Important: Please read the Qt Code of Conduct - https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct

Accessing label from function gives error

• Hi everyone,

I am new to QT. I created an application by a wizard. Its UI backend was created as below.

MainWindow::MainWindow(QWidget *parent)
    :QmainWindow(parent)
    ,ui(new UI::MainWindow) {
    }

I placed a label on UI with name lbl. I created a timer and a function called myFunc() to update the time on label (lbl). I want to update the label (lbl) with time on every 1 sec tick of timer. I connected the timer signal with slot (myFunc). In myFunc I want to access the label to update the text with correct time but it gives me error.

I want to know two things, in this auto creation of MainWindow class how can I declare private and public data and member functions and second how can I access this lbl from myFunc().

Help will be appreciated.

• Qt Champions 2019

@Imran-Hassan said in Accessing label from function gives error:

it gives me error

What error?!

"how can I declare private and public data and member functions and second how can I access this lbl from myFunc()" - C++ basics? Is myFunc member of your MainWindow?

You should really post your MainWindow code...

• Let me paste the full code. In TimerSlot() function it is giving error "Use of undeclared identifier ui"

QTimer *timer; // NEW
    void TimerSlot(); // NEW slot
    MainWindow::MainWindow(QWidget *parent)
    : QMainWindow(parent)

, ui(new Ui::MainWindow)

{
    //saveSetting();
    loadSettings();
    ui->setupUi(this);
    // this->layout()->setSizeConstraint(QLayout::SetFixedSize);
    const QString time = QDateTime::currentDateTime().toString();
    ui->currentDateTime->clear();
    ui->currentDateTime->setText(time);
    timer = new QTimer(this); // create it
    connect(timer, &QTimer::timeout, this, TimerSlot); // connect it
    timer->start(1000); // 1 sec timer
    }

void TimerSlot()
    {