(resolved) getting Creator to "pick up" new version of GCC

• I'm still learning my way around tool chains. I just downloaded GCC 4.7 (into /opt/local/bin), and got a whole bunch of binaries there. And, /opt/local/bin is in my PATH variable. So, how do I get Creator to see it automatically?

Thanks.

• Moderators

Creator picks up the first GCC it discovers in PATH automatically. So put /opt/local/bin to the front and it should find that one.

I'd just set up a tool chain manually though.

• Thanks, Tobias. I'm not ignoring your suggestion to set it up manually, but I want to see that I can get it to work automatically first. I just rearranged my PATH variable, but it still picks up the compiler in /usr/bin. This tells me that one of two things is happening:

1. I screwed up the install (possible, though I used Macports and it seemed OK)
    2. Creator is looking for a specific filename that it's not finding, so maybe I need to make a link.

Do either of these seem likely to you?

EDIT:

Here are (at least some of) the files produced by macports. According to a thread I read (not in Qt-land), these are what to expect.

bq. mac mini:~ mzimmers$ cd /opt/local/bin
    mac mini:bin mzimmers$ ls gcc*
    gcc-ar-mp-4.7 gcc-nm-mp-4.7
    gcc-mp-4.7 gcc-ranlib-mp-4.7
    mac mini:bin mzimmers$ ls g++*
    g++-mp-4.7
    mac mini:bin mzimmers$

I also tried making a link in /opt/local/bin:

@mac mini:bin mzimmers$ sudo ln g++-mp-4.7 gcc
    @

and made a similar link for "g++", but Creator is still picking up the other version (4.2 in /usr/bin) instead.

Here's my PATH variable:

@mac mini:bin mzimmers$ echo $PATH
    /opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin://usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11/bin:.:/opt/local/lib:/Developer/Applications/Qt/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin:/opt/subversion/bin:/usr/local/Cellar/boost/1.49.0/include/boost
    ma@