Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Get Qt Extensions
  • Unsolved
Collapse
Brand Logo
  1. Home
  2. Qt Development
  3. General and Desktop
  4. Loading function from a DLL
QtWS25 Last Chance

Loading function from a DLL

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Solved General and Desktop
loadlibrarydlllibraries
16 Posts 3 Posters 14.2k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • K Offline
    K Offline
    kshegunov
    Moderators
    wrote on 10 Feb 2016, 17:01 last edited by
    #2

    Hello,
    Is there any special reason as to why you're trying to load the library at runtime? You could use QLibrary to do it in a portable manner, however I'd advice load-time linking.

    Kind regards.

    Read and abide by the Qt Code of Conduct

    1 Reply Last reply
    2
    • S Offline
      S Offline
      Suji
      wrote on 11 Feb 2016, 08:09 last edited by
      #3

      Hi @kshegunov, and thank you for your answer !

      I have no reason to load the library at runtime. What is the difference between load and runtime in facts ? Except the loading timing.

      Have a nice day, and thanks again for your help.

      K 1 Reply Last reply 11 Feb 2016, 14:04
      0
      • S Suji
        11 Feb 2016, 08:09

        Hi @kshegunov, and thank you for your answer !

        I have no reason to load the library at runtime. What is the difference between load and runtime in facts ? Except the loading timing.

        Have a nice day, and thanks again for your help.

        K Offline
        K Offline
        kshegunov
        Moderators
        wrote on 11 Feb 2016, 14:04 last edited by
        #4

        @Suji
        Hello,
        There aren't much differences except for a pile of (additional) problems when you do it at runtime. When you load the library at runtime you have to do what the loader will ordinarily do for you, namely to resolve the symbols. Besides the insane amounts of error handling you need to do, because using a symbol that's wrongly resolved (e. g. differences in the function prototype) will cause crashes, you'd also need to make sure the library exists in the first place, and so on ... If you simply leave this to the loader it'll complain before your app starts if something is wrong, so you could fix that before deployment. Loading libraries at runtime is the way to have plugins, as they're not known to the linker when the application compiles, but Qt provides QPluginLoader for that purpose.

        Kind regards.

        Read and abide by the Qt Code of Conduct

        1 Reply Last reply
        1
        • S Offline
          S Offline
          Suji
          wrote on 11 Feb 2016, 14:14 last edited by Suji 2 Nov 2016, 14:22
          #5

          @kshegunov

          Thank you for this very detailed answer, I appreciate it so much.

          So if I want to proceed at the load-time, and if I understand what you said, should I have to use the "loadHints : LoadHints" function ?

          Good afternoon !

          K 1 Reply Last reply 11 Feb 2016, 14:20
          0
          • S Suji
            11 Feb 2016, 14:14

            @kshegunov

            Thank you for this very detailed answer, I appreciate it so much.

            So if I want to proceed at the load-time, and if I understand what you said, should I have to use the "loadHints : LoadHints" function ?

            Good afternoon !

            K Offline
            K Offline
            kshegunov
            Moderators
            wrote on 11 Feb 2016, 14:20 last edited by
            #6

            @Suji
            Hello,
            Well, not really. You have to link the library to your project. So suppose you have the headers somewhere, the .lib file (only on windows) and the .dll. The .dll and .lib go in the folder where your application is built. The headers you add to your project with:

            INCLUDEPATH += ./some/path/to/libreary/headerfiles
            

            And you tell qmake to do the linking with:

            LIBS += -L./path/to/the/lib/file -lname
            

            This should suffice to have it working.

            Now, what exactly is X.dll in your example, and do you have the .lib file and the headers that go with it? Was it built with Qt?

            Kind regards.

            Read and abide by the Qt Code of Conduct

            1 Reply Last reply
            1
            • S Offline
              S Offline
              Suji
              wrote on 11 Feb 2016, 14:37 last edited by Suji 2 Nov 2016, 16:35
              #7

              Hi again @kshegunov

              OK, I'll try this. When you talk about "the headers", which are they ?

              The X.dll is a DLL built in VS2013 by a company, they gave me a device + example code and the dll. I'm trying to import the device's functions from this dll in my own soft, in order to pilot the device through their functions. I'm building my own soft because I want to master all which is inside the software, and for more clarity because I'm a rookie. ;)

              I did the .lib and .def from the dll like this :
              http://stackoverflow.com/questions/9946322/how-to-generate-an-import-library-lib-file-from-a-dll

              (sorry for the long link! But bold, link buttons etc... doesnt work)

              Thanks for your help and your patience.

              edit : I have the header you're talking about, didn't know I had to bring it with the dll. Should I include the X.h into my MainWindows.cpp so ? I though all definitions etc was included in the .lib or .dll...

