Important: Please read the Qt Code of Conduct - https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct

:-1: error: Qt Creator needs a compiler set up to build. Configure a compiler in the kit options.



  • That is the error when I'm trying to compile my project and when going to Qt Versions in the options menu, it says that no compiler can produce code for this Qt version. Please define one or more compilers when I have 6 compilers in the compilers tab.


  • Moderators

    The interesting question is: Is any of those compilers compatible with the Qt version you want to use?

    E.g. if you have a Qt build with MSVC2010, then having MSVC2008 and 100 different instances of mingw installed will not do you any good: Those will produce binaries that will fail when linked to your Qt libraries.



  • [quote author="Tobias Hunger" date="1356274782"]The interesting question is: Is any of those compilers compatible with the Qt version you want to use?

    E.g. if you have a Qt build with MSVC2010, then having MSVC2008 and 100 different instances of mingw installed will not do you any good: Those will produce binaries that will fail when linked to your Qt libraries.[/quote]
    Well you're just telling me the exact same Qt is telling me, I'm asking for a fix. And excuse me for my bad attitude, I'm just having a bad day.


  • Moderators

    Well, you're not providing the information necessary to be more specific. Without any information but the error message all we can do here is repeat that to you:-)

    Which compilers do you have? (Tools>Options>Build & Run>Compilers) Which Qt version? (Tools>Options>Build & Run>Qt versions, check the details there after clicking on one version). Which kit do you want to use and how is that configured.



  • [quote author="Tobias Hunger" date="1356277919"]Well, you're not providing the information necessary to be more specific. Without any information but the error message all we can do here is repeat that to you:-)

    Which compilers do you have? (Tools>Options>Build & Run>Compilers) Which Qt version? (Tools>Options>Build & Run>Qt versions, check the details there after clicking on one version). Which kit do you want to use and how is that configured.[/quote]
    Version name: Qt 5.0.0 MSVC2010 32bit (SDK)
    Screenshot of compilers: http://i.imgur.com/WtWeh.png
    I'm also getting an error in Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate when trying to create a Qt app:
    First when clicking the first next > button in the Project wizard: http://i.imgur.com/5cZDM.png and when clicking finish it just takes me back to a new project.



  • ...


  • Moderators

    You have MSVC 2012 installed. It cannot produce code for your version of Qt 5, which requires MSVC 2010. Those two compilers are incompatible.

    Install MSVC 2010, and (most of?) your troubles should disappear.



  • [quote author="JKSH" date="1356281179"]You have MSVC 2012 installed. It cannot produce code for your version of Qt 5, which requires MSVC 2010. Those two compilers are incompatible.

    Install MSVC 2010, and (most of?) your troubles should disappear.[/quote]
    Do you mean that I need another IDE, I don't understand much about the programs I need and stuff. Can you send me a link where to download it?


  • Moderators

    No need to download another IDE :)

    Visual Studio is Microsoft's IDE, which includes the Visual C++ compiler. However, if you don't want the full IDE, you can just get the Windows SDK 7.1 (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8279 ), which also contains the Visual C++ 2010 compiler.

    After that, read this to "link" your new compiler with your chosen version of the Qt library: http://doc-snapshot.qt-project.org/qtcreator-2.6/creator-targets.html

    The following should already be done for you automatically, but just in case, here are the instructions:
    http://doc-snapshot.qt-project.org/qtcreator-2.6/creator-tool-chains.html
    http://doc-snapshot.qt-project.org/qtcreator-2.6/creator-project-qmake.html



  • [quote author="JKSH" date="1356308846"]No need to download another IDE :)

    Visual Studio is Microsoft's IDE, which includes the Visual C++ compiler. However, if you don't want the full IDE, you can just get the Windows SDK 7.1 (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8279 ), which also contains the Visual C++ 2010 compiler.

    After that, read this to "link" your new compiler with your chosen version of the Qt library: http://doc-snapshot.qt-project.org/qtcreator-2.6/creator-targets.html

    The following should already be done for you automatically, but just in case, here are the instructions:
    http://doc-snapshot.qt-project.org/qtcreator-2.6/creator-tool-chains.html
    http://doc-snapshot.qt-project.org/qtcreator-2.6/creator-project-qmake.html[/quote]
    What do I have to do to make the add-in work? (Error screenshot is in a previous message)


  • Moderators

    [quote author="Dreeass" date="1356341542"]What do I have to do to make the add-in work? (Error screenshot is in a previous message)[/quote]Which add-in are you referring to? What do you want to use it for? I don't understand the language in the screenshot, sorry.

