Mac OSX cannot find platform plugin cocoa

• Hello,

I also asked this question on StackOverflow "here":http://stackoverflow.com/questions/19988129/qt5-cannot-find-platform-plugins-mac-os-x , but I'm having a problem deploying on mac. Following "this link":http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-5.0/qtdoc/deployment-mac.html , I went through with otool -L and changed the linker to look for the Qt frameworks in the app bundle, which I'm fairly certain I did correctly, but I get this error:

This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform plugin "cocoa".

I copied libqcocoa.dylib from my Qt install directory into the app bundle in Contents/Platform/Plugins and changed qt.conf to:

[Paths]
    Plugins = Platform/Plugins

Is this the wrong place to put libqcocoa? Is that the correct library?

Thanks in advance! I'm really new to Mac and don't do much programming in general.

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Hi and welcome to devnet,

Did you run macdeployqt on your bundle ?

• I tried that initially, and it had the following errors:

ERROR: Could not find bundle binary for "MyProgram.app/Contents/MacOS/MyProgram" ERROR: "otool: can't open file: (No such file or directory)"

WARNING:
    WARNING: Could not find any external Qt frameworks to deploy in "MyProgram.app/Contents/MacOS/MyProgram"
    WARNING: Perhaps macdeployqt was already used on "MyProgram.app/Contents/MacOS/MyProgram" ?
    WARNING: If so, you will need to rebuild "MyProgram.app/Contents/MacOS/MyProgram" before trying again. ERROR: Could not find bundle binary for "MyProgram.app/Contents/MacOS/MyProgram"
    ERROR: file copy failed from "/Developer/Applications/Qt/plugins/platforms/libqcocoa.dylib"
    ERROR: to "MyProgram.app/Contents/MacOS/MyProgram/Contents/PlugIns/platforms/libqcocoa.dylib"
    ERROR: file copy failed from "/Developer/Applications/Qt/plugins/printsupport/libcocoaprintersupport.dylib"