Issues with qtmake and compilers

• I'm new to QT and I've been trying to build example programs. I get an error "executing qmake". After poking around a bit, I found my kits don't have a compiler. I have visual c++ compiler installed, and mingw. Both are auto-detected. For some reason, my kits won't use them and I can't tell them to. Lots of googling turning up vaguely related results that don't help. I'll post a couple screenshots as well. Pressing "Manage" the kit window just pushes me to the compiler tab. Context

• Qt Champions 2016

Make sure the autodetected compilers do exist where Qt Creator thinks they are. Also gdb doesn't work with msvc as far as I know, you'd need to download and install the MS developer's tools to get cdb. If you're new to Qt I strongly advise to just download MinGW (or install along with Qt through the installer) and just use that. It has much smoother user experience configuration-wise, at least until you get more comfortable with Creator's toolchain's configurations.

• @kshegunov It has the right address for visual and for the mingw. Disabling the gbd debugger has no effect, and I had only enabled it earlier to check if it would have an effect. I'm going to reinstall and try to see if I can get Qt to install a compiler with it like you were saying.

• Qt Champions 2016

@GDBobby said in Issues with qtmake and compilers:

reinstall and try to see if I can get Qt to install a compiler with it like you were saying.

As a notice: there's a mingw compiler shipped with the installer but it's in the tools section. So you'd need to select a Qt mingw distribution from the Qt library group and then explicitly select (as it's not installed by default) the actual compiler from the tools group.

• @kshegunov Reinstalled and I'm running in to the same issue. Any other options?

• Qt Champions 2016

@GDBobby said in Issues with qtmake and compilers:

Any other options?