    If you are talking about the Visual Studio Add-in, then the answer is: That add-in is not for Qt Creator. It is for people who want to write Qt programs using the Visual Studio IDE.



  • [quote author="JKSH" date="1356352158"][quote author="Dreeass" date="1356341542"]What do I have to do to make the add-in work? (Error screenshot is in a previous message)[/quote]Which add-in are you referring to? What do you want to use it for? I don't understand the language in the screenshot, sorry.

    If you are talking about the Visual Studio Add-in, then the answer is: That add-in is not for Qt Creator. It is for people who want to write Qt programs using the Visual Studio IDE.[/quote]
    This is the output I'm getting when trying to build my test project:
    @14:41:32: Running steps for project Tutorial...
    14:41:32: Configuration unchanged, skipping qmake step.
    14:41:32: Starting: "C:\Qt\Qt5.0.0\Tools\QtCreator\bin\jom.exe"
    C:\Qt\Qt5.0.0\Tools\QtCreator\bin\jom.exe -f Makefile.Debug
    cl -c -nologo -Zm200 -Zc:wchar_t -Zi -MDd -GR -W3 -w34100 -w34189 -EHsc -DUNICODE -DWIN32 -DQT_QML_DEBUG -DQT_DECLARATIVE_DEBUG -DQT_WIDGETS_LIB -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_OPENGL_ES_2 -DQT_OPENGL_ES_2_ANGLE -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include" -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include\QtWidgets" -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include\QtGui" -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include\QtCore" -I"debug" -I"." -I"." -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\mkspecs\win32-msvc2010" -Fodebug\ @C:\Users\Andreas\AppData\Local\Temp\main.obj.6316.0.jom
    'cl' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    jom: C:\Qt\Qt5.0.0\Tools\QtCreator\bin\Tutorial-build-Desktop_Qt_5_0_0_MSVC2010_32bit_SDK-Debug\Makefile.Debug [debug\main.obj] Error 1
    cl -c -nologo -Zm200 -Zc:wchar_t -Zi -MDd -GR -W3 -w34100 -w34189 -EHsc -DUNICODE -DWIN32 -DQT_QML_DEBUG -DQT_DECLARATIVE_DEBUG -DQT_WIDGETS_LIB -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_OPENGL_ES_2 -DQT_OPENGL_ES_2_ANGLE -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include" -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include\QtWidgets" -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include\QtGui" -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include\QtCore" -I"debug" -I"." -I"." -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\mkspecs\win32-msvc2010" -Fodebug\ @C:\Users\Andreas\AppData\Local\Temp\mainwindow.obj.6316.16.jom
    'cl' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    cl -c -nologo -Zm200 -Zc:wchar_t -Zi -MDd -GR -W3 -w34100 -w34189 -EHsc -DUNICODE -DWIN32 -DQT_QML_DEBUG -DQT_DECLARATIVE_DEBUG -DQT_WIDGETS_LIB -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_OPENGL_ES_2 -DQT_OPENGL_ES_2_ANGLE -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include" -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include\QtWidgets" -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include\QtGui" -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\include\QtCore" -I"debug" -I"." -I"." -I"........\5.0.0\msvc2010\mkspecs\win32-msvc2010" -Fodebug\ @C:\Users\Andreas\AppData\Local\Temp\moc_mainwindow.obj.6316.16.jom
    'cl' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    jom: C:\Qt\Qt5.0.0\Tools\QtCreator\bin\Tutorial-build-Desktop_Qt_5_0_0_MSVC2010_32bit_SDK-Debug\Makefile.Debug [debug\mainwindow.obj] Error 1@

    main.cpp
    @#include "mainwindow.h"
    #include <QApplication>
    #include <QHBoxLayout>
    #include <QSlider>
    #include <QSlider>
    #include <QSpinBox>

    int main(int argc, char *argv[]) {
    QApplication prog(argc, argv);

       QWidget *mainWindow = new QWidget;
       mainWindow->setWindowTitle("How many chicken wings?");
    
       QSpinBox *spinner = new QSpinBox;
       QSlider *slider = new QSlider(Qt::Horizontal);
       spinner->setRange(1,50);
       slider->setRange(1,50);
       QObject::connect(spinner, SIGNAL(valueChanged(int)),
                        slider, SLOT(setValue(int)));
       QObject::connect(slider, SIGNAL(valueChanged(int)),
                        spinner, SLOT(setValue(int)));
       spinner->setValue(10);
    
