How to compile on Mac OS X

• Hi everyone!

I'm new in Qt, and I got a tutorial where it says that to compile, having a .cpp file, I just need to do this:

qmake -project
    qmake file.pro
    make

That works in Windows but in Mac OS X (10.7) it creates a xcode project file by default, and an info.plist file, so, "make" doesn't work.

I'm new and I don't wanna use QtCreator because it creates a lot of files that I don't need (yet...). So, my question is: Is there an easy way to compile my .cpp files from console on Mac OS X?

Thanks!

BTW. I read the qmake tutorial in the QtCreator help and tried with:

qmake -makefile -o Makefile file.pro

but still creates the xcode project... :/

• What do you mean with "It creates a xcode project file by default"?

Can you please post the output of this commands, you use:

qmake -project
    qmake file.pro
    make

Please also post the Makefile after doing qmake file.pro.

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Hi and welcome to DevNet,

Try again passing the macx-g++ mkspec, by default the mkspec is for xcode

• Hi again! and thank you for your help!

When I do "qmake -project" there is no output in the console, just it creates the "pro" file (file.pro). Then I do "qmake file.pro", and there is no output again, but two files are created: "info.plist" and "file.xcodeproj". If I try to run "make", the output is:

make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.

The .xcodeproj file can't be opened with xcode, if I try that xcode says:

Project file.xcodeproj cannot be opened: didn't find classname for 'isa' key

So, I can't compile my program.

SGaist, I can't run macx-g++ (it says "command no found") :/ how can I excecute it?

Thank you again and sorry for my english, I speak spanish.

Regards!

Edit:

I found this page: https://bugreports.qt-project.org/browse/QTBUG-29371 and did the replacement, and then i got this message:

Project file.xcodeproj cannot be opened because the project file cannot be parsed.

:/ Thanks again!