Absolute Beginner

• I have tried out a few GUI Designers and am most impressed with Qt, so I am using it to create a very simple GUI, linking the .ui form into the Python program.
    I have succeeded in making buttons and radiobuttons work*, but can't work out how to write the actions for the rest of my GUI - a scrollbox and the menubar File/Open,Quit and Help/Help,About.

There are examples under the Documentation heading but I think they are all written in C and I wish to use Python. I have trawled through loads of helpful websites, but most people are writing for when pyuic has been used to create a Python script from the ui file. I've had a look in that file for ideas, but don't know which statements in it would be needed and what else to add.

Is there a basic tutorial which would introduce me to this?

• Lifetime Qt Champion

Hi and welcome to devnet,

You might be interested by this page

• Thanks SGaist, I think I have looked at all of those now. I have given up on trying to find much information on importing the ui form. The reason I wanted to use that method was because it avoided having to fill my program with the gui statements which would be needed if I used pyuic4 to convert it into Python statements. However I have discovered that I can import the Python file into my program which overcomes the problem, so I have switched to using that method and am making progress.

I have worked out how to use signals and slots to link the widgets to actions which create code, which is more or less all I need to know:

bq. Sender_____Signal______Receiver___ Slot
    actionQuit___triggered()__Form_____close()

All I'm confused about, is what to do when there is no suitable receiver+action, in this example I want /Help/About to show a message box, but there is no messagebox widget, so I will have to do that in my Python program.

bq. Sender______Signal_______ Receiver___Slot
    actionAbout___triggered()___ <receiver>__<slot>