// other operations

exec();
        }
    private:
        QSqlDatabase conn;

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
        QApplication a(argc, argv);

DatabaseThread *thread1 = new DatabaseThread("connname1", /*other connection params*/);
        thread1->start();

DatabaseThread *thread2 = new DatabaseThread("connname2", /*other connection params*/);
        thread2->start();

return a.exec();
    }

Output :

QObject::moveToThread: Current thread (0x50ef60) is not the object's thread (0x50efb0).
    Cannot move to target thread (0x4f01d8)

"Can't create TCP/IP socket (10093) QMYSQL: Unable to connect"

BUT

DatabaseThread *thread1 = new DatabaseThread("connname1", /*other connection params*/);
        thread1->start();

QThread::msleep(2000);  // new code

DatabaseThread *thread2 = new DatabaseThread("connname2", /*other connection params*/);
        thread2->start();

No Problem.

• @_compiler

I am not an expert in either threads or databases but I have used both successfully. Since nobody else has replied yet I'll give you some of my thoughts.

There is a thread out there about how to do Qt threads correctly. It suggests not subclassing a QThread but rather having a worker class and sending one of its objects to a QThread object using moveToThread. In your case the worker class would be a database connection. You do the initialisation, connect signals and slots for communication prior to doing the moveToThread.

I have had much luck with this model. There are some who say it usually won't matter, but they fail to say when it will and I don't know enough about threads to tell you if yours is a case when it would. All I can say is it has always worked for me.