.

What should I download to start practicing with QT Creator the easy way?

Thank you very much for your help

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Then remove all of that and use the MinGW version, it has all what you need to get started.

Current Qt version is 5.3.2

• Thank you very much for your invaluable help. I'm downloading: