Important: Please read the Qt Code of Conduct - https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct

QPixmap::toImage() question

• I have a question about QImage QPixmap::toImage() const.

I am a graphics beginner. Yes I have RTFM! Yes I know QImages are different from QPixmaps.

I have a background JPEG for my QGraphicsScene. I read that from file into a QPixmap. I create a QGraphicsPixmapItem, and put that on the scene. It works fine as background.

However, wanting to squeeze every nanosecond out of my code, and wanting to learn anyway, I read that for background QGraphicsScene::drawbackground() method may be best way. From there I want to call painter->drawImage() of the pixmap. This is where the question comes.

While QGraphicsPixmapItem takes const QPixmap &, QPainter::drawImage() requires a QImage (unless anyone knows better). I have to call QBitmapQPixmap::toImage() to pass it. And my question is: how "expensive" is that as an operation? Does it have to scan/transform/copy my QBitmap QPixmap to make a QImage? If I start with a QBitmap QPixmap and I'm going to want to call that a lot for drawImage(), should I store the resulting image somewhere for reuse or is toImage() so cheap it doesn't matter? I'd like to understand, as an exercise.

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Hi,

Are you sure about QBitmap::toImage ?

Why not store the QImage you are going to paint ?

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Hi
    But what about
    https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qpainter.html#drawPixmap-8

Or did i miss the point ?

• @mrjj said in QPixmap::toImage() question:

But what about
    https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qpainter.html#drawPixmap-8
    Or did i miss the point ?

No, I think I did :( void QPainter::drawPixmap(int x, int y, const QPixmap &pixmap). I was using drawImage() from an example elsewhere, and tried to pass my const QPixmap & to it (failed, found toImage()). I just didn't look for a drawPixmap() :(

@SGaist too --- oohh, I've just understood, see the end below...