Important: Please read the Qt Code of Conduct - https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct

Unable to build my first QT Application

• Hi all,

I'm new to developing with QT, but I'd like to develop c++ application using this framework.

Since I'm blind and QT Creator has some important accessibility issues in Mac OS X, I thought I could develop QT-Based applications using the QMake command line tool. However, I am not able to build my first application. Running QMake to generate the makefile doesn't give me any warning nor error, but running the make command I get the following output:

/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Toolchains/XcodeDefault.xctoolchain/usr/bin/clang++ -headerpad_max_install_names -Wl,-syslibroot,/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/MacOSX.platform/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.9.sdk -mmacosx-version-min=10.6 -o ts.app/Contents/MacOS/ts -F/Users/my_username/Downloads/qt_src/qtbase/lib -framework QtGui -framework QtCore -framework OpenGL -framework AGL
    Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:
    "_main", referenced from:
    start in crt1.10.6.o
    ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture x86_64
    clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
    make: *** [ts.app/Contents/MacOS/ts] Error 1

The app is named ts. Here's the ts.pro file content:

TEMPLATE = app
    TARGET = ts
    QT = core gui
    sources += main.cpp

And here's my very very simple main.cpp content:
    #include <QApplication>

using namespace std;

int main(int argc, char* *argv) {
    QApplication myApp(argc, argv);
    return(myApp.exec());
    }

After running make, I get an app bundle, but I cannot run it; Mac OS X tells me that it is damaged or incomplete and, in fact, it misses the main executable.

I'm running Mac OS X 10.9.2; I'm using QT 5.2.1 and I have installed Xcode 5.1. Not sure if this is important, but since the QT Installer is not accessible, I built QT from source.