(Newbie) Link error with the most simple class

• Hi,

I'm new to Qt and I use v5.2.
    I made a copy of one of the samples (hellogl, but I don't think this is of importance) to a directory where I'll store all my projects. I opened the copied project, compiled and runned it (in QtCreator). Everything worked fine.

Then I created the most simple class possible:

• Right click on project in QtCreator
    • Add new...
    • C++ class
    • I use the following parameters in the wizard: Class name: settings, Base class: QObject, Type information: inherits QObject (automatically set by the wizard), Header file: settings.h (automatically set by the wizard), Source file: settings.cpp (automatically set by the wizard), Path: <my project path, same as .pro> (automatically set by the wizard)
    • I did not add any code to this new class, so basically it only has a constructor:
      @
      #ifndef SETTINGS_H
      #define SETTINGS_H

#include <QObject>

class Settings : public QObject
    {
    Q_OBJECT
    public:
    explicit Settings(QObject *parent = 0);

signals:

public slots:

};

#endif // SETTINGS_H
    @

The project builds fine with the new class.

Then I tried to use it (directly in main.cpp, I just added the include and the instantiation on line 5 and 10):
    @
    #include <QApplication>
    #include <QDesktopWidget>

#include "window.h"
    #include "settings.h"

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
    QApplication app(argc, argv);
    Settings *settings = new Settings();
    Window window;
    window.resize(window.sizeHint());
    int desktopArea = QApplication::desktop()->width() *
    QApplication::desktop()->height();
    int widgetArea = window.width() * window.height();
    if (((float)widgetArea / (float)desktopArea) < 0.75f)
    window.show();
    else
    window.showMaximized();
    return app.exec();
    }
    @

Now when I build (or rebuild, or clean/build) I get this link error: