About the ui object and what it holds

• Hey guys , i'm using the newest qt creator , and i'm new to this I got 3 question , if you guys can help me with it ^^

1- the ui object , when I try to access classes , what does it include ? and can I access stuff without the ui object ?

2- when I try to do this " ui->pushbutton->settext(...);
    is this going to set all push buttons to the name that I've put in the arguments ?

3- what's the difference between renaming it in the edit widget and the function above ?

• HI,
    Welcome to Qt-project forum.
    If using designer the ui object holds all your GUI elements that you created with designer. The MOC compiler will generate a mainwindow_ui.h file in the background that will construct a ui class object.
    In the beginning of your main window class you will see @ui(new Ui::MainWindow)@ which is the same as: Setup the pointer ui to the constructor of the Ui::MainWindow class
    The @ui->setupUi(this)@ will allocate all needed memory for the GUI elements.
    1: Without the ui object you can't access your GUI elements!!
    2: No, it will only set the text of the pushButton with the objectName: pushButton. In designer the next pushButton will get ObjectName: pushButton_2 and so on and on. It is my recommendation to rename them
    3: Renaming the widget in designer is compile time, setting the text in the setText() function is runtime, but the result is the same.

• Thanks man , so about the pushbutton , it's all depends on the order ? for example if I put two pushbutton , and called settext("ok"), and the next one settext(" not ok ") , the first one will get the name " ok " and second " not ok " ? and we can apply it on things beside settext ?

• ah , I just tried adding a second one and there was " pushButton_2 " :D

thank you ^^

• ;-) Like in any C++ class you may not have two the same identifiers