Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Get Qt Extensions
  • Unsolved
Collapse
Brand Logo
  1. Home
  2. Qt Development
  3. General and Desktop
  4. Unable to run QT Camera Example on Qt 5.9.1
QtWS25 Last Chance

Unable to run QT Camera Example on Qt 5.9.1

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Unsolved General and Desktop
17 Posts 4 Posters 2.6k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • H Offline
    H Offline
    hrithik singh
    wrote on 19 Dec 2018, 06:42 last edited by
    #1

    I am trying to run the camera example provided by Qt and it keeps throwing an error in debug mode " write access violation" (ref. screen shot).0_1545201691350_image.png

    J 1 Reply Last reply 19 Dec 2018, 07:37
    0
    • H hrithik singh
      19 Dec 2018, 06:42

      I am trying to run the camera example provided by Qt and it keeps throwing an error in debug mode " write access violation" (ref. screen shot).0_1545201691350_image.png

      J Offline
      J Offline
      jsulm
      Lifetime Qt Champion
      wrote on 19 Dec 2018, 07:37 last edited by
      #2

      @hrithik-singh You should build it in debug mode, then you should see more than assembly when it crashes...

      https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct

      J 1 Reply Last reply 19 Dec 2018, 07:43
      0
      • J jsulm
        19 Dec 2018, 07:37

        @hrithik-singh You should build it in debug mode, then you should see more than assembly when it crashes...

        J Offline
        J Offline
        J.Hilk
        Moderators
        wrote on 19 Dec 2018, 07:43 last edited by
        #3

        @jsulm I think this is the debugger already, see the play icon on the left side.

        @hrithik-singh click on the level 6 entry I believe thats the camera.cpp class that's called there, should give more info, where the error originates from.


        Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


        Q: What's that?
        A: It's blue light.
        Q: What does it do?
        A: It turns blue.

        J H 2 Replies Last reply 19 Dec 2018, 08:21
        0
        • J J.Hilk
          19 Dec 2018, 07:43

          @jsulm I think this is the debugger already, see the play icon on the left side.

          @hrithik-singh click on the level 6 entry I believe thats the camera.cpp class that's called there, should give more info, where the error originates from.

          J Offline
          J Offline
          jsulm
          Lifetime Qt Champion
          wrote on 19 Dec 2018, 08:21 last edited by
          #4

          @J.Hilk Yes, but the build is a release build

          https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct

          H 1 Reply Last reply 19 Dec 2018, 09:56
          1
          • J jsulm
            19 Dec 2018, 08:21

            @J.Hilk Yes, but the build is a release build

            H Offline
            H Offline
            hrithik singh
            wrote on 19 Dec 2018, 09:56 last edited by
            #5

            @jsulm yes i changed it to release build still shows me the 0_1545213380417_46f3ae6b-9c08-4bdc-ac38-08e8567caf32-image.png same

            J 1 Reply Last reply 19 Dec 2018, 09:58
            0
            • H hrithik singh
              19 Dec 2018, 09:56

              @jsulm yes i changed it to release build still shows me the 0_1545213380417_46f3ae6b-9c08-4bdc-ac38-08e8567caf32-image.png same

              J Offline
              J Offline
              jsulm
              Lifetime Qt Champion
              wrote on 19 Dec 2018, 09:58 last edited by
              #6

              @hrithik-singh Can you show the whole method body above line 182?

              https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct

              H 1 Reply Last reply 19 Dec 2018, 10:47
              0
              • J J.Hilk
                19 Dec 2018, 07:43

                @jsulm I think this is the debugger already, see the play icon on the left side.

                @hrithik-singh click on the level 6 entry I believe thats the camera.cpp class that's called there, should give more info, where the error originates from.

                H Offline
                H Offline
                hrithik singh
                wrote on 19 Dec 2018, 10:16 last edited by
                #7

                @J.Hilk when i click on level 6 it takes me to this loadCamerq session part of ca0_1545213661002_e8644048-ca4e-4808-8038-4bbbb66080ca-image.png mera.cpp

                J 1 Reply Last reply 19 Dec 2018, 10:24
                0
                • H hrithik singh
                  19 Dec 2018, 10:16

                  @J.Hilk when i click on level 6 it takes me to this loadCamerq session part of ca0_1545213661002_e8644048-ca4e-4808-8038-4bbbb66080ca-image.png mera.cpp

                  J Offline
                  J Offline
                  J.Hilk
                  Moderators
                  wrote on 19 Dec 2018, 10:24 last edited by
                  #8

                  @hrithik-singh
                  thats a different log file now. Now its level 7 qcamera.cpp, but thats still to deep, thats part of the Qt-lib. You need to go further back, untill the file name fits one of those in the project.


