Qt Programming Language



  • @Annabelle
    Well, I think you will have that problem with any of the IDE tools available as they all basically do things in the same way. Dragging and dropping GUI elements onto the screen is probably quite a difficult thing to with the assistance of a screen reader. You can however create GUIs without using the graphical interface designer by just programming them directly with code yourself. There is much more coding to be done but many people do it that way.



  • @kenchan said in Qt Programming Language:

    @Annabelle
    Well, I think you will have that problem with any of the IDE tools available as they all basically do things in the same way. Dragging and dropping GUI elements onto the screen is probably quite a difficult thing to with the assistance of a screen reader. You can however create GUIs without using the graphical interface designer by just programming them directly with code yourself. There is much more coding to be done but many people do it that way.

    When I finish the code, I'm wondering what compiler I could use that would be completely accessible for me. Coding in C++ is what I'm learning through www.learncpp.com, and the IDE part is where I'm stuck in a rut.


  • Moderators

    @Annabelle said in Qt Programming Language:

    Coding in C++ is what I'm learning through www.learncpp.com, and the IDE part is where I'm stuck in a rut.

    Read my post from yesterday. Windows Narrator reads out the Alt menus for me. Does JAWS say anything when you press and release Alt, then press and release Tab in Qt Creator?

    Also, what version of Qt Creator did you install? (You can check by pressing and releasing keys in this order: Escape, Alt, H, Q)



  • @JKSH said in Qt Programming Language:

    @Annabelle said in Qt Programming Language:

    Coding in C++ is what I'm learning through www.learncpp.com, and the IDE part is where I'm stuck in a rut.

    Read my post from yesterday. Windows Narrator reads out the Alt menus for me. Does JAWS say anything when you press and release Alt, then press and release Tab in Qt Creator?

    Also, what version of Qt Creator did you install? (You can check by pressing and releasing keys in this order: Escape, Alt, H, Q)

    Qt Creator 4.7.0 based on Qt 5.11.1 MSVC 2015. As for Windows Narrator, it announces most stuff as "Unknown" or "Unknown Key". What's up with that, I wonder?


  • Moderators

    @Annabelle said in Qt Programming Language:

    Qt Creator 4.7.0 based on Qt 5.11.1 MSVC 2015.

    OK, that's a good recent version.

    As for Windows Narrator, it announces most stuff as "Unknown" or "Unknown Key". What's up with that, I wonder?

    Do you mean Windows Narrator announces them as "Unknown", while JAWS doesn't announce them at all?



  • @JKSH said in Qt Programming Language:

    @Annabelle said in Qt Programming Language:

    Qt Creator 4.7.0 based on Qt 5.11.1 MSVC 2015.

    OK, that's a good recent version.

    As for Windows Narrator, it announces most stuff as "Unknown" or "Unknown Key". What's up with that, I wonder?

    Do you mean Windows Narrator announces them as "Unknown", while JAWS doesn't announce them at all?

    Yes, that's exactly what I mean.


  • Moderators

    @Annabelle said in Qt Programming Language:

    As for Windows Narrator, it announces most stuff as "Unknown" or "Unknown Key". What's up with that, I wonder?

    Do you mean Windows Narrator announces them as "Unknown", while JAWS doesn't announce them at all?

    Yes, that's exactly what I mean.

    OK, I managed to load an old machine which runs Windows 7 Enterprise SP1, and I installed Qt Creator 4.7.0 on it. I launched the Microsoft Narrator that came bundled with Windows 7. I used its default settings: "Echo User's Keystrokes" and "Announce System Messages".

    Here is what I did and what I heard:

    1. When I launched Qt Creator, Microsoft Narrator said, "Window opened. Quartz Creator."
    2. When I pressed Alt, Microsoft Narrator said, "Alt. File. Menu Item. Menu key Alt plus 'F'. Menu bar with 8 items."

    So Qt Creator 4.7.0 should be accessible to screenreaders on Windows 7. I can't understand why your copy of Microsoft Narrator only reads "Unknown".

    In your community, are there any programmers or folks who are knowledgeable with computers? It could be worth getting their assistance. I'm afraid that our ability to help you through an online forum is quite limited.



