How to solve MAKEFILE_GENERATOR variable not set as a result of parsing: ... error ?



  • Hi,

    Recently I have installed qt 5.8 android version in windows 10 64 bit pc. After open my projects which was worked fine in qt 5.5, now give this error when compile
    16:23:10: Running steps for project DatabaseTutorial...
    16:23:10: Starting: "G:\IDE\Qt5.8.0\5.8\mingw53_32\bin\qmake.exe" "G:\PROJECTS\Qt Projects\DatabaseTutorial\DatabaseTutorial.pro" -spec win32-g++
    MAKEFILE_GENERATOR variable not set as a result of parsing : DatabaseTutorial.pro. Possibly qmake was not able to find files included using "include(..)" - enable qmake debugging to investigate more.
    16:23:10: The process "G:\IDE\Qt5.8.0\5.8\mingw53_32\bin\qmake.exe" exited with code 3.
    Error while building/deploying project DatabaseTutorial (kit: Desktop Qt 5.8.0 MinGW 32bit)
    The kit Desktop Qt 5.8.0 MinGW 32bit has configuration issues which might be the root cause for this problem.
    When executing step "qmake"

    my .pro file

    #-------------------------------------------------

    Project created by QtCreator 2017-03-07T16:05:57

    #-------------------------------------------------

    QT += core gui

    greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets

    TARGET = DatabaseTutorial
    TEMPLATE = app

    The following define makes your compiler emit warnings if you use

    any feature of Qt which as been marked as deprecated (the exact warnings

    depend on your compiler). Please consult the documentation of the

    deprecated API in order to know how to port your code away from it.

    DEFINES += QT_DEPRECATED_WARNINGS

    You can also make your code fail to compile if you use deprecated APIs.

    In order to do so, uncomment the following line.

    You can also select to disable deprecated APIs only up to a certain version of Qt.

    #DEFINES += QT_DISABLE_DEPRECATED_BEFORE=0x060000 # disables all the APIs deprecated before Qt 6.0.0

    SOURCES += main.cpp
    mainwindow.cpp

    HEADERS += mainwindow.h

    FORMS += mainwindow.ui

    please help me immediately. Thanks.

    16:23:10: Elapsed time: 00:00.


  • Moderators

    @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury "please help me immediately" - this is a forum where volunteers are answering questions, you should not expect to get answers immediately.

    "The kit Desktop Qt 5.8.0 MinGW 32bit has configuration issues which might be the root cause for this problem" - please check the Kit you're using: any errors/warnings?

    Also "Desktop Qt 5.8.0 MinGW" is NOT Qt for Android!



  • Thank you sir. I am have installed qt-opensource-windows-x86-android-5.8.0.exe this version. and I get this error when compile any projects.


  • Moderators

    @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury "G:\IDE\Qt5.8.0\5.8\mingw53_32\bin\qmake.exe" - you are not using Qt for Android as you can clearly see in this line. You're using Qt 5.8 MinGW - it is NOT for Android.
    Did you check the Kit as I suggested?



  • @jsulm I get one error QMainWindow not found in my header file. I am building for windows not for android. but my package was qt-opensource-windows-x86-android-5.8.0.exe. thanks.


  • Moderators

    @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury "kit: Desktop Qt 5.8.0 MinGW 32bit" - is definitely not for Android.
    Did you include QMainWindow header file?

    #include <QMainWindow>
    


  • OK. if Qt 5.8.0 MinGW 32bit not for android. How to build my project for both windows and android ? What version should I download ? But if i install qt 5.5 it works fine. Where is the problem ?


  • Moderators

    @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury The Kit you are using now is for Windows. You should use Qt Online Installer. Then you will have Qt Maintenance Tool which you can use to easily install all needed Qt versions - for example Qt for Android. For Android you need more than just Qt, see http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/androidgs.html

    Regarding your problem: I asked in my previous posts some questions. You still did not answer. So, again:

    1. Check the Kit: are there errors or warnings?
    2. Did you include QMainWindow header file?
    #include <QMainWindow>
    


  • @jsulm Yes sir. I include it into header file. But it show a red circle and say QMainWindow not found.


  • Moderators

    @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury But are you able to build?


  • Moderators

    @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury Also if you changed Qt version you should delete the build directory, run qmake again and then build.



  • @jsulm No. When I hit the build button, I get this
    16:23:10: Running steps for project DatabaseTutorial...
    16:23:10: Starting: "G:\IDE\Qt5.8.0\5.8\mingw53_32\bin\qmake.exe" "G:\PROJECTS\Qt Projects\DatabaseTutorial\DatabaseTutorial.pro" -spec win32-g++
    MAKEFILE_GENERATOR variable not set as a result of parsing : DatabaseTutorial.pro. Possibly qmake was not able to find files included using "include(..)" - enable qmake debugging to investigate more.
    16:23:10: The process "G:\IDE\Qt5.8.0\5.8\mingw53_32\bin\qmake.exe" exited with code 3.
    Error while building/deploying project DatabaseTutorial (kit: Desktop Qt 5.8.0 MinGW 32bit)
    The kit Desktop Qt 5.8.0 MinGW 32bit has configuration issues which might be the root cause for this problem.
    When executing step "qmake"


  • Moderators

    @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury This is not the same as "QMainWindow not found". Something is wrong with your .pro file or Kit (you still not checked it as I suggested). Is it possible to upload your project to somewhere and post link here, so I can download it and check?