       QHBoxLayout *layout = new QHBoxLayout;
       layout->addWidget(slider);
       layout->addWidget(spinner);
       mainWindow->setLayout(layout);
       mainWindow->show();
    
    return prog.exec&#40;&#41;;
    

    }
    @

    Kits: http://i.imgur.com/vRHy7.png
    Compilers: http://i.imgur.com/cBZaQ.png



  • on Ubuntu 12.10 Qt 5.0.0 i just did:

    1. sudo apt-get install g++
    2. restarted computer(don't know if need it)
      and appeared another problem:(error: cannot find -lGL qt)
    3. sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dev libglu1-mesa-dev
    4. all goes normal :)

  • Moderators

    [quote author="Dreeass" date="1356355326"]
    @
    'cl' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    @
    [/quote]

    Did you restart your computer after installing the SDK, and before compiling your program? Windows 7 (and earlier) requires a restart after registering new environment variables.

    If that doesn't help, try http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8800361/cl-is-not-recognized-as-an-internal-or-external-command



  • [quote author="JKSH" date="1356435668"][quote author="Dreeass" date="1356355326"]
    @
    'cl' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    @
    [/quote]

    Did you restart your computer after installing the SDK, and before compiling your program? Windows 7 (and earlier) requires a restart after registering new environment variables.

    If that doesn't help, try http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8800361/cl-is-not-recognized-as-an-internal-or-external-command[/quote]
    I'm running Windows 8 64-bit, could you please explain it yourself on how I do it because I'm getting sick of the hundreds of Microsoft sucky help pages. I have literally tried every single thing, WxWidgets seems to be better for me.


  • Moderators

    I just looked at your compilers+kits screenshot again, and realized that you're using Visual Studio 2010, not just Windows SDK 7.1.

    If I remember correctly, you'll still need to install Windows SDK 7.1, AND upgrade Visual Studio 2010. However, the installation order is important, because of "a bug in Microsoft's patches":http://blogs.msdn.com/b/vcblog/archive/2011/03/31/10148110.aspx. The correct order is:

    Install Visual Studio 2010 (which you've already done)

    Install "Windows SDK 7.1":http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8442

    Install "Visual Studio 2010 SP1":http://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/details.aspx?id=23691

    Install "Visual C++ 2010 SP1 Compiler Update for the Windows SDK 7.1":http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=4422

    Note: If you've already done step #3 without doing step #2, you should uninstall Visual Studio 2010 and start again.


  • Moderators

    Actually, I just remembered that someone has kindly provided an unofficial MinGW-based build, inclusive of a compiler, which should work out-of-the-box.

    If you want to avoid the hassle of fixing your MSVC 2010 installation, you can use this instead: http://lists.qt-project.org/pipermail/development/2012-December/008919.html



  • I am getting this error too. I am trying to learn Qt. I download this development environment thinking it contains everything I need, but am un able to compile.

    I have a fresh Install of Windows 8 Pro, absolutly no other programming tools installed. I downloaded Qt 5 just a few days ago and installed. Started a Qt GUI wizard app, tried to compile and got the error that I have no compiler.

    Correct me if I am wrong, but should not this Qt designer install a compiler that works with itself? And of not, should it not prompt the user there is not one installed and give a link to download, or maybe have Qt installer get it itself and install it?



  • Uh... windows 8, someone even tested this piece of #$@&?

    The current offline installer DOES NOT COME with a compiler, and is build to work with Visual Studio 2010's compiler. You can get VS2010 express for free and install that.

    ... or wait a few more days for Qt 5.0.1 to come out, it will provide more pre-build binaries to work with different compilers, I suppose windows 8 will be a better match with VS2012, which I may say compiles and works very well with Qt with a few minor issues, but I am using windows 7. I even downgraded a new machine that came with 8 after spending some time with it and failing to get charmed...



  • I am forced to be on windows 8. I have tried and tried to downgrade to windows 7, but everytime I get through the install, it fails with not being able to configure on my hardware. I have begun to like windows 8 now that I can by pass that horrid start screen, and got my start menu back. Thank you for clarifying that this version doesnt come with a compiler. I will wait till one comes out that has one available.


