[SOLVED]setupUi and using parent of an object

• Hi everybody;
    Im rather new to Qt.I have 2 problems and 2 related questions.Here are they :

1. I created a Qt gui project,which includes a form. (I may remove form but i want to use it). I hand-code some controls,which include layout.Since I have a MainWindow (derived from QMainWindow) i have to use another widget (right?) on top of MainWindow for layout purposes.Up to here no problem.Now if I try this code

@ MainWindow::MainWindow(QWidget *parent) : QMainWindow(parent),
    ui(new Ui::MainWindow)
    {
    QWidget *central=new QWidget;
    this->setCentralWidget(central);
    ui->setupUi(central);
    .... @

I have this error : mainwindow.cpp:15: error: invalid conversion from 'QWidget*' to 'QMainWindow*'

Or, if I use this code

@ MainWindow::MainWindow(QWidget *parent) :
    QMainWindow(parent),
    {
    QWidget *central=new QWidget;
    ui->setupUi(this);
    ....... @

program compiles and crashes at run-time.
    My question is : How to solve this problem?Isnt it possible to use qtdesigner in cooepration with hand-coded controls and layout?

2)I have a MainWindow class derived from QMainWindow.I create one of this in main() function and use it as the main window of the application.
    And i have a MyLabel class derived from QLabel which I use in MainWindow.And I pass MainWindow instance as parent to MyLabel constructor.
    Now,in a member function of MyLabel I try to reach statusBar of MainWindow,which is now the parent.If Im not making a stupid error , I suppose that a code like this will work:

@ parent->statusBar()->showMessage("hello qt"); @

Errors : invalid use of member (did you forget the '&' ?)
    error: base operand of '->' is not a pointer
    What is wrongI thought I could emit a signal and consume it by mainwindow to update the statusbar.But is it possible to do this without emitting a signal,and using the parent?By the way, any other approach is appreciated.

Thanks

• Hi!