Building Qt with non Apple GCC on OSX Maverick

• Hello,

Sorry if my English is bad or unclear. Not my first language. On top of that, I am not a professional programmer, so my knowledge my be lacking.

I am trying to compile Qt with a GCC I have installed using Macports (gcc 4.7 to be precise). I was wondering if anybody successfully compiled Qt with this combination before and how.

I have XCode installed with command line tools. Latest version (Version 5.0.2 (5A3005)). I am running OSX Maverick latest version (10.9.1).

I have "Googled" a bit and searched on the forum. I really want a minimal build of Qt. I don't need Webkit or most of the modules. I have tried the following configure command from where I want to build :

@../qt_src/configure -prefix /sw/local/ -release -platform darwin-g++ -arch x86_64 -opensource -confirm-license -c++11 -static -qt-zlib -qt-pcre -qt-xcb -qt-xkbcommon -nomake examples -nomake tests -no-opengl -no-framework -v@

On top of those (but I don't think it's related to my problem), I am adding a lot of skip (webkit for instance) to minimize the build.

At first, it would complain that c and c++ were not found. I symlinked in my path c to gcc and c++ to g++.

Still would not work after that and now complains that it does not recoginze the -fconstant-cfstrings argument.
    @c: error: unrecognized command line option '-fconstant-cfstrings'@

I then went into the qtbase/configure script and the qtbase/mkspecs/features/qt_module.prf files to remove completely (commenting) the -fconstant-cfstrings. I now get a whole lot of undefined symbols. I am guessing that I should not remove the flag that way.