Cant Execute any code Kits "qmake" error {plzzzzz HELP!!!!!!}



  • Hi,
    I am C++ / Java programmer but absolutely new to Qt world.
    I have Installed Qt 4.8.5 minGW version and Qt creator 3.0.1.
    Also I have MinGW before installation of Qt 4.8.5.
    It gives me error while installation
    "There was a problem with the installation (Only versions with W32API 3.13 are supported)"

    Moreover my run button is always disable.
    While configuring my kit I get an error: on qmake installation is invalid
    I am not able to run single project.

    Currently I have uninstalled everything so can start fresh.
    So which library version should I use?
    Which Creator version should I use?
    My Os: - Windows Xp

    Also any one can guide me with some good books for QML as I said I am new


  • Moderators

    Hi, and welcome to the Qt Dev Net!

    Qt 4.8.5 is very old. Since you are new, I recommend getting Qt 5.2.1 instead: Qt 5.2.1 for Windows 32-bit (MinGW 4.8, OpenGL, 634 MB) from http://qt-project.org/downloads . This package contains the Qt libraries, Qt Creator IDE, and MinGW

    Note: To use the package above, you need a graphics card that supports OpenGL 2.0 or higher. If you don't have such a graphics card, then you need to download a different package that doesn't have "OpenGL" in its name. You'll also need to get the relevant compiler.

    [quote author="Mr.Roy" date="1393732891"]Also I have MinGW before installation of Qt 4.8.5.
    It gives me error while installation
    "There was a problem with the installation (Only versions with W32API 3.13 are supported)"[/quote]The Qt 4.8.5 package requires MinGW 4.4. Your copy of MinGW is too new.

    [quote]Also any one can guide me with some good books for QML as I said I am new[/quote]This is a good place to start: http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-5/qml-tutorial.html



  • Thanks, JKSH for this reply!

    Since I dnt have graphic card on the system
    It means only "Qt 5.2.1 for Windows 32-bit (VS 2010, 518 MB) (Info)" is left as an option and if yes then which would compiler base for the mentioned package

    Awaiting your reply, hope have not missed on you!


  • Moderators

    Yes, Qt 5.2.1 for Windows 32-bit (VS 2010, 518 MB) should be good.

    Here is the compiler you need: http://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/details.aspx?id=8279



  • Thanks JKSH for being there! Was fighting long hours!

    Also for back up sake I have Qt Creator 2.5.2 for windows too work with Qt 4.8.5 since I may be right interpreting that Qt Creator 3.1.0 goes good with Qt 5.X & higher. The motive of saying this is since
    noe of my projects can be run and whole of the debug module is disabled & since I am new cant cross check with command line utiliies

    I am running under a timeline pressure where I want create a QML project but I am far away from it since stuck in setting up the environment

    Please advice!


  • Moderators

    [quote author="Mr.Roy" date="1393749557"]I may be right interpreting that Qt Creator 3.1.0 goes good with Qt 5.X & higher.[/quote]Qt Creator 3.1.0 has not been released yet. Perhaps you meant Qt Creator 3.0.1?

    Anyway, Qt Creator 3.0.1 works with all many versions of Qt, including Qt 5.2.1 and Qt 4.8.5.

    [quote]noe of my projects can be run and whole of the debug module is disabled & since I am new cant cross check with command line utiliies[/quote]Did you install Qt Creator 3 by itself? If you did, you should uninstall it.

    You need to download and install these 2 packages ONLY:

    These 2 packages contain everything you need to build a Qt 5 project.

    If it still doesn't work, post a screenshot of Qt Creator -> Tools -> Build & Run -> Kits



  • Hi JKSH,
    I have installed the said version of Qt (Qt 5.2.1)and had downloaded .iso file from microsoft site that you referred
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8442

    The file is as below:
    x86 ISO File Name: GRMSDK_EN_DVD.iso

    CRC#: 0xBD8F1237

    SHA1: 0xCDE254E83677C34C8FD509D6B733C32002FE3572

    I still get the following error when I run the project
    15:35:35: Running steps for project Transitions...
    15:35:35: Configuration unchanged, skipping qmake step.
    15:35:35: Configuration is faulty. Check the Issues view for details.
    Error while building/deploying project Transitions (kit: Desktop Qt 5.2.1 MSVC2010 32bit)
    When executing step 'Make'
    15:35:35: Elapsed time: 00:00.

    please find the screenshot

    Also no compiler in been auto-detected.

    The available list of compilers are
    MinGw
    GCC
    Clang
    Custom
    Qcc

    Please advice wat to do and how to go about for running Qt projects


  • Moderators

    Hi, can you please restart Qt Creator, and post screenshots of:

    • Qt Creator -> Tools -> Build & Run -> Kits
    • Qt Creator -> Tools -> Build & Run -> Compilers

    (You need to upload the pictures somewhere else, and then post the links here)




  • Moderators

    Hmm... you will need to get your compiler to appear under the "auto-detected" section.

    You downloaded the correct ISO. Which folder did you install it in? (the compiler is called cl.exe)

    Does restarting your computer help?



  • I dnt have .net framework installed on my computers coz for cl.exe i would require .net framework right?
    And while installation these are the options I get in which Visual C++ Compiler is ghost.

    Please find the attached screenshot:
    http://s16.postimg.org/5ed9o7out/Installation_Options.png

    Shall I install .net Framework. If yes which one?


  • Moderators

    Hi,

    You don't need anything from the .NET framework. The compiler (cl.exe) is in the "Visual C++ Compilers" option. From what I can tell, the option is meant to be "ghosted if the compiler is already installed":http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/04c4393b-0c7b-4530-b8ab-af21ac4e7070/sdk-2008-c-compilers-refusing-to-install?forum=windowssdk.

    Was it ghosted when you installed the SDK the first time?

    Do you already have Visual Studio 2010 in your PC?

    Please search in C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\ or C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\ -- Can you find any files called cl.exe? (If so, please list the full paths to all of them)


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Qt Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.