[Solved] How can I change the shape of a widget?

• I want to create a QLabel with a triangle border (like the left border in this http://www.tuangou.com.br/images/etiqueta.png ). But I need help. I don't know how to start. Is it posible to do it with a CSS?
    Sorry if don't post a code, it's because I'm new in QT so I have no idea.

I'm using QT4.8. Any Python or C++ example can help.

Thank you in advance and excuse my english. Greetings!

• Inherit QLabel class to your own custom LabeledLabel and reimplement QWidget::paintEvent... in that method you can draw that backgroud and rotate also the text.

@
    #include <QLabel>
    #include <QPainter>

class LabeledLabel : public QLabel
    {
    Q_OBJECT
    public:
    LabeledLabel(...);

protected:
    void paintEvent(QPaintEvent*)
    {
    QPainter p(this);
    // draw...
    }
    };
    @

• And you should use QWidget::setMask()
    Have a look at the Shaped Clock Example...

• Moderators

There are more easy ways and more complex ways to achieve what you want.

• If your label should have a fixed size you can just set the background via stylesheet with a image file
    • with the custom paint method your free to do anything you like buts it's way more work involved, which may be a problem as newbie for you?

Setting a mask only makes sense if it should be a top-level widget and only if you need to ignore input events on the masked area. Using of masks never leads to a nice result visual IMHO unless you just use straight edges (since it's a bitmap -> no antialiasing).

• Using a mask can result in quite nice looking widgets, even if they don't have striaght edges... it is not easy though...
    But you are right: it only makes sense for top-level widgets.

• Thanks to Peppy, Mr. Universe and raven-worx.

I'm subclassing QLabel. Each instance can take different sizes, so I can't use an image file. Either with setting a mask because is not a top-level widget, so the best option will be using the paintEvent.