              K 1 Reply Last reply 11 Feb 2016, 16:37
              0
              • S Suji
                11 Feb 2016, 14:37

                Hi again @kshegunov

                OK, I'll try this. When you talk about "the headers", which are they ?

                The X.dll is a DLL built in VS2013 by a company, they gave me a device + example code and the dll. I'm trying to import the device's functions from this dll in my own soft, in order to pilot the device through their functions. I'm building my own soft because I want to master all which is inside the software, and for more clarity because I'm a rookie. ;)

                I did the .lib and .def from the dll like this :
                http://stackoverflow.com/questions/9946322/how-to-generate-an-import-library-lib-file-from-a-dll

                (sorry for the long link! But bold, link buttons etc... doesnt work)

                Thanks for your help and your patience.

                edit : I have the header you're talking about, didn't know I had to bring it with the dll. Should I include the X.h into my MainWindows.cpp so ? I though all definitions etc was included in the .lib or .dll...

                K Offline
                K Offline
                kshegunov
                Moderators
                wrote on 11 Feb 2016, 16:37 last edited by
                #8

                @Suji
                Okay, so provided you have the header(s), the lib and the dll you put the lib and dll where your application is residing (usually the build folder when developing). Then you #include the header(s) where you want to use the functions that come from the dynamic library and finally you add the linker flags to your .pro file telling what library/ies have to be linked and where to search for the header(s) you're using. After all that you're ready to build your application.

                More concretely:

                1. Suppose your project is in C:/myproject and the application is built in C:/myproject/bin-debug
                2. Let's say the library is called libExternalLibrary.dll with corresponding .lib file libExternalLibrary.lib and you have a header that's in C:/external_library/external_library.h.
                3. You copy libExternalLibrary.dll and libExternalLibrary.lib in C:/myproject/bin-debug
                4. You open your project file (the one that has a .pro extension) that is inside C:/myproject and add the following to it:
                INCLUDEPATH += C:/external_library
                LIBS += -L. -lExternalLibrary
                
                1. In your code, where you want to use the library functions you include the header (at the top):
                #include <external_library.h>
                

                And then you can use the functions that are declared in that header (and defined in the dynamic library).

                I hope this helps.
                Kind regards.

                Read and abide by the Qt Code of Conduct

                1 Reply Last reply
                1
                • S Offline
                  S Offline
                  Suji
                  wrote on 11 Feb 2016, 17:10 last edited by Suji 2 Nov 2016, 17:12
                  #9

                  So fine ! Thanks a lot @kshegunov ! Your answers are so so clear, I love it!

                  I want to ask you something : why I have to do this instead of simply add in my MainWindow.h the prototype of my function which is on my X.h ?

                  //MainWindow.cpp
                  
                  #include <MainWindow.h>
                  #include <X.h>
                  Q_DECLARE_METATYPE(QCameraInfo)
                  
                  QLibrary myLib("path\\to\\X.dll");
                  
                  ParametersDialog::ParametersDialog()
                  {...}
                  
                  void MainWindow::activateSetAutoWhiteBalance()
                  {
                     MyPrototype funcSetAutoWhiteBalance = (MyPrototype) myLib.resolve("X_SetAutoWhiteBalance");
                      if (funcSetAutoWhiteBalance)
                         funcSetAutoWhiteBalance(TRUE);
                  }
                  
                  //MainWindow.h
                  
                  #include <QLibrary>
                  
                  class MainWindow: public QMainWindow
                  {
                      Q_OBJECT
                  
                  public:
                      MainWindow();
                      ~MainWindow();
                  
                  public slots:
                      void activateSetAutoWhiteBalance();
                  
                  

                  (The activateSetAutoWhiteBalance function is connected to a QcheckBox)

                  //X.h
                  #include <windows.h>
                  
                  typedef BOOL (*MyPrototype) (bool );
                  

                  I really don't understand why using the .dll, .lib etc... Is there something more special inside the dll I dont understand ?

                  1 Reply Last reply
                  0
                  • K Offline
                    K Offline
                    kshegunov
                    Moderators
                    wrote on 11 Feb 2016, 17:23 last edited by kshegunov 2 Nov 2016, 17:28
                    #10

                    Hello,
                    Firstly, the resolve method has some limitations as noted in the documentation. Secondly, including the vendor header will ensure function prototypes match, which is important! And lastly, this line:

                    #include <windows.h>
                    

                    is windows specific, meaning that if the vendor library actually has different variants for different OS-es your header will not work on anything but windows. Now, I want to make a step back and elaborate on the second point.

                    Consider that in the library someone has put a function like this:

                    extern "C" __declspec(dllexport) void someFunction(int);
                    

                    if you declare that in your own header as this:

                    void someFunction(int, char);
                    

                    and then make the QLibrary::resolve call (which will succeed!), you're in a big trouble. Calling that function as:

                    someFunction(0, 10);
                    

                    will cause all kinds of weird and unexpected behavior (crashes included). So even if you're loading the library at runtime, use the vendor's header(s)!

