QT installation for VS2010



  • Hi All

    My Laptop has following configuration

    Windows7 32-bit OS
    2 GB RAM
    VS 2010 ultimate

    Can any one tell me which version of QT SDK & Visual Studio AddIn should i install so as to compile & build my QT projects in VS2010.


  • Moderators

    "Go to the download page ":http://qt.nokia.com/downloads

    And choose the windows offline installer.

    Choose for custom and select the addin and other goodies you want.



  • Hi Eddy

    On download page i found only
    Qt libraries 4.7.3 for Windows (VS 2008, 228 MB)

    Is this OK for VS2010.



  • Hi Eddy

    I installed following on my machine

    1.)qt-vs-addin-1.1.9.exe
    2.)qt-win-commercial-4.7.1-vs2008.exe

    After installing i tried to create a Qt Application project the project got created
    but wen i tried it to build it gave me the following error

    Error:
    Unable to start program
    This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect.
    Review the manifest file fofr possible errors.Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.Fofr more details,please see the application event log.



  • [quote author="Rajveer" date="1309508361"]Hi Eddy

    On download page i found only
    Qt libraries 4.7.3 for Windows (VS 2008, 228 MB)

    Is this OK for VS2010.[/quote]

    No, you should download the "Qt source":http://get.qt.nokia.com/qt/source/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.3.zip

    Then compile it using your vs2010, ref to http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/install-win.html

    At last, you can download and install QtCreator or Qt Visual Studio Add-in if you like.


  • Moderators

    Sorry my mistake, i didn't notice the remark :

    bq. * Based on MinGW (download sources) tool set. Does not support VS compiler.

    If you use the tag "vs2010" on the topright of this window you can find other topics related to this.

    Sorry i can't help you further since i'm not using vs2010.


  • Moderators

    [quote author="Rajveer" date="1309509733"]
    1.)qt-vs-addin-1.1.9.exe
    2.)qt-win-commercial-4.7.1-vs2008.exe
    [/quote]

    You have a commercial version of Qt. There should be the option to obtain a suitable version through the helpline you have paid for.

    Since there are different compilations for each version of visual studio available, I would not expect that they are interchangable as you tried to do. However, I am not completely clear about this yet. Some threads indicate that it might be possible.

    You certainly have the option to download the complete source and do a compilation with the vs version you have already. From my personal point of view that seems to be the cleanest option.



  • Hi All

    I have commercial liscense but it is evaluation version.
    can i download the Qt source [get.qt.nokia.com] even if i have evaluation version.
    Can i use my evaluation version liscense key.



  • bq. can i download the Qt source

    Anybody can download the "Qt sources":http://get.qt.nokia.com/qt/source/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.3.zip

    bq. Can i use my evaluation version liscense key.

    Yes.


  • Moderators

    I am not aware of benefits of evaluation license. To my understanding are the source codes identical, but this might have changed with the new regime for commercial licenses.

    I guess you should get the qt source as suggested by
    [quote author="1+1=2" date="1309510021"]
    No, you should download the "Qt source":http://get.qt.nokia.com/qt/source/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.3.zip

    Then compile it using your vs2010, ref to http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/install-win.html

    At last, you can download and install QtCreator or Qt Visual Studio Add-in if you like.[/quote]

    That is probably the cleanest way for you. I have no experience with vs2010. With vs2005 I could do compilation without a problem. Unfortunately, it takes some time depending on speed of your machine.
    And do not get shocked by the frequent warning messages ;-) Only errors seem to matter.



  • HI All

    After installing i follwed the following steps

    1.)set the path for QT directory in environmental variables
    2.)run the configure command

    But when i try to build it using nmake command it is giving me following error
    fatal error U1064:MAKEFILE not found and no target specified stop.


  • Moderators

    You need to start the command prompt through vs2010 under "tools". In this command window it should work.



  • Hi

    I have done everything through vs2010 command prompt only.


  • Moderators

    Ok??
    That puzzles me a bit, I have to admit.

    What do you mean with
    [quote author="Rajveer" date="1309513292"]
    1.)set the path for QT directory in environmental variables
    [/quote] ?

    I typically unzip the whole stuff into a directory. I use the base directory with the configure.exe as my working directory. After that there is only to follow what the procedure is telling you.
    The only difference I see is that I have a valid installation of Qt, but that should not be an issue to my understanding.



  • With vs2010, you should use qt 4.8 for Windows - VS2010, here is the link: http://developer.qt.nokia.com/prereleases, and qtvsaddin 1.1.9, here is the link: http://developer.qt.nokia.com/prereleases.
    And the guide for Installing Qt for Windows here it is :http://developer.qt.nokia.com/doc/qt-4.7/install-win.html
    I wish I can help you. Good luck.


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Qt Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.