Couldn't connect() to QTcpSocket::error with the new signal/slot syntax in Qt5

• Environment:

Gentoo ~amd64, x11-libs/qt-core-5.0.1 (c++11 glib icu -debug -test) from qt overlay, and qt-network-5.0.1 (c++11 ssl -connman -debug -networkmanager -test). I have Qt 5.0.1 and Qt 4.8.4 installed side by side.

The problem:

I just started programming with Qt and C++ and wishes to write a network application. I spotted "the new signal/slot syntax":http://qt-project.org/wiki/New_Signal_Slot_Syntax introduced in Qt 5 and found it interesting. I tried using the new syntax to connect() to other signals of QTcpSocket and it works beautifully:

@
    QTcpSocket socket;

// ...

connect(&socket, &QTcpSocket::connected, this, &MarketInfoWorkerDzh::onConnected);
    connect(&socket, &QTcpSocket::readyRead, this, &MarketInfoWorkerDzh::onReadyRead);
    @

However, I simply couldn't connect() to QTcpSocket::error:

@
    connect(&socket, static_cast<void (QTcpSocket::*) (QAbstractSocket::SocketError)>(&QAbstractSocket::error), this, &MarketInfoWorkerDzh::onError);
    @

It works during compilation -- not even a warning with clang++ -Weverything -- but at runtime I spot this:

bq. QObject::connect: signal not found in QTcpSocket

The old syntax works correctly:

@
    connect(&socket, SIGNAL(error(QAbstractSocket::SocketError)), this, SLOT(onError(QAbstractSocket::SocketError)))
    @

Things I've tried:

• Switching between clang-3.1 and gcc-4.7.2. No luck.

• Try compiling from qt-creator-2.6.4 and manually with qmake/make. No changes.

• Make a skeleton project with Qt Creator, and copy the example code from "New Signal Slot Syntax Coming in Qt 5":http://qt-project.org/wiki/New_Signal_Slot_Syntax directly.

@
    QByteArray page;
    QTcpSocket *socket = new QTcpSocket;
    socket->connectToHost("qt.nokia.com", 80);
    QObject::connect(socket, &QTcpSocket::connected, [socket, page] () {
    socket->write(QByteArray("GET " + page + "\r\n"));
    });