                    ADDENDUM:
                    Sorry for the edits, it's been years since I've actually developed on windows.

                    Kind regards.

                    Read and abide by the Qt Code of Conduct

                    1 Reply Last reply
                    1
                    • S Offline
                      S Offline
                      Suji
                      wrote on 12 Feb 2016, 08:20 last edited by
                      #11

                      Hi again @kshegunov !

                      Another very clear answer. I appreciate it so much ! If only I could have a programing teacher like you... :)

                      Thanks a lot for all the time you took for me, and your patience.

                      Have a very nice day !

                      K 1 Reply Last reply 12 Feb 2016, 08:45
                      0
                      • S Suji
                        12 Feb 2016, 08:20

                        Hi again @kshegunov !

                        Another very clear answer. I appreciate it so much ! If only I could have a programing teacher like you... :)

                        Thanks a lot for all the time you took for me, and your patience.

                        Have a very nice day !

                        K Offline
                        K Offline
                        kshegunov
                        Moderators
                        wrote on 12 Feb 2016, 08:45 last edited by kshegunov 2 Dec 2016, 08:45
                        #12

                        @Suji
                        You flatter me sir, thank you! I try, although not always succeed. :)

                        Read and abide by the Qt Code of Conduct

                        1 Reply Last reply
                        1
                        • N Offline
                          N Offline
                          Ni.Sumi
                          wrote on 12 Feb 2016, 15:09 last edited by
                          #13

                          hi @kshegunov & @Suji ,

                          I have question , hopefully a valid question :)

                          @Suji Said: The X.dll is a DLL built in VS2013 by a company,

                          @kshegunov If @Suji is working with Qt Creator , then the .dll built by VS 2013 will work inside the program built by Qt Creator?

                          I am sorry, if it is not related question here.

                          K 1 Reply Last reply 12 Feb 2016, 15:19
                          0
                          • N Ni.Sumi
                            12 Feb 2016, 15:09

                            hi @kshegunov & @Suji ,

                            I have question , hopefully a valid question :)

                            @Suji Said: The X.dll is a DLL built in VS2013 by a company,

                            @kshegunov If @Suji is working with Qt Creator , then the .dll built by VS 2013 will work inside the program built by Qt Creator?

                            I am sorry, if it is not related question here.

                            K Offline
                            K Offline
                            kshegunov
                            Moderators
                            wrote on 12 Feb 2016, 15:19 last edited by kshegunov
                            #14

                            @Ni.Sumi
                            Hello,

                            I have question , hopefully a valid question

                            It is a valid question. It will work no matter the compiler used for building the external library. This is because he's resolving the symbols at runtime (and they are exported as C-linkage, meaning no symbol decorations). C-linkage functions symbol names have the the same structure on any compiler (at least they're supposed to), so he could as well be linking it and it shouldn't cause a problem.
                            So when QLibrary::resolve is called, an address (hopefully) is found in the library that correspond to the name provided as a parameter to the function, and this address is manually cast to a function pointer type. This is the scary part, because any misstep with the casting is (usually) fatal for the program. Then, when invoking the resolved function, you do that through the pointer.
                            Basically, what you do, is what the loader of the corresponding OS would have done - load the binary in memory and map the symbols (thus getting an address).

                            Kind regards.

                            Read and abide by the Qt Code of Conduct

                            1 Reply Last reply
                            1
                            • N Offline
                              N Offline
                              Ni.Sumi
                              wrote on 12 Feb 2016, 21:30 last edited by
                              #15

                              @kshegunov Okay. I understand it. Thanks for the time and explanation.

                              K 1 Reply Last reply 13 Feb 2016, 09:23
                              0
                              • N Ni.Sumi
                                12 Feb 2016, 21:30

                                @kshegunov Okay. I understand it. Thanks for the time and explanation.

                                K Offline
                                K Offline
                                kshegunov
                                Moderators
                                wrote on 13 Feb 2016, 09:23 last edited by
                                #16

                                @Ni.Sumi
                                It's no hassle at all. I've corrected a grammar mistake in the post, but the meaning should remain the same. :)

                                Kind regards.

                                Read and abide by the Qt Code of Conduct

                                1 Reply Last reply
                                0

                                11/16

                                12 Feb 2016, 08:20

                                • Login

                                • Login or register to search.
                                11 out of 16
                                • First post
                                  11/16
                                  Last post
                                0
                                • Categories
                                • Recent
                                • Tags
                                • Popular
                                • Users
                                • Groups
                                • Search
                                • Get Qt Extensions
                                • Unsolved