  • @jsulm Wait for me sir. I am sending screenshots and details.



  • @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury I can not upload the screenshots in this forum. I am adding whole code for you.

    I have checked kit and I found
    Yellow ! Android for armeabi (GCC 4.9, Qt 5.5.1)
    Android for armeabi (GCC 4.9, Qt 5.5.1)
    Android for armeabi-v7a (GCC 4.9, Qt 5.5.1)
    Android for armeabi-v7a (GCC 4.9, Qt 5.5.1)
    Android for x86 (GCC 4.9, Qt 5.5.1)
    Android for x86 (GCC 4.9, Qt 5.5.1)

    Without Yellow ! Android for armeabi-v7a (GCC 4.9, Qt 5.8.0)
    Android for x86 (GCC 4.9, Qt 5.8.0)
    Desktop Qt %{Qt:Version} MinGW 32bit

    kit version Yellow ! Qt %{Qt:Version} MinGW 32bit



  • @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury
    .pro file
    #-------------------------------------------------

    Project created by QtCreator 2017-03-07T16:05:57

    #-------------------------------------------------

    QT += core gui

    QT += widgets

    greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets

    TARGET = DatabaseTutorial
    TEMPLATE = app

    The following define makes your compiler emit warnings if you use

    any feature of Qt which as been marked as deprecated (the exact warnings

    depend on your compiler). Please consult the documentation of the

    deprecated API in order to know how to port your code away from it.

    DEFINES += QT_DEPRECATED_WARNINGS

    You can also make your code fail to compile if you use deprecated APIs.

    In order to do so, uncomment the following line.

    You can also select to disable deprecated APIs only up to a certain version of Qt.

    #DEFINES += QT_DISABLE_DEPRECATED_BEFORE=0x060000 # disables all the APIs deprecated before Qt 6.0.0

    SOURCES += main.cpp
    mainwindow.cpp

    HEADERS += mainwindow.h

    FORMS += mainwindow.ui

    header file

    #ifndef MAINWINDOW_H
    #define MAINWINDOW_H

    #include <QMainWindow>

    namespace Ui {
    class MainWindow;
    }

    class MainWindow : public QMainWindow
    {
    Q_OBJECT

    public:
    explicit MainWindow(QWidget *parent = 0);
    ~MainWindow();

    private:
    Ui::MainWindow *ui;
    };

    #endif // MAINWINDOW_H

    source file
    #include "mainwindow.h"
    #include "ui_mainwindow.h"

    MainWindow::MainWindow(QWidget *parent) :
    QMainWindow(parent),
    ui(new Ui::MainWindow)
    {
    ui->setupUi(this);
    }

    MainWindow::~MainWindow()
    {
    delete ui;
    }

    main file
    #include "mainwindow.h"
    #include <QApplication>

    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
    QApplication a(argc, argv);
    MainWindow w;
    w.show();

    return a.exec();
    

    }

    xml gui file

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <ui version="4.0">
    <class>MainWindow</class>
    <widget class="QMainWindow" name="MainWindow">
    <property name="geometry">
    <rect>
    <x>0</x>
    <y>0</y>
    <width>400</width>
    <height>300</height>
    </rect>
    </property>
    <property name="windowTitle">
    <string>MainWindow</string>
    </property>
    <widget class="QWidget" name="centralWidget"/>
    <widget class="QMenuBar" name="menuBar">
    <property name="geometry">
    <rect>
    <x>0</x>
    <y>0</y>
    <width>400</width>
    <height>21</height>
    </rect>
    </property>
    </widget>
    <widget class="QToolBar" name="mainToolBar">
    <attribute name="toolBarArea">
    <enum>TopToolBarArea</enum>
    </attribute>
    <attribute name="toolBarBreak">
    <bool>false</bool>
    </attribute>
    </widget>
    <widget class="QStatusBar" name="statusBar"/>
    </widget>
    <layoutdefault spacing="6" margin="11"/>
    <resources/>
    <connections/>
    </ui>

    when i run this project I got the previous error.

    Thanks.


  • Moderators

    @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury Does your .pro file really contain comments without # character at the beginning? It should be like this:

    TARGET = DatabaseTutorial
    TEMPLATE = app
    #The following define makes your compiler emit warnings if you use
    

    Regarding yellow warnings: keep mouse cursor over the Kit - you will see then what the problem is.



  • @jsulm yes


  • Moderators

    @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury Remove all the comments or comment them out

    #-------------------------------------------------
    Project created by QtCreator 2017-03-07T16:05:57
    
    #-------------------------------------------------
    
    QT += core gui
    
    QT += widgets
    
    greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets
    
    TARGET = DatabaseTutorial
    TEMPLATE = app
    
    DEFINES += QT_DEPRECATED_WARNINGS
    
    SOURCES += main.cpp \
    mainwindow.cpp
    
    HEADERS += mainwindow.h
    
    FORMS += mainwindow.ui
    

    DEFINES += QT_DEPRECATED_WARNINGS can be removed as well.
    Add \ after SOURCES += main.cpp
    Run qmake again and build.



  • @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury should I remove this ?





  • @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury when i run qmake get above error again. where is the problem ?


  • Moderators

    @Hasibul-Hasan-Chowdhury Please upload the pro file to somewhere and post a link here. Then I can check.
    And please check what is wrong with your "Desktop Qt 5.8.0 MinGW 32bit" Kit.


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Qt Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.