Qt / WSDL / gSOAP = Encoding problems

• hi guys,

I am new to Qt, I need to make a call Web method in my Web service. I started using gSOAP, it works, service calls, but after 2 days of scratching their heads over the encodings.

Application code:
    @
    QTextCodec::setCodecForCStrings(QTextCodec::codecForName("Windows-1251"));

CWebService* ws = new CWebService();
    QString Result;
    QString input = "Test, Некая строка";

if(ws->Test(input, Result))
    {
    //Result = "Server value: Test, Некая строка"
    }
    @

My test Web method is very simple, it takes a string and returns a modified string, for example: Ship: "test", We get: "Server value: test" When the value "test" comes to the server, Web service sees this value as a "test". The problems start when I send a value: Ship: "Test, Некая строка," We get: "Server value: Test, Некая строка" The application everything is fine, but on the server instead of the "Test, Некая строка" comes the string "Test, Íåêàÿ ñòðîêà"!!! I experimented with all the encoding, I tried to understand how to convert character sets should be turned to this line, and I have not found it.

Please, Help understand the problem ...

• Moderators

Have you tried this:
    @
    if(ws->Test(input.toUtf8(), Result))
    @

QString stores data as UTF-16, and you probably send that.

• I try this, but now:
    Web service value = "WS: Test, Некая строка"
    Result = "Server value: Test, Некая строка"

[quote author="sierdzio" date="1339750726"]Have you tried this:
    @
    if(ws->Test(input.toUtf8(), Result))
    @

QString stores data as UTF-16, and you probably send that.[/quote]

• Can't you just use UTF-8 on booth sides(server and client)? Why are you messing up with local encoding? Anyway, it seems what your string are sent in windows-1251 encoding but the server thinks/shows string in latin-1 . Take wireshark and look at the client <-> server requests/responses in which language they are talking to each-over and to you.