Cannot Build on OS X

• I am new to C and C++ programming, but have used Perl and Java. I want to start using a GUI in C++, Perl, and Python and I'd like to use Qt.

I'm having trouble building Qt 5.1.1 on my iMac, running OS X 10.8.4. At one point I installed MacPorts, decided it was messing with too much and stopped using it. Everything in the /opt directory tree is from MacPorts, but I've gone through and removed all references, such as attempts to change $PATH in bash and so on. However, since only MacPorts was using /opt, I left that directory tree there. (This matters in a few paragraphs.)

I downloaded Qt from this URL (http://download.qt-project.org/official_releases/qt/5.1/5.1.1/single/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.1.1.tar.gz) and unpacked it, then, according to the README, from the directory the unpacked files were in, I did this:

@./configure -prefix $PWD/qtbase -opensource -nomake tests@

And then:

@make -j 4@

Then I ran into a slew of errors involving files in the tools directory as well as many errors in /opt. I don't know enough about the source code and C++ or C to do any debugging, so I renamed /opt to /optx so the files from MacPorts would be out of the way.

Then I did this:

@make clean
    ./configure -prefix $PWD/qtbase -opensource -nomake tests
    make -j 4@

Both times I redirected output into a file and the file this time was MUCH larger (the first time, with /opt and MacPorts in place, the file was under 300k, the 2nd time, with /opt renamed and MacPorts out of the way, the file was 5.5M). But I'm still getting errors. At the tail end of the output, when avoiding MacPorts, I get: