Important: Please read the Qt Code of Conduct - https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct

Known issues with Qt Forum


  • Moderators

    To try and make it easier to keep track of these and what is planned to happen and so on then I am starting this thread to make it easier to keep track, so if there is any known issues that come up at any point then please reply to this thread and I will add this to the list here and update it when it is resolved.

    • Update to v1.8 - Scheduled for fix 29th August 22:00 CEST
    • Update to v1.9 - Scheduled for fix 26th September 08:00 CEST
    • Update to v1.10 - Scheduled for fix 26th September 08:00 CEST
    • Update to v1.11 - Scheduled for fix 26th September 08:00 CEST
    • Update to v1.12
    • Update to v1.13 - Scheduled for February
    • RSS feeds currently show [[qanda:...]] inside some topic titles
    • Active up/down vote buttons appear in blue and not Qt-green - Scheduled for fix 29th August 22:00 CEST
    • Reply notifications are not always flagging in the notification icon (they appear in the list but the icon does not update)
    • Unread list is showing a preview of the wrong post
    • Vote counters for a post is not updating for some
    • Not all the lists in forum.qt.io/users are showing the next/previous options
    • Some oddness happening with notifications (likely related to the same cause as the above issues)
    • Favicon is not showing
    • Quoted replies are not triggering notifications (this predates the updates so may be a NodeBB bug)
    • Search popup contains non clickable links

  • Lifetime Qt Champion

    Hi,

    CSS wise, the upvote button is back to default blue (I don't count that as a bug though)


  • Moderators

    @sgaist said in Known issues with Qt Forum:

    CSS wise, the upvote button is back to default blue (I don't count that as a bug though)

    Next to the reply, quote links for a post? Shows up grey for me here.


  • Qt Champions 2017

    @andys said in Known issues with Qt Forum:

    Shows up grey for me here.

    He means when it's active. Olli, I think, put it in Qt-green before. Probably some of the CSS got overwritten/modified with the update.


  • Moderators

    @kshegunov said in Known issues with Qt Forum:

    @andys said in Known issues with Qt Forum:

    Shows up grey for me here.

    He means when it's active. Olli, I think, put it in Qt-green before. Probably some of the CSS got overwritten/modified with the update.

    Aha, now I see what you mean, that I can probably track down easily enough, will add it to the list. Thanks!


  • Lifetime Qt Champion

    Two additional findings of this morning. It seems there's either some caching issue or delay with regards to spammers.

    Deleted threads seems to not be shown properly on first access after deletion.
    Same goes for banned people, their status doesn't seem to show up correctly.


  • Lifetime Qt Champion

    One more, the off by one issue seen in the counters has another more problematic side effect. If you have "one page plus one post" you can't access the last one because the needed pagination is not generated.


  • Moderators

    @sgaist As in the off by one ala unread posts you mean?

    I have been trying to see if there is some way to trigger a check on the db but so far have not found anything reliable. I did manage to upgrade the local db to 1.9 now at least so I am trying to compare that with the other test one which is still using 1.8 to see if any issues happen to be fixed.


  • Lifetime Qt Champion

    Yes exactly. I do wonder if it's database question or a bug in the software stack.


  • Moderators

    I do think somehow it is the database but I am not sure what yet. I might have to resort to contacting them about it to see what I can look at.


  • Moderators

    I think the notification issue has something to do with the damn Qt theme and I am tempted to switch it to Persona just to see if it fixes everything else :P


  • Lifetime Qt Champion

    It might be something different. I just saw that even though you have posted twice in this thread. On the "main page" it shows my last post on it but it doesn't happen on all threads.


  • Moderators

    I managed to reproduce an unread issue at least on the test one now, also I can toggle notifications working on and off by switching to Persona so I think that using the default theme might show it all working. Problem is being sure.


  • Moderators

    Ok, I am going to do a quick switch of the theme to compare the unread list and then switch it back right after. Fingers crossed it shows a difference.


  • Lifetime Qt Champion

    Sounds like there's some stuff that is way too entangled 0o


  • Moderators

    Incredibly it does all seem to be connected to the theme, it can't be the changes I did since that is all CSS so something else in it is getting in the way. I will check this further in the morning but I think we are getting close now at least.


  • Lifetime Qt Champion

    Looks like it indeed. It almost make regretting the time of static pages ;-)


  • Lifetime Qt Champion

    I have a phantom thread in my unread list. The user deleted it, but it keeps appearing even after marking it explicitly as read.


  • Lifetime Qt Champion

    @AndyS All sub-pages of https://forum.qt.io/users miss the <previous>/<next> links to scroll through the lists. I don't know since when this is missing, but is was working, I swear :)


  • Moderators

    @aha_1980 said in Known issues with Qt Forum:

    @AndyS All sub-pages of https://forum.qt.io/users miss the <previous>/<next> links to scroll through the lists. I don't know since when this is missing, but is was working, I swear :)

    It shows up for me in the Banned and Most Flagged lists at least, and it seems NodeBB.org's own forum has it up for all the pages. I'll add this to the list.


  • Moderators

    After the last update I'm missing the favicon in chrome and firefox on Windows. Nuking cache, favicon database and using private mode does not help (it did reset favicon for all other sites). Curiously enough green Qt logo does show up in Edge (although doesn't seem to display the little red counter).


