uic or uic-qt4 not found with make rpm-package

• Hi folks,
    I'm new to compiling programs from source. So my question is helllppppp!

I've done a ./configure and qt is reported as version 5.5, all good

I had to add PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/lib64/qt/5.5/gcc_64/lib/pkgconfig:/usr/lib64
    and add to
    PATH=$PATH:/usr/lib64/qt5/bin:/usr/lib64/qt/5.5/gcc_64/bin

Then ran make and got the above message.

This is running on Centos 7.1

cheers
    thetone

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Hi and welcome to devnet,

What software are you trying to compile ? And how are you trying to compile it ?

• Hi SGaist,

thanks. I'm trying to compile wireshark v1.12 by running the ./configure command to check all dependencies are installed or correct then run the make rpm-package command to build the binaries

• Lifetime Qt Champion

How did you install Qt ? Did you also install the other dependencies of WireShark ?

• I installed Qt5 using the install qt-unified-linux-x64-2.0.2-2-online.run but changed the install directory to usr/lib64/qt5 ...for no particular reason, left everythingelse to default just qt5 ticked
    Yes I installed all the dependencies for Wireshark.

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Since you have modified PATH, can you call uic from the command line ?

• ok so I've updated the path correctly and uic --help now runs.

But I get a different error when I run the make command.

==== snip
    In file included from /usr/include/QtGui/qplaintextedit.h:45:0,
    from /usr/include/QtGui/QPlainTextEdit:1,
    from ui_about_dialog.h:21,
    from about_dialog.cpp:25:
    /usr/include/QtGui/qtextedit.h:235:16: error: ‘QPrinter’ has not been declared
    void print(QPrinter *printer) const;
    ^
    In file included from /usr/include/QtGui/QPlainTextEdit:1:0,
    from ui_about_dialog.h:21,
    from about_dialog.cpp:25:
    /usr/include/QtGui/qplaintextedit.h:181:16: error: ‘QPrinter’ has not been declared
    void print(QPrinter printer) const;
    ^