                  Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                  Q: What's that?
                  A: It's blue light.
                  Q: What does it do?
                  A: It turns blue.

                  H 1 Reply Last reply 19 Dec 2018, 11:15
                  0
                  • J jsulm
                    19 Dec 2018, 09:58

                    @hrithik-singh Can you show the whole method body above line 182?

                    H Offline
                    H Offline
                    hrithik singh
                    wrote on 19 Dec 2018, 10:47 last edited by
                    #9

                    @jsulm this is the method i have just removed all the qinfo lines that I added. then rerun the build; got the same error.
                    void Camera::setCamera(const QCameraInfo &cameraInfo)
                    {
                    delete imageCapture;
                    delete mediaRecorder;
                    delete camera;
                    camera = new QCamera(cameraInfo);
                    connect(camera, SIGNAL(stateChanged(QCamera::State)), this, SLOT(updateCameraState(QCamera::State)));
                    connect(camera, SIGNAL(error(QCamera::Error)), this, SLOT(displayCameraError()));
                    mediaRecorder = new QMediaRecorder(camera);
                    connect(mediaRecorder, SIGNAL(stateChanged(QMediaRecorder::State)), this, SLOT(updateRecorderState(QMediaRecorder::State)));
                    imageCapture = new QCameraImageCapture(camera);
                    connect(mediaRecorder, SIGNAL(durationChanged(qint64)), this, SLOT(updateRecordTime()));
                    connect(mediaRecorder, SIGNAL(error(QMediaRecorder::Error)), this, SLOT(displayRecorderError()));
                    mediaRecorder->setMetaData(QMediaMetaData::Title, QVariant(QLatin1String("Test Title")));
                    connect(ui->exposureCompensation, SIGNAL(valueChanged(int)), SLOT(setExposureCompensation(int)));
                    camera->setViewfinder(ui->viewfinder);
                    updateCameraState(camera->state());
                    updateLockStatus(camera->lockStatus(), QCamera::UserRequest);
                    updateRecorderState(mediaRecorder->state());
                    connect(imageCapture, SIGNAL(readyForCaptureChanged(bool)), this, SLOT(readyForCapture(bool)));
                    connect(imageCapture, SIGNAL(imageCaptured(int,QImage)), this, SLOT(processCapturedImage(int,QImage)));
                    connect(imageCapture, SIGNAL(imageSaved(int,QString)), this, SLOT(imageSaved(int,QString)));
                    connect(imageCapture, SIGNAL(error(int,QCameraImageCapture::Error,QString)), this,
                    SLOT(displayCaptureError(int,QCameraImageCapture::Error,QString)));
                    connect(camera, SIGNAL(lockStatusChanged(QCamera::LockStatus,QCamera::LockChangeReason)),
                    this, SLOT(updateLockStatus(QCamera::LockStatus,QCamera::LockChangeReason)));
                    ui->captureWidget->setTabEnabled(0, (camera->isCaptureModeSupported(QCamera::CaptureStillImage)));
                    ui->captureWidget->setTabEnabled(1, (camera->isCaptureModeSupported(QCamera::CaptureVideo)));
                    updateCaptureMode();
                    camera->start();
                    }

                    1 Reply Last reply
                    0
                    • J J.Hilk
                      19 Dec 2018, 10:24

                      @hrithik-singh
                      thats a different log file now. Now its level 7 qcamera.cpp, but thats still to deep, thats part of the Qt-lib. You need to go further back, untill the file name fits one of those in the project.

                      H Offline
                      H Offline
                      hrithik singh
                      wrote on 19 Dec 2018, 11:15 last edited by
                      #10

                      @J-Hilk when i traverse down it goes to camera.cpp and camera-start for I posted the complete method above

                      1 Reply Last reply
                      0
                      • mranger90M Offline
                        mranger90M Offline
                        mranger90
                        wrote on 19 Dec 2018, 13:05 last edited by
                        #11

                        @hrithik-singh said in Unable to run QT Camera Example on Qt 5.9.1:

                        imageCapture

                        Looking at the code above the one thing I'd try is make sure that camerInfo.isNull() is not true. Or you can try to construct the camera with QCameraInfo::defaultCamera().
                        Hard to say because we dont know where cameraInfo comes from.
                        If that camera pointer is not valid, then all bets are off and its certain that a crash will happen further in the code.

