Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Get Qt Extensions
  • Unsolved
Collapse
Brand Logo
  1. Home
  2. Qt Development
  3. General and Desktop
  4. How to do LD_LIBRARY_PATH?
QtWS25 Last Chance

How to do LD_LIBRARY_PATH?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved General and Desktop
qtcreatorqt5.4
10 Posts 2 Posters 9.9k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • L Offline
    L Offline
    Lays147
    wrote on 16 Jun 2015, 23:50 last edited by
    #1

    Guys, i'm lost!
    I need my app running on other's ditro's of linux, and i cant do!
    On the http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/linux-deployment.html#creating-the-application-package the solution is: You can write a startup script for your application, where you modify the dynamic linker configuration (e.g., adding your application's directory to the LD_LIBRARY_PATH environment variable.

    But, how do i do that? I'm really newbie, sorry!
    Please help me!
    Thanks

    Lays Rodrigues
    Newby on Qt - Learning always!
    Using QT 5.7
    ArchLinux

    J 1 Reply Last reply 17 Jun 2015, 00:03
    0
    • L Lays147
      16 Jun 2015, 23:50

      Guys, i'm lost!
      I need my app running on other's ditro's of linux, and i cant do!
      On the http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/linux-deployment.html#creating-the-application-package the solution is: You can write a startup script for your application, where you modify the dynamic linker configuration (e.g., adding your application's directory to the LD_LIBRARY_PATH environment variable.

      But, how do i do that? I'm really newbie, sorry!
      Please help me!
      Thanks

      J Offline
      J Offline
      JKSH
      Moderators
      wrote on 17 Jun 2015, 00:03 last edited by
      #2

      Hi @Lays147,

      Here is a tutorial: http://www.tripleboot.org/?p=138 Scroll down to the Linux section.

      Qt Doc Search for browsers: forum.qt.io/topic/35616/web-browser-extension-for-improved-doc-searches

      1 Reply Last reply
      1
      • L Offline
        L Offline
        Lays147
        wrote on 17 Jun 2015, 00:43 last edited by
        #3

        Didn't work. =/ Another way?

        Lays Rodrigues
        Newby on Qt - Learning always!
        Using QT 5.7
        ArchLinux

        J 1 Reply Last reply 17 Jun 2015, 01:46
        0
        • L Lays147
          17 Jun 2015, 00:43

          Didn't work. =/ Another way?

          J Offline
          J Offline
          JKSH
          Moderators
          wrote on 17 Jun 2015, 01:46 last edited by
          #4

          @Lays147 said:

          Didn't work. =/ Another way?

          If you want us to help you, you need to:

          1. Describe what you did, and
          2. Show us any error messages you got.

          Anyway, the tutorial already shows you another way: Using RPATH

          Qt Doc Search for browsers: forum.qt.io/topic/35616/web-browser-extension-for-improved-doc-searches

          L 1 Reply Last reply 17 Jun 2015, 02:21
          0
          • J JKSH
            17 Jun 2015, 01:46

            @Lays147 said:

            Didn't work. =/ Another way?

            If you want us to help you, you need to:

            1. Describe what you did, and
            2. Show us any error messages you got.

            Anyway, the tutorial already shows you another way: Using RPATH

            L Offline
            L Offline
            Lays147
            wrote on 17 Jun 2015, 02:21 last edited by
            #5

            @JKSH The RPATH didn't work because on ubuntu 15.04 the Qt packages don't come default. That tutorial is for previous versions of ubuntu.
            Please, enlighten me then: How to config Qt to develop with Cross-Platform?

            Lays Rodrigues
            Newby on Qt - Learning always!
            Using QT 5.7
            ArchLinux

            J 1 Reply Last reply 17 Jun 2015, 04:02
            0
            • L Lays147
              17 Jun 2015, 02:21

              @JKSH The RPATH didn't work because on ubuntu 15.04 the Qt packages don't come default. That tutorial is for previous versions of ubuntu.
              Please, enlighten me then: How to config Qt to develop with Cross-Platform?

              J Offline
              J Offline
              JKSH
              Moderators
              wrote on 17 Jun 2015, 04:02 last edited by
              #6

              First, tell us: are you able to run your app on your own computer yet?

              @Lays147 said:

              @JKSH The RPATH didn't work because on ubuntu 15.04 the Qt packages don't come default.

              RPATH doesn't require Ubuntu's default packages.

              When you use RPATH, you copy the shared libraries (for example, libQt5Core.so.5) into your app folder.

              That tutorial is for previous versions of ubuntu.

              That tutorial still works for Ubuntu 15.04.

              Please, enlighten me then: How to config Qt to develop with Cross-Platform?

              "Cross-platform" means you want your app to run on other operating systems. For example, you develop on Linux, and then run your app on Windows. Is this what you want?

              Qt Doc Search for browsers: forum.qt.io/topic/35616/web-browser-extension-for-improved-doc-searches

              1 Reply Last reply
              0
              • L Offline
                L Offline
                Lays147
                wrote on 17 Jun 2015, 04:28 last edited by
                #7

                In this case, is to run in those linux versions: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, Ubuntu 15.04, Ubuntu 15.10, Fedora, OpenSuse and Debian.
                I already download the open source version of Qt
                I'm make the ./configure with: ./configure -opensource -static -xplatform frebsd-g++ -xplatform linux-g++-64 -xplatform linux-icc-64 -xplatform openbsd-g++ -debug -opengl
                Is that correct?

