Entry Point Not Found-QtCored4.dll



  • I am working on windows 7 with Qt creator 2.4.1 . I have made a sample calculator and it was working fine . one fine morning when i run the same code the code ran to an error .The debugger error is shown below

    (12e4.188): Unknown exception - code c0000139 (first chance)
    Process crashed
    eCDB crashed
    dNOTE: ENGINE SPONTANEOUS SHUTDOWN
    dState changed BY FORCE from EngineSetupRequested(1) to EngineShutdownOk(22).
    dState changed from EngineShutdownOk(22) to DebuggerFinished(23).
    dQUEUE: FINISH DEBUGGER
    dNOTE: FINISH DEBUGGER
    dHANDLE RUNCONTROL FINISHED
    sDebugger finished.

    When i run the same exe file i got the error message "Entry Point Not Found"

    ---------------------------
    example1.exe - Entry Point Not Found
    The procedure entry point ??4QString@@QAEAAV0@$$QAV0@@Z could not be located in the dynamic link library QtCored4.dll.
    OK
    ---------------------------

    I copied the QtCored4.dll found in the C:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\msvc2008\bin to the C:\Windows\System32 still same error .. Even copied to the folder where exe is present.

    Please suggest me to solve this.

    Thanks.


  • Moderators

    Hi,

    @Ratzz said:

    example1.exe - Entry Point Not Found
    The procedure entry point ??4QString@@QAEAAV0@$$QAV0@@Z could not be located in the dynamic link library QtCored4.dll.

    That means your app managed to find and load QtCore4.dll... but it's the wrong version.

    How many versions of Qt do you have on your PC?

    I copied the QtCored4.dll found in the C:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\msvc2008\bin to the C:\Windows\System32

    Please do not do that! That could break your system. You should never ever put anything into C:\Windows. Also, do not put Qt in your PATH.

    Here's what you need to:

    1. Remove Qt from C:\Windows
    2. Remove Qt from your PATH
    3. Try launching your app again.

    If you did #1 and #2 correctly, you should see a different error message when you do #3. Let me know when you reach this stage, and we'll go to the next step.



  • @JKSH
    Thanks for the reply.
    Using Qt version 4.7.4 (QMake version 2.01a)and 4.8.1 (QMake version 2.01a)
    I removed QtCored4.dll from C:\windows and the PATH and tried to launch the app and found

    **example1.exe - System Error
    The program can't start because QtCored4.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.
    OK **


  • Moderators

    @Ratzz said:

    @JKSH
    Thanks for the reply.
    Using Qt version 4.7.4 (QMake version 2.01a)and 4.8.1 (QMake version 2.01a)

    Please tell me:

    1. Which compiler did you use?
    2. Do you have multiple versions of Qt on your computer?
    3. Does your app run correctly when you launch it from Qt Creator?

    I removed QtCored4.dll from C:\windows and the PATH and tried to launch the app and found

    **example1.exe - System Error
    The program can't start because QtCored4.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.
    OK **

    Good. Your system is now clean.

    Now, put the DLLs that your app needs in the same folder as your .exe.



  • 1.Which compiler did you use? -Qt Creator 2.4.1
    2.Do you have multiple versions of Qt on your computer?-No
    3.Does your app run correctly when you launch it from Qt Creator?- no
    It stops with the message
    (14fc.1f10): Unknown exception - code c0000139 (first chance)
    eProcess crashed
    eCDB crashed

    Now i put the DLLs in the same folder as your .exe and got the error message below
    example1.exe - Entry Point Not Found
    The procedure entry point ??4QString@@QAEAAV0@$QAV0@@Z could not be located in the dynamic link library QtCored4.dll.


  • Moderators

    @Ratzz said:

    1.Which compiler did you use? -Qt Creator 2.4.1

    Qt Creator is not a compiler.

    Are you using Visual Studio 2008? Visual Studio 2012? MinGW 4.4? MinGW 4.9? Something else?

    2.Do you have multiple versions of Qt on your computer?-No

    OK.

    3.Does your app run correctly when you launch it from Qt Creator?- no
    It stops with the message
    (14fc.1f10): Unknown exception - code c0000139 (first chance)
    eProcess crashed
    eCDB crashed

    That's not good. If it doesn't launch correctly from Qt Creator, then it definitely won't launch correctly when you double-click the .exe no matter what you do.

    Now i put the DLLs in the same folder as your .exe and got the error message below
    example1.exe - Entry Point Not Found
    The procedure entry point ??4QString@@QAEAAV0@$QAV0@@Z could not be located in the dynamic link library QtCored4.dll.

    Well, that means DLLs that you copied are not compatible with your executable. Either your SDK is broken, or you are using the wrong compiler.


  • Moderators

    @Ratzz said:

    Using Qt version 4.7.4 (QMake version 2.01a)and 4.8.1 (QMake version 2.01a)

    Sorry, I just noticed this. You do have multiple versions of Qt on your machine.