                        H 1 Reply Last reply 21 Dec 2018, 11:32
                        0
                        • mranger90M mranger90
                          19 Dec 2018, 13:05

                          @hrithik-singh said in Unable to run QT Camera Example on Qt 5.9.1:

                          imageCapture

                          Looking at the code above the one thing I'd try is make sure that camerInfo.isNull() is not true. Or you can try to construct the camera with QCameraInfo::defaultCamera().
                          Hard to say because we dont know where cameraInfo comes from.
                          If that camera pointer is not valid, then all bets are off and its certain that a crash will happen further in the code.

                          H Offline
                          H Offline
                          hrithik singh
                          wrote on 21 Dec 2018, 11:32 last edited by
                          #12

                          @mranger90
                          we are using this hybrid machine
                          Below is the spec

                          http://www.wortmann.asia/data/album/file/1530168638752052316.pdf

                          camera settings:

                          Hi

                          Video Capture Devices
                          Number of Devices: 2

                                 FriendlyName: User Facing Right
                                     Category: Camera
                                 SymbolicLink: \\?\display#int3470#4&5dbfe47&0&uid13424#{e5323777-f976-4f5b-9b55-b94699c46e44}\{089f8e59-ffe6-4494-97e5-92273c08f2f1}
                                     Location: Front
                                     Rotation: 0
                                 Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
                                   HardwareID: VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&REV_02&INT3470,VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&INT3470,VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&INT3470,VIDEO\INT3470
                                   DriverDesc: Intel(R) AVStream Camera 2500
                               DriverProvider: Intel
                                DriverVersion: 30.14393.9656.3064
                            DriverDateEnglish: 9/23/2016 00:00:00
                          DriverDateLocalized: 23/09/2016 00:00:00
                                      Service: iacamera64
                                        Class: MEDIA
                                DevNodeStatus: 180200A[DN_DRIVER_LOADED|DN_STARTED|DN_DISABLEABLE|DN_NT_ENUMERATOR|DN_NT_DRIVER]
                                  ContainerId: {00000000-0000-0000-FFFF-FFFFFFFFFFFF}
                                  ProblemCode: No Problem
                          

                          BusReportedDeviceDesc: ISP Camera Device
                          Parent: PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&REV_02\3&11583659&1&10
                          DriverProblemDesc: n/a
                          UpperFilters: n/a
                          LowerFilters: n/a
                          Stack: \Driver\ksthunk,\Driver\iacamera64,\Driver\igfx
                          ContainerCategory: n/a
                          SensorGroupID: n/a
                          MFT0: {5CDB3151-134C-4622-8E44-FAA9158D2F4C}
                          DMFT: n/a
                          DependentStillCapture: n/a
                          EnablePlatformDMFT: n/a
                          DMFTChain: n/a
                          EnableDshowRedirection: n/a
                          FrameServerEnabled: False

                                 FriendlyName: World Facing Right
                                     Category: Camera
                                 SymbolicLink: \\?\display#int3470#4&5dbfe47&0&uid13424#{e5323777-f976-4f5b-9b55-b94699c46e44}\{ce46c6bb-90df-4932-8ec1-add1804961a1}
                                     Location: Back
                                     Rotation: 0
                                 Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
                                   HardwareID: VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&REV_02&INT3470,VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&INT3470,VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&INT3470,VIDEO\INT3470
                                   DriverDesc: Intel(R) AVStream Camera 2500
                               DriverProvider: Intel
                                DriverVersion: 30.14393.9656.3064
                            DriverDateEnglish: 9/23/2016 00:00:00
                          DriverDateLocalized: 23/09/2016 00:00:00
                                      Service: iacamera64
                                        Class: MEDIA
                                DevNodeStatus: 180200A[DN_DRIVER_LOADED|DN_STARTED|DN_DISABLEABLE|DN_NT_ENUMERATOR|DN_NT_DRIVER]
                                  ContainerId: {00000000-0000-0000-FFFF-FFFFFFFFFFFF}
                                  ProblemCode: No Problem
                          