  • Moderators

    [quote author="changedsoul" date="1358481491"]Correct me if I am wrong, but should not this Qt designer install a compiler that works with itself? And of not, should it not prompt the user there is not one installed and give a link to download, or maybe have Qt installer get it itself and install it?[/quote]Qt supports many different compilers (MSVC, GCC, Clang, Intel C++ Compiler, and maybe others) so you can choose your compiler and integrate it with Qt Creator. You just need to make sure that your Qt Library was built using that compiler. Like utcenter said, the current Qt 5.0.0 package is for MSVC 2010; soon, Qt 5.0.1 packages will be released for MSVC 2010, MSVC 2012, and MinGW 4.7

    There are 2 problems with providing a compiler:

    • It is illegal for us to provide MSVC or the Intel C++ Compiler
    • We used to provide MinGW (GCC for Windows), but people complained that:
      ** They already have a compiler, and didn't want to download a package that includes a compiler
      ** The flavour of MinGW that we provided was not the one they wanted

    Anyway, Qt is a library. Libraries don't usually provide compilers (for example, GTK+, wxWidgets, and SDL don't provide compilers either)

    [quote author="changedsoul" date="1358552730"]Thank you for clarifying that this version doesnt come with a compiler. I will wait till one comes out that has one available. [/quote]You might have to wait a long time for an official package. However, alexpux made an unofficial build here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/mingwbuilds/files/external-binary-packages/Qt-Builds/Qt-5.0.1-x32.7z/download



  • Hy.
    I have the same problem.
    :-1: error: Qt Creator needs a compiler set up to build. Configure a compiler in the kit options.!
    !http://img5.fotos-hochladen.net/uploads/01mtdehu1g0f.jpg()!
    !http://img5.fotos-hochladen.net/uploads/02zsh2ec4oar.jpg()!
    !http://img5.fotos-hochladen.net/uploads/034n9qoahy3f.jpg()!
    http://img5.fotos-hochladen.net/uploads/04qv9b5fr4uz.jpg

    I try to solve it already for one week.

    thanks




  • Moderators

    Your compiler is MinGW... but you installed the Visual Studio version of Qt.

    You can choose one of these:



  • Download Qt 5.0.2 for Windows 32-bit (MinGW 4.7, 650 MB)”: http://qt-project.org/downloads

    thanks for the quick answer.
    However, I have win7-64bit.


  • Moderators

    You're welcome :)

    [quote author="BoomC" date="1368789344"]However, I have win7-64bit.[/quote]It doesn't matter. You can create and run 32-bit applications in 64-bit Windows.

    But anyway, I gave you two different options. If you don't want the 32-bit MinGW, you can download the 64-bit "Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop": http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/eng/downloads




  • Moderators

    Now, you need to tell your project to use to correct kit.

    Click "Projects" (left side of Qt Creator)

    Click "Add Kit" (top-left corner of Qt Creator)

    Select your 32-bit MinGW kit

    Click the computer icon that says "Debug" (bottom-left corner of Qt Creator)

    Select your 32-bit MinGW kit

    Compile your program :)

    Also, you should uninstall the MSVC2012 version of Qt.



  • :-1: error: [copydeploymentfolders] Error 1

    http://s1.directupload.net/file/d/3258/adlmwhip_jpg.htm


  • Moderators

    Hmm... I haven't seen that message before. Can you post everything in "Compile Output"?

    Also, try this:

    Close Qt Creator

    Uninstall the MSVC2012 version of Qt

    Delete C:\Qt\DATA\1st\1st.pro.user

    Re-open your project

    Compile again



  • http://s7.directupload.net/images/130521/sx9zodmw.jpg

    This time i run step by step the first Tutorial.
    Same error.


  • Moderators

    Please post the error message from the "4. Compile Output" window.



  • I solve it.
    Just add to make the -no-copy argument.
    http://s14.directupload.net/images/130521/umyjorzw.jpg

    Thanks 4 your help.
    It certainly was not the last time that I need help.


  • Moderators

    You're welcome :) Just post a new question in the forum if you want more help. Have fun with using Qt!



  • I have QT 5.2.0 MSVC2012 openGL 64bit and when I try to build a project it gives an error: ":-1: error: Qt Creator needs a compiler set up to build. Configure a compiler in the kit options." In compilers section I have: microsoft visual c++ compiler 12.0(x86), microsoft visual c++ compiler 12.0(amd64), microsoft visual c++ compiler 12.0(arm) and minGwW(x86 32bit). How can I risolve it?


  • Moderators

    Visual C++ 12.0 is from MSVC 2013.

    You need to install MSVC 2012 (Visual C++ 11.0).


Log in to reply