IPC with QLocalSocket UnconnectedState not called

• Hi,

I am having a weird issue with QLocalSocket while trying to communicate between two applications. This is my first time using QLocalSocket. I have subclassed a QLocalSocket and use moveToThread() to have all of my packet parsing done in the background. The stateChanged() signal connected like so in my QMainWindow:
    @
    // local socket class
    qRegisterMetaTypeQAbstractSocket::SocketState("QAbstractSocket::SocketState");
    qRegisterMetaTypeQLocalSocket::LocalSocketState("QLocalSocket::LocalSocketState");
    socket = new LocalSocket();
    connect(socket, SIGNAL(stateChanged(QLocalSocket::LocalSocketState)), this, SLOT(socketStateChanged(QLocalSocket::LocalSocketState)));

... other connections to connect to the server, send recv data, ect.

// local socket thread
    socketThread = new QThread(this);
    socket->moveToThread(socketThread);   // move the socket subclass to the thread
    socketThread->start();  // start the thread

@

where my slot is as follows:
    @
    /*
    // socket state changed (private slot)
    */
    void MainWindow::socketStateChanged(QLocalSocket::LocalSocketState state)
    {
    // check the socket state
    switch (state){
    // unconnected state
    case QLocalSocket::UnconnectedState: {
    // start the timer to connect
    if (!timerConnection->isActive())
    timerConnection->start();

// set disconnected ui
            setDisconnectedUI();
            break;
        }

// connected state
        case QLocalSocket::ConnectedState: {
            // set the connected ui
            setConnectedUI();
            break;
        }
    }

}
    @

I get the QLocalSocket::ConnectingState and QLocalSocket::ConnectedState initially after I call connectToServer() (which both sides start data transmission successfully), but when I kill the process running the server, I never receive a QLocalSocket::UnconnectedState.