                          BusReportedDeviceDesc: ISP Camera Device
                          Parent: PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&REV_02\3&11583659&1&10
                          DriverProblemDesc: n/a
                          UpperFilters: n/a
                          LowerFilters: n/a
                          Stack: \Driver\ksthunk,\Driver\iacamera64,\Driver\igfx
                          ContainerCategory: n/a
                          SensorGroupID: n/a
                          MFT0: {5CDB3151-134C-4622-8E44-FAA9158D2F4C}
                          DMFT: n/a
                          DependentStillCapture: n/a
                          EnablePlatformDMFT: n/a
                          DMFTChain: n/a
                          EnableDshowRedirection: n/a
                          FrameServerEnabled: False

                          J 1 Reply Last reply 21 Dec 2018, 12:06
                          0
                          • H hrithik singh
                            21 Dec 2018, 11:32

                            @mranger90
                            we are using this hybrid machine
                            Below is the spec

                            http://www.wortmann.asia/data/album/file/1530168638752052316.pdf

                            camera settings:

                            Hi

                            Video Capture Devices
                            Number of Devices: 2

                                   FriendlyName: User Facing Right
                                       Category: Camera
                                   SymbolicLink: \\?\display#int3470#4&5dbfe47&0&uid13424#{e5323777-f976-4f5b-9b55-b94699c46e44}\{089f8e59-ffe6-4494-97e5-92273c08f2f1}
                                       Location: Front
                                       Rotation: 0
                                   Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
                                     HardwareID: VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&REV_02&INT3470,VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&INT3470,VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&INT3470,VIDEO\INT3470
                                     DriverDesc: Intel(R) AVStream Camera 2500
                                 DriverProvider: Intel
                                  DriverVersion: 30.14393.9656.3064
                              DriverDateEnglish: 9/23/2016 00:00:00
                            DriverDateLocalized: 23/09/2016 00:00:00
                                        Service: iacamera64
                                          Class: MEDIA
                                  DevNodeStatus: 180200A[DN_DRIVER_LOADED|DN_STARTED|DN_DISABLEABLE|DN_NT_ENUMERATOR|DN_NT_DRIVER]
                                    ContainerId: {00000000-0000-0000-FFFF-FFFFFFFFFFFF}
                                    ProblemCode: No Problem
                            

                            BusReportedDeviceDesc: ISP Camera Device
                            Parent: PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&REV_02\3&11583659&1&10
                            DriverProblemDesc: n/a
                            UpperFilters: n/a
                            LowerFilters: n/a
                            Stack: \Driver\ksthunk,\Driver\iacamera64,\Driver\igfx
                            ContainerCategory: n/a
                            SensorGroupID: n/a
                            MFT0: {5CDB3151-134C-4622-8E44-FAA9158D2F4C}
                            DMFT: n/a
                            DependentStillCapture: n/a
                            EnablePlatformDMFT: n/a
                            DMFTChain: n/a
                            EnableDshowRedirection: n/a
                            FrameServerEnabled: False

                                   FriendlyName: World Facing Right
                                       Category: Camera
                                   SymbolicLink: \\?\display#int3470#4&5dbfe47&0&uid13424#{e5323777-f976-4f5b-9b55-b94699c46e44}\{ce46c6bb-90df-4932-8ec1-add1804961a1}
                                       Location: Back
                                       Rotation: 0
                                   Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
                                     HardwareID: VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&REV_02&INT3470,VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&INT3470,VIDEO\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&INT3470,VIDEO\INT3470
                                     DriverDesc: Intel(R) AVStream Camera 2500
                                 DriverProvider: Intel
                                  DriverVersion: 30.14393.9656.3064
                              DriverDateEnglish: 9/23/2016 00:00:00
                            DriverDateLocalized: 23/09/2016 00:00:00
                                        Service: iacamera64
                                          Class: MEDIA
                                  DevNodeStatus: 180200A[DN_DRIVER_LOADED|DN_STARTED|DN_DISABLEABLE|DN_NT_ENUMERATOR|DN_NT_DRIVER]
                                    ContainerId: {00000000-0000-0000-FFFF-FFFFFFFFFFFF}
                                    ProblemCode: No Problem
                            

