Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Get Qt Extensions
  • Unsolved
Collapse
Brand Logo
  1. Home
  2. Qt Development
  3. Qt Creator and other tools
  4. Debugger not configured correctly
QtWS25 Last Chance

Debugger not configured correctly

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Qt Creator and other tools
31 Posts 11 Posters 28.3k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • P Offline
    P Offline
    PBarnes
    wrote on last edited by
    #11

    Took a screenshot of my toolchains window.
    Hopefully this helps, but maybe not

    !http://i.imgur.com/h8Eho.jpg!

    [EDIT: fixed image link, Volker]

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
    • K Offline
      K Offline
      koahnig
      wrote on last edited by
      #12

      [quote author="PBarnes" date="1323460326"]Took a screenshot of my toolchains window.
      Hopefully this helps, but maybe not
      [/quote]
      The link to your picture is broken. You need to add a something in the round parenthesis.

      Do really have mingw installed? I would have assumed that it will show up here. Try to add mingw as a tool chain.

      I am little help here. I use Qt with msvc2005 on windows. Qt creator I am using occasionally on Linux.

      Do you have a licensed version of msvc2008? If so, I would recommend to use Qt with msvc2008 then. Especially if you are already familiar with msvc IDE.
      You can download the Qt binaries from "here":http://qt.nokia.com/downloads/windows-cpp-vs2008

      Vote the answer(s) that helped you to solve your issue(s)

      1 Reply Last reply
      0
      • P Offline
        P Offline
        PBarnes
        wrote on last edited by
        #13

        Thank you for all of the help so far.
        I do not have a full licensed version of Visual Studio installed so that could be out of the question.

        I went back to make sure I had MinGW installed, which I do.
        It was, however, not automatically added to the toolchain list.
        I manually added it and pointed it to the C++ .exe in the MinGW folder.
        I have added the screenshot below of that screen, please let me know if something looks incorrect.

        !http://i.imgur.com/tdKB3.jpg!

        I then went back to creator, created a brand new Qt widget GUI app, added the line "int x = 0;" into the main.cpp, put a breakpoint on that line, and clicked Debug.
        I received the error message shown below...

        !http://i.imgur.com/Y3srz.jpg!

        When I click OK that on that popup box, it appears that I go back to debugging. The program is not reaching my breakpoint yet but that could be a result of how the code works.

        Is there a way to fix this error message? Will this impact my debugging other than the nuisane of having this error pop up every time I go to debug.

        Thank you again for all of the information.

        1 Reply Last reply
        0
        • K Offline
          K Offline
          koahnig
          wrote on last edited by
          #14

          Your image links are broken.

          Vote the answer(s) that helped you to solve your issue(s)

          1 Reply Last reply
          0
          • P Offline
            P Offline
            PBarnes
            wrote on last edited by
            #15

            [quote author="koahnig" date="1323703676"]Your image links are broken. [/quote]
            Not my day I guess.
            The images look fine to me, not sure what the problem is.
            When a moderator changed my earlier post to show those image links, I just edited those posts and copy/pasted what the moderator did to fix my images.

            It should be working just fine.

            1 Reply Last reply
            0
            • K Offline
              K Offline
              koahnig
              wrote on last edited by
              #16

              Looks a bit like an internet download issue then. Just copied one of the links and tried access directly, but this takes forever. Probably, one has to be bit more patient.

              Vote the answer(s) that helped you to solve your issue(s)

              1 Reply Last reply
              0
              • M Offline
                M Offline
                muthu005
                wrote on last edited by
                #17

                Me too facing the same problem, i am unable to debug my application.

                1 Reply Last reply
                0
                • C Offline
                  C Offline
                  Chris H
                  wrote on last edited by
                  #18

                  If you go to the "Debugger" tab on the left side, what does it tell you about what debuggers it's trying to find?

                  1 Reply Last reply
                  0
                  • G Offline
                    G Offline
                    geotavros
                    wrote on last edited by
                    #19

                    PBarnes, you should be able to debug the application using GDB. But first you need to recompile your application with MinGW compiler. If you compile the application usin MSVC compiler you will not hit any breakpoints when debugging with GDB.

                    I also have the problem with CDB debugging. Windows 7 x64. I use Qt SDK where is Qt Creator (2.3.1) and Qt 4.7.4 x32. It says:

                    bq. The preferred debugger engine for debugging binaries of type ‘x86-windows-msvc2008-pe-32bit’ is not available.
                    The debugger engine ‘Gdb engine’ will be used as a fallback.
                    Details:There is no CDB binary available for binaries in format ‘x86-windows-msvc2008-pe-32bit’

                    I have MSVC 2008 installed.

                    1 Reply Last reply
                    0
                    • G Offline
                      G Offline
                      geotavros
                      wrote on last edited by
                      #20

                      I've fixed the problem with CDB debugging by installing Debugging tools for Windows. I have downloaded this iso file (Windows SDK) for x64 Windows:
                      http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=8442
                      And installed only the Debugging Tools. Now it works.

                      1 Reply Last reply
                      0
                      • B Offline
                        B Offline
                        Benzin
                        wrote on last edited by
                        #21

                        Hello guys, (first post here, i been a programer for several years but im new to Qt ands im loving it ) :)
                        I had this exact same problem. not being able to debug if i build with msvc. did what geotavros sugested, and now i can debug fine! :)
                        Im still not clear thoug if this is a bug on QtCreator, or somehow my computer not having the windows debuger (seems unlikely since i have visual studio professional (including Visual C++) installed.
                        And another thing, is this related to the warning i get when i build using the vc compiler, as i explained here:
                        http://developer.qt.nokia.com/forums/viewthread/13925/

                        1 Reply Last reply
                        0
                        • K Offline
                          K Offline
                          koahnig
                          wrote on last edited by
                          #22

                          [quote author="Benzin" date="1327926172"]Hello guys, (first post here, i been a programer for several years but im new to Qt ands im loving it ) :)
                          I had this exact same problem. not being able to debug if i build with msvc. did what geotavros sugested, and now i can debug fine! :)
                          Im still not clear thoug if this is a bug on QtCreator, or somehow my computer not having the windows debuger (seems unlikely since i have visual studio professional (including Visual C++) installed.
                          And another thing, is this related to the warning i get when i build using the vc compiler, as i explained here:
                          http://developer.qt.nokia.com/forums/viewthread/13925/
                          [/quote]
                          You should not do cross-postings to attract people to your issue. There is no need to.

                          Vote the answer(s) that helped you to solve your issue(s)

                          1 Reply Last reply
                          0
                          • B Offline
                            B Offline
                            Benzin
                            wrote on last edited by
                            #23

                            [quote author="koahnig" date="1327932180"]
                            You should not do cross-postings to attract people to your issue. There is no need to.
                            [/quote]
                            Hello, i did not made that post to "attract people to mine", i mentioned that post as i tought it would have something to do with this issue (as that post mentions .pdb files). sorry if it seemed that way.
                            The reason for my post was only (as mentioned in it), to know if this debugger issue was caused by a Qt designer problem, or by a problem of my particular installation. :)

                            1 Reply Last reply
                            0
                            • kkoehneK Offline
                              kkoehneK Offline
                              kkoehne
                              Moderators
                              wrote on last edited by
                              #24

                              For MSVC, Qt Creator uses the standalone debugger Microsoft provides with the Debugging Tools for Windows. It can't use the Visual Studio one, because, well, it's only available in Visual Studio. Ideally the Qt SDK would automatically install these, but it can't AFAIK due to license issues.

                              That's btw also covered in the Help :) http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qtcreator-snapshot/creator-debugger-engines.html

                              Director R&D, The Qt Company

                              1 Reply Last reply
                              0
                              • B Offline
                                B Offline
                                Benzin
                                wrote on last edited by
                                #25

                                Hi kkoehne, thanks for your reply. i understand the issue now.
                                Debugging seems to "mostly" work fine after i installed the Debugging tools for windows, even thoug it seems unable to provide some variable data.
                                for example, if i try to see the status of some QLabel, there are a lot of members i cant see because it sais "<Memory access error>".

                                I will have to really test the debugging facilities "in practice", with real projects to see if it meets my needs. If it doesnt work like i need it to, i can allways install the MinGW version of Qt along with MinGw compiler and GDB, and use that for developing, and only switch to the VC2008 compiler for the release builds.
                                ¿Does the GCC debugger work better that the CDB? ¿Do you advice i use GCC instead?
                                thanks for your help

                                1 Reply Last reply
                                0
                                • kkoehneK Offline
                                  kkoehneK Offline
                                  kkoehne
                                  Moderators
                                  wrote on last edited by
                                  #26

                                  Hi Benzin, I don't know about the 'Memory Access Error' you're describing, please file a bug at bugreports.qt-project.org, or post to the qt-creator mailing list. I personally stopped using MinGW mostly because of it's crappy compiler it once had (might have been improved though in the last versions though). But then again Windows isn't my main development platform :) Anyhow, both MINGW and MSVC is fully supported by Qt Creator.

                                  Director R&D, The Qt Company

                                  1 Reply Last reply
                                  0
                                  • G Offline
                                    G Offline
                                    Guillaume
                                    wrote on last edited by
                                    #27

                                    I have just downloaded and installed SDk 1.2 as an upgrade. And my project who used to work before now refuses to debug with the same message :

                                    None of the debugger engines ‘Cdb engine, Gdb engine’ capable of debugging binaries of the type ‘x86-windows-msys-pe-32bit’ is configured correctly.

                                    I am on Windows 7 x64 and trying to debug a simulator application using gcce toolchain. I confirm that gdb is present on the correct directory.

                                    Any ideas ? Thanks

                                    1 Reply Last reply
                                    0
                                    • kkoehneK Offline
                                      kkoehneK Offline
                                      kkoehne
                                      Moderators
                                      wrote on last edited by
                                      #28

                                      Guillaume, 'gcce toolchain' is AFAIK for embedded only ... Anyhow, just check that your toolchain is properly configured:

                                      • Check which toolchain is configured for your project under Projects, Build
                                        (for the Simulator, it should probably be "MinGW as a GCC for Windows targets")
                                      • Click on "Manage..." for the toolchain. Check that the debugger path is properly configured
                                        (It says C:\QtSDK\pythongdb\python_2.7based\gdb-i686-pc-mingw32.exe for me)

                                      Director R&D, The Qt Company

                                      1 Reply Last reply
                                      0
                                      • G Offline
                                        G Offline
                                        Guillaume
                                        wrote on last edited by
                                        #29

                                        Toolchain was missing correct debugger path. The field was blank. I wonder why it was set alike.

                                        Thanks, it now works

                                        1 Reply Last reply
                                        0
                                        • U Offline
                                          U Offline
                                          Uranium-235
                                          wrote on last edited by
                                          #30

                                          I don't know if this is worthwhile to anyone but I put it together for myself to address the problem as I had it, obviously with some help from here but either I wasn't thorough in reading or I needed additional steps.

                                           Installing

                                          1. Install QT SDK (it’s a 1.7 gigabyte install).
                                            a. The USB Network Driver component failed on my install.
                                          2. Install Debugging Tools for Windows SDK to have a debugger for stepping into code.

                                           Debugging a Project

                                          1. Select Tools/Options to display the Options dialog.
                                          2. Select Build & Run/Tool Chains.
                                          3. Select the desired compiler from the list of Auto-detected.
                                          4. Press the Clone button.
                                          5. Select the Clone of … entry which was just created.
                                          6. Press the Browse button.
                                          7. Locate Microsoft’s Console Debugger:
                                            (C:\Program Files\Windows Kits\8.0\Debuggers\x86\cdb.exe.)

                                          The desired compiler entry was cloned because its parameters are read only. The clone is available for modification.

                                          1 Reply Last reply
                                          0

                                          • Login

                                          • Login or register to search.
                                          • First post
                                            Last post
                                          0
                                          • Categories
                                          • Recent
                                          • Tags
                                          • Popular
                                          • Users
                                          • Groups
                                          • Search
                                          • Get Qt Extensions
                                          • Unsolved