  • @JKSH I've switched from Visual Studio to Codeblocks, since that particular IDE:

    1. Didn't take forever to install on my machine.
    2. Didn't require any further Windows updates.
    3. Didn't require a Microsoft account or any other account to use.
    4. Doesn't take up much room on my machine.
    5. It's more accessible to screenreaders than Visual Studio or Qt Creator.

    That being said, out of curiosity, if I was to code a Qt project with Codeblocks, is it possible that the code I make would be translated into the actual elements like buttons, checkboxes, sliders, textboxes, radio buttons, text areas, combo boxes, and the like? I know that in Codeblocks, each type of project has an Editor window, so if I focus on that, I would be able to put the code in there, then compile the finished project. I've even registered with the forum at http://www.cplusplus.com, but the people there told me that C++ isn't exactly the language for making GUI elements, and that something like Qt would be a framework for those. I did, however, manage to create a "Hello World" project in C++ with Codeblocks. How would I share that on this forum?


  • Moderators

    Hi @Annabelle,

    You've taken many good initiatives to learn C++; well done.

    I've switched from Visual Studio to Codeblocks, since that particular IDE:

    1. Didn't take forever to install on my machine.
    2. Didn't require any further Windows updates.
    3. Didn't require a Microsoft account or any other account to use.
    4. Doesn't take up much room on my machine.
    5. It's more accessible to screenreaders than Visual Studio or Qt Creator.

    These are good reasons to use the Code::Blocks IDE.

    Out of curiosity, if I was to code a Qt project with Codeblocks, is it possible that the code I make would be translated into the actual elements like buttons, checkboxes, sliders, textboxes, radio buttons, text areas, combo boxes, and the like?

    Yes. Each GUI element in Qt is represented by a C++ object. So, if you want to create a button, all you have to do is to write code that constructs a QPushButton object, and then call a function to make it visible on the screen.

    This process is completely independent of the IDE. Regardless of whether you use Qt Creator or Visual Studio or Code::Blocks, the code you write to create the Qt button would be exactly the same.

    I know that in Codeblocks, each type of project has an Editor window, so if I focus on that, I would be able to put the code in there, then compile the finished project.

    Have you managed to compile and run a Hello World project in Code::Blocks yet?

    I've even registered with the forum at http://www.cplusplus.com, but the people there told me that C++ isn't exactly the language for making GUI elements, and that something like Qt would be a framework for those.

    They are correct in a sense. The C++ language itself does not have the concept of GUIs. Nonetheless, Qt is a C++ library that enables you to write C++ code to create GUIs.

    I did, however, manage to create a "Hello World" project in C++ with Codeblocks. How would I share that on this forum?

    To share a small project, just copy your C++ code from the Code::Blocks Editor and paste them into this forum. The C++ code is all text.



  • @JKSH said in Qt Programming Language:

    Hi @Annabelle,

    You've taken many good initiatives to learn C++; well done.

    I've switched from Visual Studio to Codeblocks, since that particular IDE:

    1. Didn't take forever to install on my machine.
    2. Didn't require any further Windows updates.
    3. Didn't require a Microsoft account or any other account to use.
    4. Doesn't take up much room on my machine.
    5. It's more accessible to screenreaders than Visual Studio or Qt Creator.

    These are good reasons to use the Code::Blocks IDE.

    Out of curiosity, if I was to code a Qt project with Codeblocks, is it possible that the code I make would be translated into the actual elements like buttons, checkboxes, sliders, textboxes, radio buttons, text areas, combo boxes, and the like?

    Yes. Each GUI element in Qt is represented by a C++ object. So, if you want to create a button, all you have to do is to write code that constructs a QPushButton object, and then call a function to make it visible on the screen.

    This process is completely independent of the IDE. Regardless of whether you use Qt Creator or Visual Studio or Code::Blocks, the code you write to create the Qt button would be exactly the same.

    I know that in Codeblocks, each type of project has an Editor window, so if I focus on that, I would be able to put the code in there, then compile the finished project.

    Have you managed to compile and run a Hello World project in Code::Blocks yet?

    I've even registered with the forum at http://www.cplusplus.com, but the people there told me that C++ isn't exactly the language for making GUI elements, and that something like Qt would be a framework for those.

    They are correct in a sense. The C++ language itself does not have the concept of GUIs. Nonetheless, Qt is a C++ library that enables you to write C++ code to create GUIs.