                            BusReportedDeviceDesc: ISP Camera Device
                            Parent: PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_591E&SUBSYS_224317AA&REV_02\3&11583659&1&10
                            DriverProblemDesc: n/a
                            UpperFilters: n/a
                            LowerFilters: n/a
                            Stack: \Driver\ksthunk,\Driver\iacamera64,\Driver\igfx
                            ContainerCategory: n/a
                            SensorGroupID: n/a
                            MFT0: {5CDB3151-134C-4622-8E44-FAA9158D2F4C}
                            DMFT: n/a
                            DependentStillCapture: n/a
                            EnablePlatformDMFT: n/a
                            DMFTChain: n/a
                            EnableDshowRedirection: n/a
                            FrameServerEnabled: False

                            J Offline
                            J Offline
                            J.Hilk
                            Moderators
                            wrote on 21 Dec 2018, 12:06 last edited by
                            #13

                            @hrithik-singh
                            mmh, simple question first. Does the normal Qt-Camera example work fine for you ?

                            https://doc.qt.io/qt-5.11/qtmultimedia-multimediawidgets-camera-example.html


                            Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                            Q: What's that?
                            A: It's blue light.
                            Q: What does it do?
                            A: It turns blue.

                            mranger90M H 2 Replies Last reply 21 Dec 2018, 12:58
                            0
                            • J J.Hilk
                              21 Dec 2018, 12:06

                              @hrithik-singh
                              mmh, simple question first. Does the normal Qt-Camera example work fine for you ?

                              https://doc.qt.io/qt-5.11/qtmultimedia-multimediawidgets-camera-example.html

                              mranger90M Offline
                              mranger90M Offline
                              mranger90
                              wrote on 21 Dec 2018, 12:58 last edited by
                              #14

                              @J.Hilk I thought the OP was working with the multimediawidget camera example.
                              @hrithik singh What I would do next is put a breakpoint (or debug statements) in the
                              Camera::Camera : ui(new Ui::Camera) method.
                              Take a look at the list of available cameras and see what is being found.
                              You can also look at the description of the QCameraInfo::defaultCamera().

                              J H 2 Replies Last reply 21 Dec 2018, 13:48
                              0
                              • mranger90M mranger90
                                21 Dec 2018, 12:58

                                @J.Hilk I thought the OP was working with the multimediawidget camera example.
                                @hrithik singh What I would do next is put a breakpoint (or debug statements) in the
                                Camera::Camera : ui(new Ui::Camera) method.
                                Take a look at the list of available cameras and see what is being found.
                                You can also look at the description of the QCameraInfo::defaultCamera().

                                J Offline
                                J Offline
                                J.Hilk
                                Moderators
                                wrote on 21 Dec 2018, 13:48 last edited by J.Hilk
                                #15

                                @mranger90
                                Well the Code the op posted is defenitely modified

                                Thats why I suggested the default exmaple, to see if at least that works


                                Be aware of the Qt Code of Conduct, when posting : https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct


                                Q: What's that?
                                A: It's blue light.
                                Q: What does it do?
                                A: It turns blue.

                                1 Reply Last reply
                                1
                                • mranger90M mranger90
                                  21 Dec 2018, 12:58

                                  @J.Hilk I thought the OP was working with the multimediawidget camera example.
                                  @hrithik singh What I would do next is put a breakpoint (or debug statements) in the
                                  Camera::Camera : ui(new Ui::Camera) method.
                                  Take a look at the list of available cameras and see what is being found.
                                  You can also look at the description of the QCameraInfo::defaultCamera().

                                  H Offline
                                  H Offline
                                  hrithik singh
                                  wrote on 24 Dec 2018, 04:55 last edited by
                                  #16

                                  @mranger90
                                  start() method throws access violation, I can get the camera information

                                  1 Reply Last reply
                                  0
                                  • J J.Hilk
                                    21 Dec 2018, 12:06

                                    @hrithik-singh
                                    mmh, simple question first. Does the normal Qt-Camera example work fine for you ?

                                    https://doc.qt.io/qt-5.11/qtmultimedia-multimediawidgets-camera-example.html

                                    H Offline
                                    H Offline
                                    hrithik singh
                                    wrote on 3 Jan 2019, 06:29 last edited by
                                    #17

                                    @J.Hilk nope doesn't work.

                                    1 Reply Last reply
                                    0

                                    • Login

                                    • Login or register to search.
                                    • First post
                                      Last post
                                    0
                                    • Categories
                                    • Recent
                                    • Tags
                                    • Popular
                                    • Users
                                    • Groups
                                    • Search
                                    • Get Qt Extensions
                                    • Unsolved