                Lays Rodrigues
                Newby on Qt - Learning always!
                Using QT 5.7
                ArchLinux

                J 1 Reply Last reply 17 Jun 2015, 05:28
                0
                • L Lays147
                  17 Jun 2015, 04:28

                  In this case, is to run in those linux versions: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, Ubuntu 15.04, Ubuntu 15.10, Fedora, OpenSuse and Debian.
                  I already download the open source version of Qt
                  I'm make the ./configure with: ./configure -opensource -static -xplatform frebsd-g++ -xplatform linux-g++-64 -xplatform linux-icc-64 -xplatform openbsd-g++ -debug -opengl
                  Is that correct?

                  J Offline
                  J Offline
                  JKSH
                  Moderators
                  wrote on 17 Jun 2015, 05:28 last edited by
                  #8

                  @Lays147 said:

                  In this case, is to run in those linux versions: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, Ubuntu 15.04, Ubuntu 15.10, Fedora, OpenSuse and Debian.
                  ...
                  I'm make the ./configure with: ./configure -opensource -static -xplatform frebsd-g++ -xplatform linux-g++-64 -xplatform linux-icc-64 -xplatform openbsd-g++ -debug -opengl
                  Is that correct?

                  No.

                  First, FreeBSD and OpenBSD are not Linux.

                  Second, you should not configure Qt. Just do this:

                  1. Go to http://www.qt.io/download-open-source/
                  2. Click "Qt Offline Installer"
                  3. Download and install "Qt 5.4.2 for Linux 32-bit (535 MB)"
                  4. Open Qt Creator and start coding.
                  5. Make sure you can run your app on your own computer.

                  After you finish Step #5, come back here to learn how to make your app run on other computers.

                  Qt Doc Search for browsers: forum.qt.io/topic/35616/web-browser-extension-for-improved-doc-searches

                  L 1 Reply Last reply 17 Jun 2015, 05:59
                  0
                  • J JKSH
                    17 Jun 2015, 05:28

                    @Lays147 said:

                    In this case, is to run in those linux versions: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, Ubuntu 15.04, Ubuntu 15.10, Fedora, OpenSuse and Debian.
                    ...
                    I'm make the ./configure with: ./configure -opensource -static -xplatform frebsd-g++ -xplatform linux-g++-64 -xplatform linux-icc-64 -xplatform openbsd-g++ -debug -opengl
                    Is that correct?

                    No.

                    First, FreeBSD and OpenBSD are not Linux.

                    Second, you should not configure Qt. Just do this:

                    1. Go to http://www.qt.io/download-open-source/
                    2. Click "Qt Offline Installer"
                    3. Download and install "Qt 5.4.2 for Linux 32-bit (535 MB)"
                    4. Open Qt Creator and start coding.
                    5. Make sure you can run your app on your own computer.

                    After you finish Step #5, come back here to learn how to make your app run on other computers.

                    L Offline
                    L Offline
                    Lays147
                    wrote on 17 Jun 2015, 05:59 last edited by
                    #9

                    @JKSH said:

                    1. Make sure you can run your app on your own computer.

                    After you finish Step #5, come back here to learn how to make your app run on other computers.

                    Well, i already start coding. And i already have the qtcreator installed on my computer. I just need my app run in those versions of Linux. And make configure for cross-compile is the way i found on the internet and here. If exists another way, please show me then. Because i cant find in the configure of qtcreator the configure for the app run on those linux. And my app run in the ubuntu vivid at my machine.
                    Thanks

                    Lays Rodrigues
                    Newby on Qt - Learning always!
                    Using QT 5.7
                    ArchLinux

                    J 1 Reply Last reply 17 Jun 2015, 06:07
                    0
                    • L Lays147
                      17 Jun 2015, 05:59

                      @JKSH said:

                      1. Make sure you can run your app on your own computer.

                      After you finish Step #5, come back here to learn how to make your app run on other computers.

                      Well, i already start coding. And i already have the qtcreator installed on my computer. I just need my app run in those versions of Linux. And make configure for cross-compile is the way i found on the internet and here. If exists another way, please show me then. Because i cant find in the configure of qtcreator the configure for the app run on those linux. And my app run in the ubuntu vivid at my machine.
                      Thanks

                      J Offline
                      J Offline
                      JKSH
                      Moderators
                      wrote on 17 Jun 2015, 06:07 last edited by JKSH
                      #10

                      @Lays147 said:

                      And make configure for cross-compile is the way i found on the internet and here.

                      Ubuntu, Fedora, OpenSuse and Debian are all Linux, so you do not need to cross-compile your app. (You need to cross-compile if you want to run your app on Windows).

                      Because i cant find in the configure of qtcreator the configure for the app run on those linux.

                      You do not need to configure anything.

                      You need to deploy your app. Follow the tutorial to:

                      1. Change your app's RPATH
                      2. Copy your app and shared libraries to the other Linux computers.

                      That is what you need to do.

                      Qt Doc Search for browsers: forum.qt.io/topic/35616/web-browser-extension-for-improved-doc-searches

                      1 Reply Last reply
                      0

                      1/10

                      16 Jun 2015, 23:50

                      • Login

                      • Login or register to search.
                      1 out of 10
                      • First post
                        1/10
                        Last post
                      0
                      • Categories
                      • Recent
                      • Tags
                      • Popular
                      • Users
                      • Groups
                      • Search
                      • Get Qt Extensions
                      • Unsolved