Passing another variable to a SLOT in QObject::connect

• Suppose there are two widgets, a QPushButton and a QLabel
    How can I write the connecting code, so that when the button is pressed down, a specific string is displayed in the Label?
    @QObject::connect(....,SIGNAL(pressed(),......,SLOT(setText("My String"))); @
    shows an error...
    If I put:
    @QObject::connect(....,SIGNAL(pressed(),......,SLOT(setText(QString)));@
    where would the value for the string come from?
    ...I am just starting to learn using Qt...

• Both statements are invalid.

In short:

• connect() wants only the SIGNATURE of the signal/slot (without the return type), not the argument names, nor anything else;
    • a slot cannot have more arguments than the ones carried by the signal you're connecting to it (where should they come from?);
    • passing values inside connect() is an error, although it's pretty clear what you'd like to do;
    • simply use a "proxy" slot that calls the target slot with the arguments, or read the docs about QSignalMapper.

• bq. simply use a “proxy” slot that calls the target slot with the arguments....

How do I do that?

• @
    //...
    connect(button, SIGNAL(pressed)), SLOT(handleButtonPress()));
    //...

void MyClass::handleButtonPress()
    {
    someLabel->setText("My String");
    }@

• In your (very simple) case, if it's applicable, you can just provide a default argument for the slot. Otherwise, simply create another slot that calls the setText one with the string you want.

• [quote author="peppe" date="1297240228"]In your (very simple) case, if it's applicable, you can just provide a default argument for the slot. Otherwise, simply create another slot that calls the setText one with the string you want.[/quote]Indeed. With a slot called setText(), providing a default argument can be misleading:

@myLabel->setText();@

What does that do?

Oh well. It's a style issue.