Cannot work out why this segfaults

• Hi

I'm new to Qt and C++ but I have some knowledge in C.

I keep getting an error 7 segfault whenever I try and call returnTestString(). Here is my code:

TestClass.h

@#include <QString>

class TestClass
    {
    public:
    TestClass(QString testString);
    QString returnTestString() { return testString; }
    private:
    QString testString;
    };
    @

Now, in my mainwindow.cpp, I have a slot that gets called and does this:

@void MainWindow::setString(TestClass *tc)
    {
    this->test = tc;
    }@

in mainwindow.h, 'test' is:

private:
    TestClass *test;

This works fine. But on a second slot / callback:

@qDebug() << "The value of the test string is " + this->test->returnTestString(); @

causes a segmentation fault. I'm not sure why.

Thanks in advance!

• Hi, and welcome.

The forum will do a better job of formatting code if it is enclosed in @@. There's a button at the top left of the text input field that looks like a page with <> on it that spits them out.

The code posted looks like it has suffered from a copy and paste error. There's a #endif, but no accompanying #ifdef

In general, memory use violations aren't necessarily caused by the code running at the time that they're caught. Can you post a brief but complete example?

• Hi Jeremy,

I have updated my post so hopefully everything looks better now.

It is actually this line: @ qDebug() << "The value of the test string is " + this->test->returnTestString();@ that is causing the crash. It is when I call the method I get a crash.

I have check two things:

• this->test is not NULL. I can get an address in memory with &this->test.
    • It is not the concatenation of strings that is causing this error. Just calling this->test->returnTestString(); on a separate line causes a crash.

I have sent you a message.

Thanks

• Moderators

Hi, and welcome to the Qt Dev Net!