Important: Please read the Qt Code of Conduct - https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct

Multiple cameras [solved]

• I am new at the QtMultimedia 5.x QML interface, but I tried this super simple QCamera demo below and it worked perfectly. It sees the camera and displays the viewfinder for me. This is the basis for an app I am developing.

However my system has two cameras. I am wondering if there is an API for selecting which physical camera to use. I see the availableDevices() method on the C++ object but I have to admin I am not connecting this to any selection mechanism.

I don't need a chooser, I can hard code an index into a list of available cameras for a demo....

Thanks in advance!!
    @
    import QtQuick 2.0
    import QtMultimedia 5.0

Item {
    width: 640
    height: 360

Camera {
        id: camera

imageProcessing.whiteBalanceMode: CameraImageProcessing.WhiteBalanceFlash

exposure {
            exposureCompensation: -1.0
            exposureMode: Camera.ExposurePortrait
        }

flash.mode: Camera.FlashRedEyeReduction

imageCapture {
            onImageCaptured: {
                photoPreview.source = preview  // Show the preview in an Image
            }
        }
    }

VideoOutput {
        source: camera
        anchors.fill: parent
        focus : visible // to receive focus and capture key events when visible
    }

Image {
        id: photoPreview
    }

}
    @

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Hi,

availableDevices returns all the camera it can find so you can make a simple loop to create a camera + view finder for each entries returned.

Something like this:
    @foreach (const QByteArray &device, QCamera::availableDevices()) {
    QCamera *camera = new QCamera(device, this);
    QCameraViewfinder *viewFinder = new QCameraViewfinder;
    camera->setViewfinder(viewFinder);
    // rest of logic to setup widgets or anything else
    }
    @