  • Moderators

    @Chris-Kawa I notice the problem now too, I think the icon moved or something because uploaded files was something that got optimized in an update and thats where it is looking for it. I am working on figuring out how to get that back.


  • Moderators

    I uploaded the icon now so it is where it is expected to be, so hopefully it will show up again once it gets a forced refresh. Thanks for pointing it out @Chris-Kawa!


  • Moderators

    Due to the nature of how this forum seems to be setup, it managed to not have the icon anymore, so I will need to do this in a different way. So it will not show up for a bi until I find a solution


  • Lifetime Qt Champion

    On my mobile, I can't hide the keyboard anymore when going into a chat.

    So 3/4 of the screen is used for title bars and keyboard, and only the middle is the actual chat.

    In former versions, I could click on a non text-input field and the keyboard was hidden. Is anyone else experiencing this?


  • Moderators

    @aha_1980 Looks fine to me on my Android phone at least.


  • Moderators

    @AndyS said in Known issues with Qt Forum:

    Due to the nature of how this forum seems to be setup, it managed to not have the icon anymore, so I will need to do this in a different way. So it will not show up for a bi until I find a solution

    Ok, I think this is fixed now. I have to wait until tomorrow to know for sure, but I am certain I got it right this time :)


  • Lifetime Qt Champion

    It seems that the "latest answer to a post" in the "unread" section is still wrong.


  • Moderators

    Yeah that I am aware is the case, I am planning to schedule time this week to look at it. I need to understand the code to see why it might be wrong and see if its the server or something else tripping it.


  • Moderators

    @AndyS said in Known issues with Qt Forum:

    Ok, I think this is fixed now. I have to wait until tomorrow to know for sure, but I am certain I got it right this time :)

    The icon was back for me for few hours but now it's gone again?

    Another thing - I know this was reported already but it started to happen to me too now so I though I'd mention it - the upvote counter does not show correct number for some posts. It's ok for others:
    upvote


  • Moderators

    @Chris-Kawa said in Known issues with Qt Forum:

    the upvote counter does not show correct number for some posts. It's ok for others

    This might be a cache issue. I've found that refreshing (or closing + reopening) the page can fix the counter.



  • For the record (Chrome): I'm no-favicon, and still with incorrect counters, despite any refreshes/re-opens, just as per the last few weeks. But not unappreciative of @AndyS efforts :)


  • Moderators

    Ok, the fav-icon I can understand why it goes away, the problem is due to how our server works so the change I made doesn't get saved, therefore I need to do it a different way to make it stick. I'll try and sort that out today, though I am not sure why it stopped working initially because it has nothing to do with the upgrades.



  • The number of posts in a thread are not always correct in the overview.

    Quite often I am opening a thread showing only 1 post, but it may have already 1 or more answers. Sometimes those answers were a couple of hours old. However, it is not an update issue, because typically I am loading the list of unread threads each time.

    ce214b63-b808-4f2b-866f-6269f75d02bd-image.png

    When opening it showed
    e2c0ebef-f8cd-47a8-8df6-b71a0d4802b5-image.png

    and 2 responses
    e2df69ba-6788-448b-b072-1999d012f2d4-image.png

    b08236af-d691-4527-8d18-060fbbc23e3c-image.png



  • This one just showed up after I had cleared list
    b6feb27b-70d1-4ce7-8303-63f292f3bc5e-image.png

    However, it is 8 hours old. When opening it had already a response which just added by SGaist


  • Moderators

    I have another kinda following the same theme - the number by the notifications bell icon does not go away but there's no new notifications inside. I thought maybe they are just not highlighted like they used to so I clicked through all of them one by one but the number stays. Curiously when opened in another browser the number is cleared, so I think it's some sort of yet another caching issue.
    notifications bell
    All those problems seem weirdly similar. Like something gets cached that shouldn't or something doesn't when it should. Maybe there's one root cause?


  • Moderators

    Also I just noticed that clicking on these notifications moves me to a random post way above the one actually mentioned in the notification. For example clicking on the first notification in the picture above should bring me to https://forum.qt.io/topic/106297/known-issues-with-qt-forum/35 (I think), but it actually goes to https://forum.qt.io/topic/106297/known-issues-with-qt-forum/22, which makes no sense since it's before my own post and there's more than 6 people below it so I'm not sure what it actually counts.


  • Moderators

    I do believe all the problems are related to one cause but the problem is I haven't been able to figure out what that cause is yet. They do have similarities and I think it is more to how our server is than NodeBB itself, but I need to understand how NodeBB is doing it to figure out what might be wrong. It might be a DB problem too, but its hard to say when I can only really reproduce it on the main server and I don't want to tinker about that for obvious reasons :)


  • Qt Champions 2017

    @Chris-Kawa said in Known issues with Qt Forum:

    I have another kinda following the same theme - the number by the notifications bell icon does not go away but there's no new notifications inside.

    I would bet this isn't upgrade related, because I've experienced it pre-upgrade. Rather rarely but it has happened. Clicking "Mark all read" removes the red indicator (obviously), but I have never been able to trigger it intentionally nor do I have any clue why it happens.


  • Moderators

    After a bit of investigation, I think that the problem lies in the DB or potentially in the version of MongoDB being used, which might explain things. I have at least figured out where it gets this data from (at least I think I have) so I will continue to move forward with trying to see if the data compares as a result and work from that. I do want to get this fixed as it is very annoying :)


Log in to reply