    I did, however, manage to create a "Hello World" project in C++ with Codeblocks. How would I share that on this forum?

    To share a small project, just copy your C++ code from the Code::Blocks Editor and paste them into this forum. The C++ code is all text.

    When I attempt to compile the Hello World project in Codeblocks, I get this error.
    0_1563188446312_76b07a7b-ecac-4a4d-82c6-7cd5ddea2d1f-image.png
    What did I do wrong?


  • Qt Champions 2018

    @Annabelle Did you install MinGW? If so, is c:\MinGW\bin\gcc.exe valid path pointing to the C compiler?



  • @jsulm said in Qt Programming Language:

    @Annabelle Did you install MinGW? If so, is c:\MinGW\bin\gcc.exe valid path pointing to the C compiler?

    1. Yes.
    2. Yes.

    And now when I try to build and run, I get this error.

    0_1563232976718_8368a9aa-c6aa-4760-b14a-5187cccbdd8e-image.png


  • Moderators

    @Annabelle said in Qt Programming Language:

    And now when I try to build and run, I get this error.

    I don't have experience with Code::Blocks, so my ability to help you is a bit limited. Nonetheless, my guess is that you installed Code::Blocks first, and then you downloaded MinGW from a different place. Is this correct? If so, there is likely a configuration problem.

    The cleanest way forward is probably to:

    1. Uninstall Code::Blocks
    2. Uninstall MinGW
    3. Download the single package which sets up both for you. Select codeblocks-17.12mingw-setup.exe from http://www.codeblocks.org/downloads/26

    If you still have issues after all of this, the folks at the Code::Blocks forum might be better able to help you: forums.codeblocks.org/



  • @JKSH said in Qt Programming Language:

    @Annabelle said in Qt Programming Language:

    And now when I try to build and run, I get this error.

    I don't have experience with Code::Blocks, so my ability to help you is a bit limited. Nonetheless, my guess is that you installed Code::Blocks first, and then you downloaded MinGW from a different place. Is this correct? If so, there is likely a configuration problem.

    The cleanest way forward is probably to:

    1. Uninstall Code::Blocks
    2. Uninstall MinGW
    3. Download the single package which sets up both for you. Select codeblocks-17.12mingw-setup.exe from http://www.codeblocks.org/downloads/26

    If you still have issues after all of this, the folks at the Code::Blocks forum might be better able to help you: forums.codeblocks.org/

    I tried downloading Codeblocks Mingw Setup from https://sourceforge.net/projects/codeblocks/, but it fails every time. What do I do next?


  • Qt Champions 2018

    @Annabelle said in Qt Programming Language:

    but it fails every time

    Works here. Do you have bad Internet connection?
    Try https://www.fosshub.com/Code-Blocks.html?dwl=codeblocks-17.12mingw-setup.exe



  • @jsulm said in Qt Programming Language:

    @Annabelle said in Qt Programming Language:

    but it fails every time

    Works here. Do you have bad Internet connection?
    Try https://www.fosshub.com/Code-Blocks.html?dwl=codeblocks-17.12mingw-setup.exe

    My internet connection is through the main headquarters of the apartment complex in which I live. It's powered by Centurylink, and can be hit or miss at times.


  • Qt Champions 2018

    @Annabelle Did you try the link I posted?



  • @jsulm said in Qt Programming Language:

    @Annabelle Did you try the link I posted?

    Yes. First it failed, then when I switched from my thumb drive to a backup hard drive and tried again, it succeeded!



  • @jsulm said in Qt Programming Language:

    @Annabelle Did you try the link I posted?

    Yes. And now when I try to compile my "Hello World" project, I get this error.
    0_1563756476436_4d68067f-d68d-47df-a74f-0b2a886db32b-image.png
    What did I do wrong?


  • Moderators

    @Annabelle said in Qt Programming Language:

    And now when I try to compile my "Hello World" project, I get this error.

    The error says that your compiler is too old and it doesn't support the C++ 2011 standard. But I'm confused: If you're doing a basic C++ Hello World program, why is Code::Blocks trying to include Qt?

    I suggest you leave Qt out for now. Just focus on learning plain C++. This way, it doesn't matter if you have an old compiler.


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Qt Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.