    Uninstall one of them. The error message you got ("Entry point not found") is often caused when you build your app using one version of Qt but use the DLLs from a different version.



  • How to uninstall one of them ? I do not find in the control panel.
    i am using Visual Studio 2008.
    I have done a fresh install of SDK . Before doing it i have deleted all Previous files .



  • In my C:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt path i find two folder 4.7.4\msvc2008 and 4.8.1\msvc2008,msvc2010.


  • Moderators

    @Ratzz said:

    How to uninstall one of them ? I do not find in the control panel.

    Go to your SDK folder. You should find something called MaintenanceTool.exe -- this lets you add/remove packages.

    i am using Visual Studio 2008.
    ...
    In my C:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt path i find two folder 4.7.4\msvc2008 and 4.8.1\msvc2008,msvc2010.

    MSVC 2010 is not compatible with Visual Studio 2008. Remove the MSVC 2010 package.

    Also remove Qt 4.7.4 -- this is extremely old and not supported any more.




  • Moderators

    @Ratzz said:

    IS it the Right Link To install SDK with 4.8.1 https://download.qt.io/archive/qt/4.8/4.8.1/qt-win-opensource-4.8.1-vs2008.exe

    Yes it is.

    But if you are going to download a new SDK, I suggest you go straight to Qt 4.8.6: https://download.qt.io/archive/qt/4.8/4.8.6/qt-opensource-windows-x86-vs2008-4.8.6.exe This version is fully compatible with Qt 4.8.1.

    Also upgrade your Qt Creator (Version 2.4.1 is extremely extremely old): http://download.qt.io/official_releases/qtcreator/3.4/3.4.1/qt-creator-opensource-windows-x86-3.4.1.exe

    (In fact, after you get your app working, I highly recommend you port to Qt 5.4.2. However, that requires a bit more work, so let's focus on getting your app working on Qt 4.8.6 first.)



  • @JKSH
    We are currently using QtSdk-offline-win-x86-v1_2_1.exe . When i do fresh install of this .exe file , Qt Creator 2.4.1, SDK 4.7.4\msvc2008 and SDK 4.8.1\msvc2008,msvc2010 will be automatically installed.
    If i run the MaintenanceTool.exe both the SDK 4.7.4 and 4.8.1 will be uninstalled.


  • Moderators

    @Ratzz said:

    We are currently using QtSdk-offline-win-x86-v1_2_1.exe . When i do fresh install of this .exe file , Qt Creator 2.4.1, SDK 4.7.4\msvc2008 and SDK 4.8.1\msvc2008,msvc2010 will be automatically installed.
    If i run the MaintenanceTool.exe both the SDK 4.7.4 and 4.8.1 will be uninstalled.

    Why don't you download https://download.qt.io/archive/qt/4.8/4.8.6/qt-opensource-windows-x86-vs2008-4.8.6.exe ?



  • @JKSH
    Hi, i have installed Qt 4.8.6: https://download.qt.io/archive/qt/4.8/4.8.6/qt-opensource-windows-x86-vs2008-4.8.6.exe and Qt Creator: http://download.qt.io/official_releases/qtcreator/3.4/3.4.1/qt-creator-opensource-windows-x86-3.4.1.exe.
    I tried to create new project i got this error
    No valid kits found
    Please add a kit in the options or via the maintenance tool of the SDK.

    options directs me to kits tab in buit and run option
    I find 2 options
    auto deteced and manual.
    manual has 7 options
    1.desktop (default)
    2.desktop
    3.desktop
    4.desktop
    5.desktop
    6.desktop(! symbol at thye begining)
    7.Qt 4.8.1(msvc2008)


  • Moderators

    Did you uninstall your old SDKs first? You should, otherwise you might get mixed up between versions.

    1. See Adding Compilers to tell Qt Creator where to find your compiler.
    2. See Adding Qt Versions to tell Qt Creator where to find the Qt binaries.
    3. Finally, see Adding Kits to tell Qt Creator how to combine your compiler with the Qt binaries.


  • @JKSH
    I have manually added Qt Version 4.8.6( No auto detected version )
    compiler is Microsoft visual c++ compiler 9.0 (x86) and the relevant kits. now while build i get
    Issue : ":-1: error: LNK1104: cannot open file 'kernel32.lib'"
    complier output :
    LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'kernel32.lib'
    jom: D:\Rathan\QT\build-untitled2-Desktop_a39205-Debug\Makefile.Debug [debug\untitled2.exe] Error 1104
    jom: D:\Rathan\QT\build-untitled2-Desktop_a39205-Debug\Makefile [debug] Error 2
    17:29:39: The process "C:\Qt\qtcreator-3.4.1\bin\jom.exe" exited with code 2.
    Error while building/deploying project untitled2 (kit: Desktop)
    When executing step "Make"


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Qt Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.