Newbie:Doubt on QML coding.

• Dear all,

I am a newbie in Qt.
    I have symbian application development background.

I need to learn more on QML.

My doubt is when i try to run some sample codes given in the tutorial,keywords like 'Background','MediumText','Button' etc are not taking,compilation error occured(showing as "Background is not a type").
    On top of the code i have added import Qt 4.7 ,anything else is required.

please help me..
    tnks in advance,
    remesh

• MediumText, Button are not standard components of QML you need create this components first before use it, check this article "Getting Started Programming with QML":http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7-snapshot/gettingstartedqml.html , is a good starting point

• [quote author="remeshothera" date="1292950685"]Dear all,

I am a newbie in Qt.
    I have symbian application development background.

I need to learn more on QML.

My doubt is when i try to run some sample codes given in the tutorial,keywords like 'Background','MediumText','Button' etc are not taking,compilation error occured(showing as "Background is not a type").
    On top of the code i have added import Qt 4.7 ,anything else is required.

please help me..
    tnks in advance,
    remesh[/quote]

Which is the above mentioned sample you are referring to.

• Most likely the sample includes files such as 'Background.qml'

If you have a Background.qml in the same directory, 'Background' becomes a type you can use in other QML files.

• Thank u all for u r quick response....

One more doubt to clarify...

Is it possible to access system capabilities like Camera,Telephony,Calender etc using QML?

If yes plz give me the documentation..
    thanks,
    remesh

• The documentation (and implementation) isn't 100% complete yet, but here you go:
    http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qtmobility/qml-plugins.html

For instance, I couldn't find documentation for the Camera QML object, but here's an example that uses it: