Debugger not configured correctly



  • I have been google searching the solution to my issue for the past day and a half or so and nothing has worked.
    I am simply trying to debug a very basic C++ program in Qt Gui App.

    The code compiles fine (it's only 5 lines atm) but when trying to debug an issue I get the following error message:
    "None of the debugger engines 'Cdb engine, Gdb engine' capable of debugging binaries of the type 'x86-windows-msvc2008-pe032bit' is configured correctly."

    I have installed the SDK and MinGW (if those are even solutions).
    I have reinstalled QtCreator.
    I have installed .net Framework 4.
    I have installed Debugging tools for Win32.

    Granted these things might not be in the correct solution path for my issue, but I have all but exhausted my options here.

    Any help would be incredible.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to read.



  • btw I am using Windows 7 64bit.
    Is that what is causing my issues?



  • Trying uninstalling and reinstalling the full SDK version .
    Loaded up QT Creator and started a QT widget app.

    Same error when I try to debug.
    Quite frustrating.


  • Moderators

    Welcome to devnet

    If I understand your problem correctly, you are using qt creator and you like to debug.

    Are you intending to use msvc2008 toolchain for compilation and debugging?
    Or, do you want to use mingw as a tool chain?



  • Pardon my complete lack of understanding but as long as I can step through the application and debug issues, it does not matter to me which tool chain I use.

    Thank you very much for responding btw.


  • Moderators

    In principle you should be able to step through your application with the debugger. However, you cannot mix to my understanding.

    I try to get some facts at the moment. Those might be a bit hidden between the lines. In addiiton I am most likely not the right person to answer, especially if it is going to the details of qt creator under windows.

    If you start with Qt and Qt creator I would start to use it with MinGW under windows, because that is the default. You may use other tool chains such as the compiler of msvc2008. But this may need some additional hand-tuning.

    You may use also Qt completely with msvc2008 (IDE and compiler).

    Your error message looks like you are using msvc for compilation, but the debugger is not setup properly. I am wondering if you are aware that you compile with msvc2008 and that this is your intension?

    One additional note: you have probably the wrong group forum for your issue. "Tools" would have been the place to raise issues when working qt creator. Unfortunately, I cannot reassign your post. :-(


  • Moderators

    I moved it to the tools subforum as requested.


  • Moderators

    [quote author="Eddy" date="1323450777"]I moved it to the tools subforum as requested.[/quote]

    Wow, that was really fast. Did you even read the email I was sending to you?
    Super, Eddy, thanks.


  • Moderators

    You're welcome.

    I didn't see your email untill now. Just trying to read everything interesting!

    Big brother is watching you ;)



  • [quote author="koahnig" date="1323450422"]
    If you start with Qt and Qt creator I would start to use it with MinGW under windows, because that is the default. You may use other tool chains such as the compiler of msvc2008. But this may need some additional hand-tuning.

    You may use also Qt completely with msvc2008 (IDE and compiler).

    Your error message looks like you are using msvc for compilation, but the debugger is not setup properly. I am wondering if you are aware that you compile with msvc2008 and that this is your intension?
    [/quote]

    I am not aware it is trying to compile with msvc2008. Nor is that necessarily my intention. I am not aware of differences nor completely knowlegable about the two compiler options. And to be honest, their differences matter very little to me. Being able to compile and debug by stepping through code is the main goal, so whatever compiler it takes to do so is the goal.

    If you say that you would suggest using mingw, then I will do that.
    How would I go about setting that up?
    Obviously this does not come as an "out-of-the-box" setup option. Since I have installed the SDK and done nothing else except create a barebones QtWidget App. What are the steps I need to take to use that MinGW debugger?

    Thank you again, very much, for helping with my issue.



  • Took a screenshot of my toolchains window.
    Hopefully this helps, but maybe not

    !http://i.imgur.com/h8Eho.jpg!

    [EDIT: fixed image link, Volker]


  • Moderators

    [quote author="PBarnes" date="1323460326"]Took a screenshot of my toolchains window.
    Hopefully this helps, but maybe not
    [/quote]
    The link to your picture is broken. You need to add a something in the round parenthesis.

    Do really have mingw installed? I would have assumed that it will show up here. Try to add mingw as a tool chain.

    I am little help here. I use Qt with msvc2005 on windows. Qt creator I am using occasionally on Linux.

    Do you have a licensed version of msvc2008? If so, I would recommend to use Qt with msvc2008 then. Especially if you are already familiar with msvc IDE.
    You can download the Qt binaries from "here":http://qt.nokia.com/downloads/windows-cpp-vs2008



  • Thank you for all of the help so far.
    I do not have a full licensed version of Visual Studio installed so that could be out of the question.

    I went back to make sure I had MinGW installed, which I do.
    It was, however, not automatically added to the toolchain list.
    I manually added it and pointed it to the C++ .exe in the MinGW folder.
    I have added the screenshot below of that screen, please let me know if something looks incorrect.

    !http://i.imgur.com/tdKB3.jpg!

    I then went back to creator, created a brand new Qt widget GUI app, added the line "int x = 0;" into the main.cpp, put a breakpoint on that line, and clicked Debug.
    I received the error message shown below...

    !http://i.imgur.com/Y3srz.jpg!

    When I click OK that on that popup box, it appears that I go back to debugging. The program is not reaching my breakpoint yet but that could be a result of how the code works.

    Is there a way to fix this error message? Will this impact my debugging other than the nuisane of having this error pop up every time I go to debug.

    Thank you again for all of the information.


  • Moderators

    Your image links are broken.



  • [quote author="koahnig" date="1323703676"]Your image links are broken. [/quote]
    Not my day I guess.
    The images look fine to me, not sure what the problem is.
    When a moderator changed my earlier post to show those image links, I just edited those posts and copy/pasted what the moderator did to fix my images.

    It should be working just fine.


  • Moderators

    Looks a bit like an internet download issue then. Just copied one of the links and tried access directly, but this takes forever. Probably, one has to be bit more patient.



  • Me too facing the same problem, i am unable to debug my application.



  • If you go to the "Debugger" tab on the left side, what does it tell you about what debuggers it's trying to find?



  • PBarnes, you should be able to debug the application using GDB. But first you need to recompile your application with MinGW compiler. If you compile the application usin MSVC compiler you will not hit any breakpoints when debugging with GDB.

    I also have the problem with CDB debugging. Windows 7 x64. I use Qt SDK where is Qt Creator (2.3.1) and Qt 4.7.4 x32. It says:

    bq. The preferred debugger engine for debugging binaries of type ‘x86-windows-msvc2008-pe-32bit’ is not available.
    The debugger engine ‘Gdb engine’ will be used as a fallback.
    Details:There is no CDB binary available for binaries in format ‘x86-windows-msvc2008-pe-32bit’

    I have MSVC 2008 installed.



  • I've fixed the problem with CDB debugging by installing Debugging tools for Windows. I have downloaded this iso file (Windows SDK) for x64 Windows:
    http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=8442
    And installed only the Debugging Tools. Now it works.



  • Hello guys, (first post here, i been a programer for several years but im new to Qt ands im loving it ) :)
    I had this exact same problem. not being able to debug if i build with msvc. did what geotavros sugested, and now i can debug fine! :)
    Im still not clear thoug if this is a bug on QtCreator, or somehow my computer not having the windows debuger (seems unlikely since i have visual studio professional (including Visual C++) installed.
    And another thing, is this related to the warning i get when i build using the vc compiler, as i explained here:
    http://developer.qt.nokia.com/forums/viewthread/13925/


  • Moderators

    [quote author="Benzin" date="1327926172"]Hello guys, (first post here, i been a programer for several years but im new to Qt ands im loving it ) :)
    I had this exact same problem. not being able to debug if i build with msvc. did what geotavros sugested, and now i can debug fine! :)
    Im still not clear thoug if this is a bug on QtCreator, or somehow my computer not having the windows debuger (seems unlikely since i have visual studio professional (including Visual C++) installed.
    And another thing, is this related to the warning i get when i build using the vc compiler, as i explained here:
    http://developer.qt.nokia.com/forums/viewthread/13925/
    [/quote]
    You should not do cross-postings to attract people to your issue. There is no need to.



  • [quote author="koahnig" date="1327932180"]
    You should not do cross-postings to attract people to your issue. There is no need to.
    [/quote]
    Hello, i did not made that post to "attract people to mine", i mentioned that post as i tought it would have something to do with this issue (as that post mentions .pdb files). sorry if it seemed that way.
    The reason for my post was only (as mentioned in it), to know if this debugger issue was caused by a Qt designer problem, or by a problem of my particular installation. :)


  • Moderators

    For MSVC, Qt Creator uses the standalone debugger Microsoft provides with the Debugging Tools for Windows. It can't use the Visual Studio one, because, well, it's only available in Visual Studio. Ideally the Qt SDK would automatically install these, but it can't AFAIK due to license issues.

