How can I edit a .ui.h file?

• I'm a beginner in Qt and got a Qt project.
    There is a mainform.ui file with a mainform.ui.h
    In the top of mainform.ui.h is this text written:
    ... If you want to add, delete, or rename functions or slots, use Qt Designer to update this file...

I can open the mainform.ui.h file but I wana write my classes in it! How and where?

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Hi,

It's not working like this, like the text says you have to modify mainform.ui using Qt Designer. Have a look at designer's documentation and related examples to see what you can do

• .ui (XML) format are converted during build process into C++ header files by UIC (User Interface Compiler). As Qt documentation says in the UIC documentation: The UIC reads an XML format user interface definition (.ui) file as generated by Qt Designer and creates a corresponding C++ header file.

If your form filename is myform.ui, uic generates ui_myform.h. No matter what name of your class (objectName) is.

It's actually a C++ definition of your dialog. To modify this header file makes no sense because it is recreated during the build process and any changes are lost.

read this link
    http://sector.ynet.sk/qt4-tutorial/my-first-qt-gui-application.html

• I'm all mixed up!
    I went through the top sample , wrote the myqtapp.h file and after compiling I got many compiler errors and my myqtapp.h file is empty!!
    Why we write one time .h file and next time we shall not write in it!
    There is a zip file, it's the same compiler error with it. But my problem is, what is the logic here? Why is the .h after compiling empty and how can I modify this empty file???

• Lifetime Qt Champion

What error are you getting ? On what OS ? Which Qt version ?

I've tested the zip sample and it works.

• I found a sample in Qt documentation which works. I know the top sample is for windows . I have Ubuntu 10.04 and Qt Creator 1.3.1.