[Beginner]Calculate two values from lineEdit

• Hi, I am new to programming and trying to learn new things every day.
    I am trying to build a program in Qt to calculate some things. I have made severel input boxes (lineEdit) and those values I want to calculate and display in new labels.

This is the code I have now. I think the second line is wrong. I want to do the input (a number) of lineEdit * the input of lineEdit_2. I think I need to transform the boxes from strings to numbers or something. I hope you can help me further. Thanks.

@
    int newvalue;
    newvalue = lineEdit.text * lineEdit_2.text;
    ui->label_2->setText(newvalue);
    @

• First you need use text() not text :)
    @lineEdit.text()@
    that gives you a QString value which you need to convert to int using toInt(). Then you do your calculations with int values end call setText(QString("%1").arg(newvalue));

• [quote author="Anticross" date="1326276325"]First you need use text() not text :) @lineEdit.text()@ that gives you a QString value which you need to convert to int using toInt(). Then you do your calculations with int values end call setText(QString("%1").arg(newvalue));[/quote]
    Thanks. I have added the () and did some toInt() conversion.
    Now I have:
    @
    int number1;
    number1 = ui->lineEdit->text().toInt();
    int number2;
    number2 = ui->lineEdit_2->text().toInt();
    int newvalue;
    newvalue = number1 * number2;
    ui->label_7->setText(""+newvalue);
    @
    I guess this is a bit better. But still not good. I do not understand the QString("%1").arg stuff yet so I tried it this way which sounded logically after reading tutorials. But it is not, I guess;)

• If you change the last line to something like this, it should work:
    @
    ui->label_7->setText(QString::number(newValue));
    @
    or
    @
    ui->label_7->setText(QString("%1").arg(newValue));
    @

• Because you have very basic knowledge about Qt, read this book: