QByteArray problem

• Hi guys. I am new in QT. I started developing a programm which working with bytes, and when I tried to use a QbyteArray, I've got some problem. There is a line in QByteArray class reference :
    QByteArray ba;
    ba.resize(5);
    ba[0] = 0x3c;
    ba[1] = 0xb8;
    ba[2] = 0x64;
    ba[3] = 0x18;
    ba[4] = 0xca;
    QByteArray must store 1 byte in each cell of it, but when i trying to do the same it gives me a warning:
    QByteArray ba;
    ba.resize(4);
    ba[0] = 0xFF;
    Result of the output ba[0] is symbol "?". It means that it stored not 8 bit but 6, symbol "?" is 63 in ascii table and 00111111 in binary code. Warning is C4309. How can i store all 8 bits in QByteArray ? (P.S. sorry for my awful English)

• Qt Champions 2017

Hi @Zizione:

QByteArray ba;
    ba.resize(4);
    ba[0] = 0xFF;
    Result of the output ba[0] is symbol "?".

How did you output it? Your example works perfectly fine for me, I see 0xFF in the debugger.

It means that it stored not 8 bit but 6, symbol "?" is 63 in ascii table and 00111111 in binary code.

I rather think, your output cannot display the character for 0xFF and prints a '?' instead.

Warning is C4309.

I don't know what the text for this warning is, but I guess it's because QByteArray contains chars and char is signed for most compilers, so it has a range of -128...127. 0xFF is outside this range, hence the warning. You can help yourself with a cast: ba[0] = char(0xFF); or with a literal: ba[0] = '\xFF'

How can i store all 8 bits in QByteArray ?

You already do, it's just a matter of output.

• @aha_1980
    There is my full code , this is just test unit. I need exactly int value in it , and how i understand '\xFF' will store char in it ?

#include <QCoreApplication>
    #include <QByteArray>
    #include <QString>
    #include <QTextStream>
    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
        QTextStream cin(stdin); cin.setCodec("CP866");
        QTextStream cout(stdout); cout.setCodec("CP866");