[solved] Newb to child parent forms and how to access the ui elements of child forms

• I made a second form with it's own menu :)

and got it to .show()

but I can't seem to access it's plainTextBox.

I've heard a few suggestions from accessing it during constructor call.

but I still wouldn't know how to access it's ui elements.

I read it might have something to do with child parent relationships, as stated here:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1946046/accessing-the-child-ui-elements-in-a-qt-ui

Call children() on the top level widget instance.

Assuming your top level widget is called 'tlWidget':

myUI->tlWidget->children()

but I'm new to qt... so I don't know

Here's code that did work when I created a new form automatically:
    @
    QWidget* win = new QWidget();
    QVBoxLayout* layout = new QVBoxLayout(win);
    QPlainTextEdit* plainTextEditPatchOutput = new QPlainTextEdit();
    layout->addWidget(plainTextEditPatchOutput);

//Load up patch file into a string
    QString strPatch = dmp.patch_toText(dmp.patch_make(str1, str2));
    QTextStream out(&strPatch);
    plainTextEditPatchOutput->setStyleSheet("font: 9pt "Courier";");
    plainTextEditPatchOutput->setLineWrapMode(QPlainTextEdit::NoWrap);

//load patch file into plainTextEdit.
    plainTextEditPatchOutput->setPlainText(out.readAll());

//show window with patch file loaded
    win->show();
    @

but

here's the code I want to work with now that has a plainTextBoxOutPatch QPlainTextBox.

@
    mMyNewWindow = new PatchOutputWindow(); // Be sure to destroy your window somewhere
    mMyNewWindow->show();

//mMyNewWindow->setPl

//ui->plainTextEditLeft->setPlainText(in.readAll());
    @

the last two commented sections are what I've tried.