    That's btw also covered in the Help :) http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qtcreator-snapshot/creator-debugger-engines.html



  • Hi kkoehne, thanks for your reply. i understand the issue now.
    Debugging seems to "mostly" work fine after i installed the Debugging tools for windows, even thoug it seems unable to provide some variable data.
    for example, if i try to see the status of some QLabel, there are a lot of members i cant see because it sais "<Memory access error>".

    I will have to really test the debugging facilities "in practice", with real projects to see if it meets my needs. If it doesnt work like i need it to, i can allways install the MinGW version of Qt along with MinGw compiler and GDB, and use that for developing, and only switch to the VC2008 compiler for the release builds.
    ¿Does the GCC debugger work better that the CDB? ¿Do you advice i use GCC instead?
    thanks for your help


  • Moderators

    Hi Benzin, I don't know about the 'Memory Access Error' you're describing, please file a bug at bugreports.qt-project.org, or post to the qt-creator mailing list. I personally stopped using MinGW mostly because of it's crappy compiler it once had (might have been improved though in the last versions though). But then again Windows isn't my main development platform :) Anyhow, both MINGW and MSVC is fully supported by Qt Creator.



  • I have just downloaded and installed SDk 1.2 as an upgrade. And my project who used to work before now refuses to debug with the same message :

    None of the debugger engines ‘Cdb engine, Gdb engine’ capable of debugging binaries of the type ‘x86-windows-msys-pe-32bit’ is configured correctly.

    I am on Windows 7 x64 and trying to debug a simulator application using gcce toolchain. I confirm that gdb is present on the correct directory.

    Any ideas ? Thanks


  • Moderators

    Guillaume, 'gcce toolchain' is AFAIK for embedded only ... Anyhow, just check that your toolchain is properly configured:

    • Check which toolchain is configured for your project under Projects, Build
      (for the Simulator, it should probably be "MinGW as a GCC for Windows targets")
    • Click on "Manage..." for the toolchain. Check that the debugger path is properly configured
      (It says C:\QtSDK\pythongdb\python_2.7based\gdb-i686-pc-mingw32.exe for me)


  • Toolchain was missing correct debugger path. The field was blank. I wonder why it was set alike.

    Thanks, it now works



  • I don't know if this is worthwhile to anyone but I put it together for myself to address the problem as I had it, obviously with some help from here but either I wasn't thorough in reading or I needed additional steps.

     Installing

    1. Install QT SDK (it’s a 1.7 gigabyte install).
      a. The USB Network Driver component failed on my install.
    2. Install Debugging Tools for Windows SDK to have a debugger for stepping into code.

     Debugging a Project

    1. Select Tools/Options to display the Options dialog.
    2. Select Build & Run/Tool Chains.
    3. Select the desired compiler from the list of Auto-detected.
    4. Press the Clone button.
    5. Select the Clone of … entry which was just created.
    6. Press the Browse button.
    7. Locate Microsoft’s Console Debugger:
      (C:\Program Files\Windows Kits\8.0\Debuggers\x86\cdb.exe.)

    The desired compiler entry was cloned because its parameters are read only. The clone is available for modification.



  • Hello Everyone:

    I am struggling to get debugging working, and I feel quite "in the dark" about its setup.

    I had the errors that began this thread. I tried everything in this thread and finally made progress by following Uranium-235's checklist.

    I don't understand cloning, but at least I was able to run the debugger without errors. However, all of my breakpoints are ignored!

    There is much that I don't understand about Tools->Options->Debugger:

    1. Do I need to add something to the Source Path, or the Target Path, in the General sheet?

    2. In these sheets, what does it mean that there are a bunch of items in a list? Are they all accessed, or do I have to specify the use of one, somehow?

    3. In the CDB sheet, I added the CDB location folder in Source paths. Should I add something to Symbols paths? There are three paths specified currently, I don't know why.

    4. There are many items listed in Options->Build & Run-> Tool Chains, (including the clone I made). Is it no problem to have so many items? Should I somehow indicate a priority?

    Background: I inherited a large Qt project. It was created on a different computer; I downloaded Qt 4.8.1 for Desktop - MSVC2010 (Qt SKD).

    Thanks!


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Qt Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.